We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This renovated hotel is located on the most beautiful site of the Vallei del Temple. Almost every room has a balcony with a view of Concordia temple, and is fully equipped.The outdoor restaurant is recommended: good food, with piano... romantic!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and view on the temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    265
    89
    27
    21
See reviews for
254
923
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a room that had unobstructed views of the Temple Concordia, and it was breathtaking. I forgave all the minor things that would usually irk me (i.e. less than stellar sound insulation, double booked confirmation - which they quickly fixed) because the views were just so gorgeous, day and night.
The hotel itself was beautiful, set in an old estate, and as many reviewers said, has the best view in Agrigento, bar none. The price was absolutely worth it. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qls200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay here after a week in a Eurocamp in the north of Sicily so we were looking forward to 5* treatment. & that is what we got! Fabulous & welcoming reception staff. Travelling as a family of 4, we were given room 101 which was enormous, spotlessly clean with all the mod cons one would expect. We had a side balcony with a partial view of the Temple of Concordia. The pool was lovely, clean & the warmest we encountered all holiday. On arrival, we noticed that a wedding party was going to be in full swing in the evening. We were slightly concerned given previous comments about noise on Trip Advisor but we didn't hear a thing (perhaps because of the side room). We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant on our 1st night - an amazing view of the Temple of Concordia from the terrace. The Maitre d' was excellent, welcoming & great with the children. Good food (the children loved their hamburgers!!), not too expensive given the 5* classification, & the best wine list we saw all holiday! Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of food. The highlight of our trip was a wonderful tour of the valley of the temples organised by the hotel. Our guide Lorenzo, was so well informed, vivacious & great with our children. If you want a special treat, go to Villa Athena.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went to two different hotels in agrigento, and villa athena was miles better than the other (yet 4 stars) hotel. Great service, attention to detail, location etc. A 5 star place as you'd expect.

The view on the temples is fantsastic. If you don't stay there at the hotel, you should at least get an aperitivo (or dinner) there.
The pool area is nice, with full service of towels.
Rooms are spacious, modern, super clean. And quiet.

A bit pricey, but probably reflects the difference in quality with other places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank av_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taormina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel which was a splurge we were looking forward to because of its extraordinary location. The hotel is very nice in appearance and exquisitely sited. We had a lovely bedroom with a terrace overlooking the Temple Concordia. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Regrettably we never had maid service and our dishes were never cleared from the terrace. Remnants of our snack from the afternoon before sat out over night in a rain storm until they were a mushy mesh. We were shocked that for the price we paid for the room that the maid failed to come to tidy the room and clear the dishes. we finally had to call the desk at 6:00 pm to get new towels. We had one super expensive dinner on the terrace which was very mediocre. The next evening instead of eating at the hotel we bought sandwiches from the bar near the entrance of the archeological park and enjoyed them on our terrace with a bottle of wine that we had and then took an evening stroll of the temples which is open from 7:30-10:30 at night. The walk was gorgeous as the park is beautifully lit at night. We do recommend staying at this hotel as its location is so beautiful and it is walking distance from the park and museum. The service may not live up to your expectations for what you are paying but it's location will not disappoint you. It is extraordinary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Villa_Athena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Jackie W,

Thank you very much for your note that you wrote on Trip Advisor concerning your stay with us.
First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the circumstances occurred. I'm sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations
and that you were disappointed with the room clean-up which is one of our strongest points. The hotel system software indicated your presence inside the room.
When you keep the room key inserted in the lock we read a message that the guest is in there.
Therefore, if you leave without taking the key with you the room will appear to be occupied and our maids will have no access to it: we really care about guests' privacy!
On the other side it is very difficult to me to think that having a sandwich bought in a touristic bar would be comparable with having dinner in a multiprized restaurant.
On a positive note, it is a pleasure to hear that you were pleased with the service of the staff and thank you for your appreciation.
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Villa Athena.

Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was at theis hotel 10 years ago and it was great then but needed work.
3 years ago the redid the entire property and it is just magificient.
The service, the food the view the rooms all are beautiful. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchriscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel by far the closest hotel to the ruins. The rooms are spacious and quite. You of course are paying extra to be close and have an amazing view. I would high recommend staying here. The restaurant is good but a bit over priced but of course you are paying for the amazing view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liveforwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
100.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing