We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the Temples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“View of the Temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view of the Temples in the day is wonderful and the view of the lighted Temples at night cannot be surpassed. We had an upgrade with a perfect view. Food was ok, and the service fine. Would definitely stay here again if only for the views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    257
    87
    25
    19
See reviews for
237
889
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel Villa Athena fulfilled and exceeded all expectations. The location is unbeatable, the hotel itself blends into the natural surroundings in a wonderful way. The decor is modern yet classical at the same time. It is very harmonic. Top this off with a superb staff that could be in any of the best hotels in the world. Especially the gentlemen at the front desk and at the restaurant.!!! Wow, such service was a delight. Always with a smile, a kind word and a suggestion of where to go, how to go and what to see.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a room with a view of the temples. We had room103 which I highly recommend as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has probably the best view of the Temples you can possibly get. Nice rooms and very nice staff, they helped me find a specialist doctor in minutes. I also definitely recommend a poolside room with view on the Temple of Concordia. I was there when the famous wedding night took place that was discussed in other posts. I thought the music stopped at 1 am because that was part of the hotel's wedding policies. But apparently they stopped at that time only because some guests complained. I hope the hotel can fix this in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of our trip through Abercrombie and Kent through Sicily.

The good: Amazing location under the Temple of Concordia, nice grounds, OK rooms. When the wedding wasn't going, the service was acceptable, but not great.

The bad: We had a wedding right outside of our room with a full band that played until 1 am. I called the front desk 3 times. The first response is that we were sent an email 2 weeks prior letting us know this. False. The second time I actually got an apology and they said they would turn down the music (hard to do with a band). False. The 3rd was a snotty remark that I was right and they would shut it off immediately. False. The music didn't stop until 30 minutes later. Every time I asked for a manager, none was available. Every time.

Look at my reviews. You will find more often than not I'm pleased with properties. I'm a reasonable person, I don't expect the moon, but I do expect to be able to go to sleep before 1 am in peace and quite. This hotel couldn't have cared less about my satisfaction.

Definitely a big DO NOT RECOMMEND if they are going to have a function because it was terrible. If they aren't, it can't be beat for the location and the view of temple day and night. You decide.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the temple and make sure they aren't going to have a wedding when you are st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, the junior suite we had for me and my husband our our twelve year old was quite spacious. The service was excellent, very friendly without being stuffy. The breakfast was very nice, and the evening meals were delicious. We enjoyed picking out our fresh fish to be cooked before our meal. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to the temples and to the museum. And of course, the is the view of the Temple of Concordia that takes your breath away...highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLP0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Villa Athena is in a privileged spot. What a setting as well by day as by night!
Our room with huge terrace overlooking the Concorde Temple was just amazing.
Service very friendly, although English was sometimes a problem.
Nice breakfast with lots of choices. Dinner on the summer terrace is a once in a lifetime experience
Only negative points;
the inability to help booking a hairdresser appointment. (apprantice receptionist?)
irratic housekeeping (no real complaint, just a point to watch)

Room Tip: Try book a room (DeLuxe?) with unhindered view of the Temples. We had 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved the hotel and our view of the temples from our little terrace. We paid happily the surcharge to have the breakfast delivered to the terrace in the morning, overlooking the temples. The orange juice was so great and fresh, we felt we had to reorder some (for which we were not charged). The pool provided a respite from the heat. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Aggrigento. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 11 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
101.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing