We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view in the Middle of the Valley of Temples”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel has probably the best view of the Temples you can possibly get. Nice rooms and very nice staff, they helped me find a specialist doctor in minutes. I also definitely recommend a poolside room with view on the Temple of Concordia. I was there when the famous wedding night took place that was discussed in other posts. I thought the music stopped at 1 am because that was part of the hotel's wedding policies. But apparently they stopped at that time only because some guests complained. I hope the hotel can fix this in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of our trip through Abercrombie and Kent through Sicily.

The good: Amazing location under the Temple of Concordia, nice grounds, OK rooms. When the wedding wasn't going, the service was acceptable, but not great.

The bad: We had a wedding right outside of our room with a full band that played until 1 am. I called the front desk 3 times. The first response is that we were sent an email 2 weeks prior letting us know this. False. The second time I actually got an apology and they said they would turn down the music (hard to do with a band). False. The 3rd was a snotty remark that I was right and they would shut it off immediately. False. The music didn't stop until 30 minutes later. Every time I asked for a manager, none was available. Every time.

Look at my reviews. You will find more often than not I'm pleased with properties. I'm a reasonable person, I don't expect the moon, but I do expect to be able to go to sleep before 1 am in peace and quite. This hotel couldn't have cared less about my satisfaction.

Definitely a big DO NOT RECOMMEND if they are going to have a function because it was terrible. If they aren't, it can't be beat for the location and the view of temple day and night. You decide.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the temple and make sure they aren't going to have a wedding when you are st...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, the junior suite we had for me and my husband our our twelve year old was quite spacious. The service was excellent, very friendly without being stuffy. The breakfast was very nice, and the evening meals were delicious. We enjoyed picking out our fresh fish to be cooked before our meal. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to the temples and to the museum. And of course, the is the view of the Temple of Concordia that takes your breath away...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLP0316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel Villa Athena is in a privileged spot. What a setting as well by day as by night!
Our room with huge terrace overlooking the Concorde Temple was just amazing.
Service very friendly, although English was sometimes a problem.
Nice breakfast with lots of choices. Dinner on the summer terrace is a once in a lifetime experience
Only negative points;
the inability to help booking a hairdresser appointment. (apprantice receptionist?)
irratic housekeeping (no real complaint, just a point to watch)

Room Tip: Try book a room (DeLuxe?) with unhindered view of the Temples. We had 103
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved the hotel and our view of the temples from our little terrace. We paid happily the surcharge to have the breakfast delivered to the terrace in the morning, overlooking the temples. The orange juice was so great and fresh, we felt we had to reorder some (for which we were not charged). The pool provided a respite from the heat. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Aggrigento. We loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnSINSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotel association. They deserve to be in it. Our room was lovely, soft furnishings, beautiful bathroom & a view of the temples rm 108. The breakfast room is exquisite with tons of choices & the staff is very attentive. Dinner was even better, outdoors looking at the lit temples. Our Italian friends almost cried their food was so good. We stayed two nights but didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This truly is a 5 star property! We spent only one night here, half way thru our 16 night tour of Sicily and it was by far the nicest place we stayed. We wished we would have planned another night.

Yes, it is more expensive than other lodging options in the area, but we felt it was worth the money for the views of the temples, the ability to walk to the Archeological Park, and the ability to have dinner on the terrace looking at the Temple of Diana.

Unexpected pleasant surprises were the beautiful pool, the ability to have lunch on the terrace, and the exceptional breakfast.

We found the staff to be very attentive and eager to fulfill our requests. The reception staff was very friendly and efficient; however, they were unable to change a 50 Euro note, even after going thru the cash box and several envelopes. It was a pity because I wanted the change for staff tips on departure.

We have traveled in Italy many times, most recently October 2012, and we have never had so much trouble changing bills larger than 10 Euro. This was a problem throughout our trip.
Our dinner experience was mixed. The food was exceptional as was the presentation of the seafood of the day, the meal service, and of course, the view.

The service, which started off fine, became a bit slow even by European standards when it came to the check at the end of the evening.

We would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,204 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,838 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $123 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing