We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the hotel & restaurant. What a setting!”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We loved the hotel & restaurant. What a setting!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotel association. They deserve to be in it. Our room was lovely, soft furnishings, beautiful bathroom & a view of the temples rm 108. The breakfast room is exquisite with tons of choices & the staff is very attentive. Dinner was even better, outdoors looking at the lit temples. Our Italian friends almost cried their food was so good. We stayed two nights but didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    306
    98
    32
    23
See reviews for
305
1,062
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
778 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This truly is a 5 star property! We spent only one night here, half way thru our 16 night tour of Sicily and it was by far the nicest place we stayed. We wished we would have planned another night.

Yes, it is more expensive than other lodging options in the area, but we felt it was worth the money for the views of the temples, the ability to walk to the Archeological Park, and the ability to have dinner on the terrace looking at the Temple of Diana.

Unexpected pleasant surprises were the beautiful pool, the ability to have lunch on the terrace, and the exceptional breakfast.

We found the staff to be very attentive and eager to fulfill our requests. The reception staff was very friendly and efficient; however, they were unable to change a 50 Euro note, even after going thru the cash box and several envelopes. It was a pity because I wanted the change for staff tips on departure.

We have traveled in Italy many times, most recently October 2012, and we have never had so much trouble changing bills larger than 10 Euro. This was a problem throughout our trip.
Our dinner experience was mixed. The food was exceptional as was the presentation of the seafood of the day, the meal service, and of course, the view.

The service, which started off fine, became a bit slow even by European standards when it came to the check at the end of the evening.

We would stay here again without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phat_dawg_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got here and it's amusing. Great rooms, incredible pool and restaurant terrace with magnificent view to the ruins. Service so far has been very friendly... A MUST in your trip through Sicily. Conclusion: outstanding class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeBaSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Athena as part of our tour of Sicily and what a surprise it was. It is the only hotel in the historical district and the view of the Temple of Concordia at night during dinner on the terrace is spectacular! Our food (which was included) was excellent and the weather was glorious. The rooms are modern and the pool is delightful. Our small group of 9 thought it was the nicest of the hotels at which we stayed in Sicily.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool have small terraces with a good view of the Temple of Concordia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Adjacent to Valley of the Temples, Ancient Greek ruins, Villa Athena is a luxury hotel that is incredibly beautiful in the heart of Sicily. Extremely expensive, it is a five star surprise in this rural area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Athena. The hotel had an upscale vibe, but was low key. The view of the Temple of Concord from our room was stunning. However, the hotel itself outshined that in elegance, service, food...
We would definitely return just to enjoy the hotel itself. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 suites. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location, but be forewarned that the service doesn't begin to match the prices. The dinners were glacial in pace, as we waited over an hour for our appetizers after ordering. Bathroom amenities were not replenished, our deck furniture cushions were dirty, the front desk couldn't change cash, there isn't enough water in the minibar (God forbid they give you a complimentary bottle for 1,000 Euros a night!) and the front desk staff has an attitude. I left some clothes there by mistake -the hotel didn't contact me and when I contacted them it was a torturous process to get them shipped to me. Hardly 5 star service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,187 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,790 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing