We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore Temples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location to explore Temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel with well thought out rooms, beautiful garden setting and stunning backdrop. Staff were welcoming and helpful. We ate in the restaurant - glass floors over archeological remains at it's entrance worth seeing and the restaurant view is of the Archeological Park which is lit up at night.Place classic old style with formal service and reasonable food. Glad we stayed here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    257
    87
    25
    19
See reviews for
237
892
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The moment you enter your room, you feel sorry you have to leave it in a few days :-) Very nice, spacy room, a bathroom to spend your day in, a walk-in dressing... Wonderful view, tranquility allover. It's a short walk to the temples or the museum. Great breakfast, and we had nice dinners. Lunch at noon was a bit 'simple'. Very friendly, professional staff. Pity there is no fitness room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Hans G,
thank you from all of us for your lovely comments..
We are glad to read from your review that you had enjoyed yours stay with us at the Hotel Villa Athena.
We don't have yet a gym but a beautiful outside swimming pool and a lovely private park for do jogging.
We hope to have you once again as our guests.
Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

With world-beating views over the Valley of the Temples, lovely rooms, helpful staff and an excellent restaurant, this for me is pretty much as good as it gets. Room rates are steep, but great online deals are available.

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms facing the Valley (and with private balconies) are the ones to go for, but you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falakros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is very pricy, but you get what you pay for and the service was outstanding; the room was spectacular and all in all it was worth the money to stay there for a few nights at the end of our trip as a treat. I would avoid having lunch or dinner here as its vastly over priced, and there are much cheaper restaurants 4 min drive away. Our room had a balcony overlooking one of the temples; the best hotel view we ever had. The pool area is lovely and the pool is very clean. The breakfast in the morning was was delicious and one of the best breakfasts in Italy.
The location of the hotel means that you can walk directly from the hotel down to the temples. Though you would have to drive if you were to go into the town. We did a lovely day trip to Marsala also from this hotel.
I'd recommend this hotel to stay as a treat if you got a special offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sika Lodge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Very nice views of the ruins and it is an easy walk to the site. I would recommend staying here if you wish to visit the historic site. The property is well maintained and the rooms very well appointed. There is also a lovely pool for relaxing after sight seeing. We had lunch and dinner in the restaurant and both meals were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller123265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband, 15 year old son and I recently stayed just one night at the Hotel Villa Athena in room 301, a large triple room with temple views. It was the largest triple hotel room we have ever had - there was still room to use the side chairs and desk, as well as spread out suitcases etc with the king and extra bed in the room! The water pressure in the shower and bathtub was remarkable, and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. Lots of room to hang clothes up was also handy. The buffet breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was very very good - a wide variety of cakes, pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, jams, breads..... as well as the option of having made to order eggs and coffees. These made to order options were offered to us the moment we sat down at our table, and the eggs and coffee were delivered hot and fresh just a few minutes later. The service by the bell hops and desk staff was courteous and helpful, and we very much appreciated the opportunity to leave our car and belongings at the hotel after checking out in the morning while we walked to the Valley of the Temples (maybe 500m) and spent the morning there. However, the best thing of all about this hotel is the proximity to the temples. The Temple of Concordia was framed by both our bathroom "porthole" and a big bedroom window, and because it was a corner room, we could also see other temples through the other bedroom window. It was magical watching the temples change as night fell, lit up in the complete darkness, and again as the morning light brightened. Don't miss a chance to spend a night with a view of the temples - they are so close it seems you could reach out and touch them!

Room Tip: We had room 301, a large corner triple with temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euromarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Hotel Athena, but it is an excellent inn with a terrific restaurant. The service was very friendly and helpful. The hotel faces the valley ( really a ridge) of the tombs which is one the best preserved collection of Greek ruins in Sicily. The hotel is positioned the best of anyplace for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 11 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
101.0 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing