We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location for Valley of the Temples”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning Location for Valley of the Temples”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The position of this hotel cannot be beaten if you wish to see/visit The Valley of The Temples. It is a short (500m) walk to the park entrance. We had a "Concordia" room, overlooking The Temple of Concord, which was surreal to experience as it changed colour from daylight, through dusk and into the darkness as the floodlights illuminated it. The room was stylish and very comfortable, though not huge, and the rainforest shower was the best I've experienced - complete with porthole, so that you could see the Temple whilst showering! The staff were very friendly and professional, remembering us throughout the establishment, which made us feel valued guests. We dined at the hotel's stylish restaurant and enjoyed one of our two best meals in Sicily. Try the stuffed, deep-fried artichokes (starter) - amazing, followed by the tender rack of lamb, done exactly to our liking. The breakfast spread was also excellent and again the staff were welcoming and willing to provide any cooked items you wanted. A charming and elegant hotel with very welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Temple of Concord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EPBerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    288
    93
    30
    22
See reviews for
283
1,013
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place. Luckily we visited off-season, when room price was more affordable. Easy car parking; staff rush to take bags and to proffer umbrellas if you arrive in a downpour, as we did. The view from our window of the Temple of Concord was unsurpassable. In more clement weather, we could have eaten on our private terrace with that amazing sight as a backdrop. The bathroom shower was the best ever. There is an attractive, airy lounge area with books to look at.
The restaurant is across the driveway, which meant dashing through pouring rain (and even hail!) for dinner and breakfast. Staff are charming. The restaurant entrance has a glass floor beneath which you can see an excavated Greek stone cistern/wine store. Prices on the menus were not outlandish. One weird thing, though. Many dishes had €" in the price column, which we at first took to mean those dishes were off that evening. However, it actually indicates that the price is the same as that of the dish above.
I was a bit disappointed not to find freshly squeezed orange juice on the breakfast buffet, since we seemed to be surrounded by orange groves, but maybe I was just unobservant. The coffee machine produced dreadfully stewed coffee, but we realised the next table had grabbed a waiter and requested fresh cappuccino, so we did the same. The cooked breakfast isn't laid out, so again you need to ask a waiter for that.
It was a short walk downhill to the entrance to the temples site, and a short walk uphill to Agrigento's comprehensive archaeological museum.
All in all, a perfect situation, and a lovely place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double in order to have the view south, over the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loiseau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a window we've got in our room in villa Athena. We have the view of the Temple of Hera in the Valley of the Temples. You can easily walk to the archaeological sites, the Valley of the Temples and the Museum. Love the 2 sinks in the bathroom.

The staff are really attentive. For those who have a car, the hotel has good parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Temple of Hera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in Agrigento las February. This hotel is wonderful. Beautiful rooms and nice staff.
From one of the windows we could see Hera's temple. The location is also great since you can walk to the temples and to the Museum of Archeology. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marionla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 days at the Villa Athena in February. We had a super stay and the hotel was lovely. It is very clean and our room, a superior - number 108, was very comfortable with a perfect view of the temples. They are definitely worth visiting and the cafe near the entrance does a super pizza and large beer.
Our only disappointment was not due to the hotel, but due to Agrigento itself. It was not what we expected and there was very little to see - it was very run down. We recommend hiring a car and visiting Ragusa and also the shopping outlet inland.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a super view of the gardens and temple. Try to avoid those on the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was a great place to stay. My room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff was very attentive. But the best aspect is the location, a bare five minute walk to the entrance of the fabulous Agrigento archeological park. To my knowledge there is no other hotel in the area that has this kind of access. The location permits you to explore the park at your leisure and at different times of the day (which is good for photography). Attached is a picture of the hotel as seen from the park, through the gorgeous almond blossoms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Baldy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.3 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
1,110 reviews
100.9 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Property: Hotel Villa Athena
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing