We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Athena
Nearby Hotels
Villa Diana(Agrigento)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Exclusive(Agrigento)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$126
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B VillaSeta(Agrigento)
$109
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$90
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B&B Villa Cetta(San Leone)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,862)
Filter reviews
1,862 results
Traveler rating
1,360
330
109
37
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,360
330
109
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcordia templetemple view roomprivate accesspresidential suitesmall luxury hotelfive star hoteldirect viewstunning locationwonderful hotelterrace restaurantperfect viewgreek templeterrace overlookingmain templelit up at nightancient ruinssuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 1,862 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a family of four. We had a suite which was very generously sized with a separate living area, which at the cost of 70 euros, was converted into two beds for our young children....a little pricey in my view but I guess that's the beauty of a five star rating. We thought the rooms were worthy of the rating but the services lacking and not worth five stars. We cant fault the reception, we were shown the presidential suite when requesting a view and offered it at a discount...which we decided against given the cold weather meant we would not have utilised the large terrace anyway. But there the service stopped. There was no staff available to proide drinks or coffee in the bar area, we went out there in a number of occasions. No room service menu, other than breakfast which was subject to a 15 euro delivery charge. The breakfast in the restaurant was also lacking in my view, we had a far superior breakfast choice at Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina which is a lesser rated hotel.

Location and view cant be beaten...we initially drove down to the gate of the ruins but realised the parking was further away than the hotel, so dropped off the kids and returned the car to the hotel. Somene mentioned the walk bordered a busy road but we did not find it s problem crossing (low sason) with young children. Although the hotel culd consider putting a paath through the almond grove to the sidewalk on the left side of the street to remove the need to use the footpath on the other side.

Room Tip: 104 was a spacious suite on the ground floor so no stairs. A small side view of the temple of concordia.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_Kiwi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback.
On behalf of all the staff, we are extremely sorry that your visit failed short of your expectations.
As you could have noticed on TripAdvisor, we are accustomed to receive only very positive comments and your criticism has been taken in a very serious concern.
Unfortunately we can't have a private access to the Valley because for entering inside the park you must pay a ticket and for this reason they didn't allowed other entrances.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sydneysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Athena is ideally located walking distance from the Valley of the Temples. It is a 5 minute drive up hill to the main part of Agrigento and 10 minutes down hill to the harbor. The hotel service was very good and we had a temple view. Our room was more 4 star than 5 but very comfortable and roomy. The desk staff, particularly the lady in charge, were extremely helpful. She arranged a massage for my wife and called a previous hotel for us to sort out a problem. The breakfast was very good, with lots of selection. The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool with views of a temple. It is silent at night and there are sliding doors that seal off the rooms from the lobby.

The temples and the rest of the National Park are well worth the trip and we liked Agrigento very much. The main town has Via Vittoria, something out of Paris, overlooking the valley and the main shopping street has very upscale stores. Parking is no problem. There is an accessible public garage right in the center and we parked on Vittoria. Put two Euro in the parking machine and you are good for 5 hours. After 8 PM it is free.

We dined at a fish restaurant on the harbor, the Pescatore, and the food and service were excellent. Use your GPS to get there but there were very few turns and lots of parking. The second night we found an enormous modern restaurant built into old vaults of some kind on Via Vittoria, full of people and with some groups celebrating birthdays, engagements etc. Everyone was smartly dressed and the waiters wore the real waiter garb. We were surprised at the upscale nature of much of Agrigento and friendliness towards tourists lacking the language.We went to a pharmacia on Vittoria and they could not have been more helpful. They even found someone to speak with us in a common language, French.

For us Agrigento is a "must see" in Sicily and we would stay at the Athena without question. The perfect location and tranquil atmosphere make it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a temple view. Even better ask for a room with a terrace, which many have.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hello everyone! I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Athena in Agrigento.
Council to all of you this hotel if you happen to be in the beautiful Sicily and especially in Agrigento.
I've been there for 3 days. Full board, and I found everything exceptionally well-groomed.

My wonderful room, in addition to being clean. There was a balcony with a view of the temple of concord, and a small window in the shower, and also from there you could see the temple. The bathroom great attention to detail, beautiful floors and furniture with which they decorated the rooms are fine.

The cleaning service is impeccable. Every time I came in the room I found the room spotlessly clean, with clean towels.

Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. I remember Claudia, very polite and with a mastery of languages ​​really excellent.


I have almost every day had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Hotel restaurant is really gorgeous. The breakfast is a mix, you can do the Italian and international. As for lunch and dinner is traditional Sicilian cuisine. The products are selected with care and presented with lovely attention.

Too bad it started the winter, because I would have liked to have lunch or dinner in the panoramic terrace where you can enjoy a unique view of the world, the temple of concord.

They were three beautiful days, I recommend you all to go to Agrigento, there are many beautiful things to see, and you happen to be staying at the hotel villa athena. Perhaps it is not accessible to all budgets, but I know there are lots of offers.

Hello everyone, I hope my review helpful.
Valentine

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We got a great rate through booking online in advance and we're very happy with this hotel. Amazing location to explore the ruins and lovely hotel. Great amenities and helpful staff. We also had dinner here (as well as the included breakfast ) and enjoyed both meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzanne_baal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews