We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a room with a temple view”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

There is not all that much to do in this area of Agrigento but the hotel is a pleasure and the view is magnificent. A long leisurely walk through the archeological park is an absolute must. I was nervous that the restaurant would be an overpriced tourist trap because there is nothing else very close, but the food and service were terrific. Breakfast also - excellent poached eggs to order, sauteed mushrooms,onions etc in addition to the buffet.

Room Tip: If at all possible get a room with a temple view. THere are ust not many places on earth with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sledxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is 500 meters from the temples in one direction and the museum in the other and this is reason enough to stay here but of course there are many more. From the patio of our room 103 we had an uninterrupted view of the Concordia temple. The room was cool and modern but the lovely tile floor reminded you that you were in Sicily. The design details are quirky and possibly not to everyone's taste but we loved it. I agree the modern annexe restaurant is a bit bland but the food and service is good. Free wifi and attentive staff rounded off a too short stay. Would definitely recommend staying here if visiting Agrigento.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingaussie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a luxurious hotel. On arrival our suitcases where immediately taken from us and brought to the rooms. The rooms, although designed a bit to clean to our taste, where very comfortable. Excellent bathroom. Stunning view of one of the Greek temples from the balcony. A path through an orchid leads to the valley of the temples. An easy morning walk gave us the opportunity to see the temples at sunrise without any other tourists around.

The hotel offers excellent food and also a superb breakfast buffet. Service is very kind and pleasant.

However one must realize that the valley of the temples, in itself a beautiful area, is situated near to the busy modern outskirts of Agrigento. The apartment buildings are always in sight and the sound of traffic is never far away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the temples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Of course you go there for the view but you shouldn't find hair and pubic hairs on your tub.I complained about this and the tub was cleaned but for the 2 days I stayed there there were the same 2 large pieces of carton on the bathroom floor and a piece of white string.I imagine they sweep the floor once a week.Personel is professional but the first day it rained and there weren't enough umbrellas for the guests.As most people dine there they don't try too hard to please.Breakfast is included and very good.The town of Agrigento is far from the hotel and I imagine getting staff is a problem so if you don't love greek temples wth a passion stay out of there and go to some hotel nearby and visit the ruins during the day

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the Concordia temple but ask before .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed for the cleaning of the room that is one of our strong point: I personally assure you that our maids sweep the floor of each room every day and they wash carefully all the bathroom.
I remember that we kindly ask you that wait a few minute in order to permit to our bell boy to take the umbrella from our storage but you wouldn't do and you left "just" with 2 umbrella for 4 people.
However I would like to inform you that we greatly value our customer feedback at all times.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Agrigento to show you that Agrigento is not just Valley of the Temples: we have a rich archeological museum, nice churches and a great historical city centre.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may need.

Kind Regards

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you plan to visit Agrigento we'd highly recommend you consider a room at this hotel with a view of the temples. While we did see the temples during the day (just a very short walk from the hotel), seeing them lit up at night was even more beautiful. Anyone that just passes through Agrigento during the day is missing out on how beautiful they look at night. This hotel has a lovely restaurant which also overlooks the temples and the food was very good. Our room as well, was lovely and sizeable. The staff was very pleasant. Our only complaint was that they seemed to be short on staff in the bar/restaurant area. Prior to dinner, we went down to the bar area which also has beautiful views of the temples. We thought we'd have a pre-dinner cocktail and take some photos of the temples around sunset. We had plenty of time to look at the temples and take photos but, the entire time we sat there, we didn't get served. There was just one waiter and he seemed overwhelmed having to handle too many patrons. So, after admiring the temples for a while and taking photos we went to dinner. While the food was very good, service was very, very slow. Again, there seemed like there weren't enough waiters to handle the very packed dining area. Other than that one issue, we thoroughly enjoyed our stayed and would still highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with temple views. We had a nice patio which we could have had breakfast on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AideenY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples and other sites. Location could not be better as we looked at ruins from our room , the pool and the dining terrace. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Pool beautiful. Staff very helpful in providing car service to and from Spizzulio, a unique restaurant experience in town. And lovely uncrowned Mediterranean beaches are a mere 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,911 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $117 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing