We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room with a view”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Of course you go there for the view but you shouldn't find hair and pubic hairs on your tub.I complained about this and the tub was cleaned but for the 2 days I stayed there there were the same 2 large pieces of carton on the bathroom floor and a piece of white string.I imagine they sweep the floor once a week.Personel is professional but the first day it rained and there weren't enough umbrellas for the guests.As most people dine there they don't try too hard to please.Breakfast is included and very good.The town of Agrigento is far from the hotel and I imagine getting staff is a problem so if you don't love greek temples wth a passion stay out of there and go to some hotel nearby and visit the ruins during the day

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the Concordia temple but ask before .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeansãopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed for the cleaning of the room that is one of our strong point: I personally assure you that our maids sweep the floor of each room every day and they wash carefully all the bathroom.
I remember that we kindly ask you that wait a few minute in order to permit to our bell boy to take the umbrella from our storage but you wouldn't do and you left "just" with 2 umbrella for 4 people.
However I would like to inform you that we greatly value our customer feedback at all times.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Agrigento to show you that Agrigento is not just Valley of the Temples: we have a rich archeological museum, nice churches and a great historical city centre.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may need.

Kind Regards

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you plan to visit Agrigento we'd highly recommend you consider a room at this hotel with a view of the temples. While we did see the temples during the day (just a very short walk from the hotel), seeing them lit up at night was even more beautiful. Anyone that just passes through Agrigento during the day is missing out on how beautiful they look at night. This hotel has a lovely restaurant which also overlooks the temples and the food was very good. Our room as well, was lovely and sizeable. The staff was very pleasant. Our only complaint was that they seemed to be short on staff in the bar/restaurant area. Prior to dinner, we went down to the bar area which also has beautiful views of the temples. We thought we'd have a pre-dinner cocktail and take some photos of the temples around sunset. We had plenty of time to look at the temples and take photos but, the entire time we sat there, we didn't get served. There was just one waiter and he seemed overwhelmed having to handle too many patrons. So, after admiring the temples for a while and taking photos we went to dinner. While the food was very good, service was very, very slow. Again, there seemed like there weren't enough waiters to handle the very packed dining area. Other than that one issue, we thoroughly enjoyed our stayed and would still highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with temple views. We had a nice patio which we could have had breakfast on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AideenY
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples and other sites. Location could not be better as we looked at ruins from our room , the pool and the dining terrace. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Pool beautiful. Staff very helpful in providing car service to and from Spizzulio, a unique restaurant experience in town. And lovely uncrowned Mediterranean beaches are a mere 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nwalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Villa Athena is an enigma. I cannot understand that such a phenomenal location has somehow lost the concept of hospitality in Italy where nearly all of the people one meets are so friendly and hospitable... oh well.... We loved the location which is beautiful with superb views of the Concordia Temple. The room was immaculate with very modern conveniences. We also really liked that we could walk to the Valley of Temples entrance. The pool area which is beautiful and well cared for is a perfect place to relax. Nice comfortable lounge chairs and large towels provided.

Unfortunately the general service from our arrival to the restaurants and on the grounds was just abysmal. The staff looked very unhappy and uncomfortable with the patrons. There was a constant look of disdain on their faces as if they were either feeling taken advantage of or just unhappy about their working conditions. This detracts from an otherwise excellent hotel with very fine rooms. It is strange that you seem to get good service but it comes with a price. We never had a fun light encounter with a waiter staff member during our two night stay. It is also unfortunate that even though there is a great space, there is not a nice well stocked bar with light music and drinks available after dinner. PS: Dinner at the hotel is not good. I tried to rate the hotel on the property and not the restaurant. Again, you are tempted to try the restaurant in such a beautiful setting but the service and food is poorly executed. Do it just for the setting...So unfortunate. With all this said....the views are OMG and the rooms are excellent. If spending time and $ in Agrigento and if you have a car, try to find some cool places outside of the hotel to visit. No matter what, Italy and Sicily are amazing!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor with a direct view of the temple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Villa Athena is beautiful and refined. Sitting on the terrace either dining or just relaxing with a view of the Temples is unforgettable. Most guests arrive by car, but we got there via bus and taxi. We stayed in a Classic room which suited us just fine.
I requested a Temples tour guide and the staff engaged Lorenzo for us. He was an excellent guide besides being an interesting young gentleman.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Hotel Villa Athena is beautiful! We arrived at 2:00 pm, after a stressful four hour drive. Our room wasn't ready, but the bellhop took our bags, and one of the staff led us to the terrace, where we had a delicious lunch overlooking the Temple Concordia. Our first floor room had a terrace overlooking the hotel pool and the temples. The room and bathroom were spotless and beautiful, and the sheets were wonderful (I love Italian linens...). We unfortunately only stayed for one night, but the breakfast the next morning was one our favorite breakfasts: fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh eggs, bacon, pastries, fresh fruit and excellent cappuccino. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Nomads17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Valle
Hotel della Valle
#10 of 23 in Agrigento
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $117 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing