We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location!”
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just returned from Agrigento and had the pleasure of spending one night at The Villa Athena. A family of three from NYC, we had a lovely room with an amazing large balcony (table, chairs, and lounge chairs) overlooking Valley of the Temples. It is worth staying at Athena for this memorable view! The hotel was recently refurbished and several of the guide books are not updated of this fact. The room was decorated with colorful Italian tiles. It had a huge shower (no tub). The room was extremely modern, very clean and quiet – as was the entire hotel. The air conditioner worked very well. The staff is professional but not as warm and helpful as other hotels we stayed at in Sicily. The breakfast is sumptuous. Delicious freshly baked tea cakes and tarts along with the freshest fruit, meats, cheeses, and assorted pastries and breads. The dinner restaurant is more about the ambiance than the food or the service. It’s worth eating there for the view, but the food and service was pricey and mediocre. Our only complaint is that we were put in a double room, which they called a triple by adding a small and uncomfortable cot for our teenage child. Adding this cot cost an additional $150. The hotel has a lovely pool and its gardens are well kept. As an added bonus, you can walk to the Valley of the Temples. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room with a large terrace and view of the temples - it makes the stay worthwhile.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,719)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Athena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

What an amazing place!
There is only this hotel and a B&B that are in the middle of the Valley of the Temples, but this one is really worth it! I thought that given its exclusive location, the hotel wouldn't make efforts on anything else, but I was wrong! Our room and bathroom seemed recently renovated and were exquisitely decorated, all in white and grey shades.
We got a standard room for EUR280 as we didn't want to pay an extra EUR100+ to have the facing view over the temples from our room, however we were quite lucky as we got a corner room (number 204) and therefore could still have a glimpse at the temples leaning out of the window.
Regarding the actual visit of the temples, it is very convenient, as it is a walking distance (less than 10 min) to the main entrance of the site, so you can park your car at the hotel and not worry about parking there (there are no spaces except for buses).
Based on mixed reviews about the hotel restaurant we didn't have dinner there, however the breakfast was delicious, buffet with a lot of variety, freshly squeezed orange juice, and fleshly made eggs to order.
I don't think there is a spa but given the breathtaking view of the temples you get from the pool, you would be crazy to ask to be in a dark room to get a massage!
Special tip: We had the best pasta in Sicily in a restaurant in Agrigento center, called Posata di Federico II (recommended by TA reviewers!).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had planned to stay 2 nights but left early to get to Noto - wish we'd stayed. A very beautiful hotel. Brilliantly located in the heart of the archeological site so no worries about parking. Very expensively but tastefully decorated. Our room was just off the pool area. Very relaxing. The view of the main temple at dinner is stunning. Food was very good as was the wine. Staff very helpful. They lent us an iPad as ours broke! Best breakfast we'd had in Sicily. Not cheap but great value

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Athena for two nights last week. I was a bit concerned about all the negative comments on here but it was an amazing place to stay....a delight from the start to the finish. Our room was fantastic and all the furniture and linen were top notch. The staff at the reception , in the restaurants and around the pool could not have been friendlier or nicer, the views were magnificent and the food was very very good indeed. Our dinner at the hotel's restaurant was probably one of the best we have ever had and contrary to other reports both e food and wine were excellent and well priced. I have no hesistation in recommending Villa Athena..my only regret is hurrying off to Taormina. We should have stayed another night.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank saulon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location overlooking the Greek temples but the service is the worst I have ever experienced. Not only you wait for hours to be served some overpriced food you would not expect to get in a 2-star hotel (let alone 5-star) but everybody is extremely rude, especially in reception making it a totally awful experience. Plenty of other little things to show you at every moment how badly organised everything is, like no soap in the public loos (both the pool ones and the others), no service to collect your luggage (better do it yourself if you want to leave within the month) dirty rooms with stuff left by the previous guests and wrong instructions for Internet connection - no evidence of management whatsoever.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the annoying circumstances occurred, I was sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations.
I have noted your feedback about our staff: the quality of our staff, services and the
spotless of our room are our selling points.
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

thank goodness we didnt listen to other reviews...
We are here right now...4 nights with a view of the Temple upgraded (paid for) after walking was a problem

We have had 2x lunches and 3 dinners - and the food is top notcxh - and we are foodies!!

Doesnt need to cost a lost - 20euro for main which is very good and lovely wine for 8eu a glass - and 1 of us is in the wine industry and both r fussy!!

To stay here an eat with the view of the temple (best way to see it) is simple stunning - and see why they are in SmallLuxury Hotel group.

the service of the food staff - maitre d with 40 yrs experience who make gr8 suggestions...the room service waiter - we take our hats off to you

Seriously cannot see why anyone is negative at all - nothing is too much trouble here.

you can even order 1 course off the degustation menu if it takes your fancy

Room Tip: looking for wowo - u found it pay for the temple view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_J_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor concerning your experience at the Hotel Villa Athena.
I am glad to note that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you loved our Restaurant "Il Granaio di Ibla".
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Rarely does everything come together as it does at Villa Athena. It is part of the Small Luxury Hotel Chain so it is not huge and impersonal. Service is warm, friendly, and impeccable, with close attention to every small detail so that you feel surrounded by elegance and gracious living. We have travelled extensively across all continents of the globe and rarely has a hotel delivered on location as this one promised and then delivered. Sitting at lunch and looking at the ruins was quite amazing, but dinner on the patio, with charming service, excellent food and wine, and monuments lit up under a clear sky and brilliant moon was nothing short of magical. If you go to Sicily this should be an ABSOLUTE must on the itinerary. In addition, for a 5-star hotel the price was very competitive.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Serendib100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to express our thanks for your lovely note that you have posted on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Villa Athena.
Yours sincerely,

Claudia Iannantuoni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
1.4 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,204 reviews
24.9 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,838 reviews
60.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Igiea - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range: $124 - $889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing