We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent host”
Review of La Casa di El

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa di El
Ranked #7 of 223 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent host”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the spacious 11th floor suite, with a view of the Valley of the Temples and the sea in the distance. Alfonso, the host, couldn't have been more gracious or helpful, laying out a magnificent breakfast each morning and frequently asking what he could do to make our stay more comfortable. We really enjoyed one of his recommended restaurants nearby--Expanificio. The location is perfect, although free parking on the street can be a bit of a challenge. All the shops and restaurants in the center of the city are within walking distance. An easy drive to the Valley the Temples is a must-see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali4niaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    47
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
57
292
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

La Casa do El is a very nice B&B located close to the centre of Agrigento. It is a little bit tricky to find but Alfonso, the proprietor provides very good directions.

The Accommodation
This comprises a private bedroom with en-suite bathroom and a shared lounge and dining area. It is very comfortable and the views from the apartment include the sea as well as the valley of the temples. Even though the accommodation is located in central Agrigento, it is very quiet and restful.

There is WiFi available - free of charge of course - and very fast.

Nearby, there are very good local shops.

The service.
Alfonso goes the extra mile to ensure that you are made to feel welcome. After 2 hours driving we were sat down and offered refreshments whilst Alfonso drew on the map, the various places of interest and useful shops etc. Even though we had arrived well ahead of the scheduled check-in time, we were able to settle in our room, shower and change before setting off to look at the local sights.

The breakfast.
Again this was excellent : a wide variety of cheeses and hams, accompanied by fresh bread, fruit juice and coffee and this before the home made jams and toast.


A well deserved five out of five.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I thought it was all really great, but my wife thought the decor was a little weird/tacky. 68 Euro will get you a beautiful panoramic view of the Valley of the Temples and ocean beyond. A very spacious sitting room/bedroom and a big bathroom. As mentioned the breakfast is far above expectations. And you are 2 minutes away from an excellent restaurant - Expanificio. Recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stampy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a gem of a find in Sicily. Alfonso is warm , helpful and informative of the area and the city. We stayed in his top floor apartment room which was one of the highlights of our trip to Sicily. Great views of the valley of the temples and yet easy walk into the old city and the great restaurants. Breakfast served in our room was a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Close to the main road so this is fairly easy to get to with free parking very close to the door step. The accommodations is in a high rise building with spectacular views of the Valley of the Temples along with the ocean. We stay on the 11th floor and the ocean breezes where wonderful to sleep with! Alfonso went out of his way to explain the area and the sites to see. Along with his mom the next morning they provided a breakfast that was beyond good....way over board! Wonderful...The B&B is perfect....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Excellent reception, very helpfull, also with parking. Great tips for visiting Agrigento and the sweet spots of the area. Breakfast was great, the room also! When visiting Agrigento this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wessel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of April, although the apartment block is in the old part of Agrigento, we had little difficulty finding it following our sat nav. We enjoyed meeting Alphonso and were grateful for the local information and recommendations he gave us. The breakfast is excellent and Alphonso obviously makes a special effort to make it exceptional. We ate twice at Terra & Mare, which is five minutes walk from the B & B, and enjoyed the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di947red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.2 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,697 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
B&B MiraValle Agrigento
#2 of 223 in Agrigento
185 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Concordia
Villa Concordia
#6 of 223 in Agrigento
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa di El? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa di El

Property: La Casa di El
Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 18, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast 'La Casa di El' is situated right in the heart of the city next to the Via Atenea, the shopping and entertainment street of Agrigento. A few hundred meters you can visit numerous medieval and baroque churches including Santa Maria Greeks, San Giuseppe's Shrine, Basilica of the Immaculate, Cloister of the Holy Spirit, the imposing Cathedral, Collegio dei Filippini, the Lucchesiana Library and the prestigious 'Luigi Pirandello' Theater. The Valley of the Temples and the Archaeological Museum are only 2,5 Km. The area is served (within 50 meters) also of: Restaurant, Bar, Bakery, Market, Pharmacy, Rotisserie, Bank, Post Office, Tobacco shop, and various shops. Also you can benefit free parking in the same street. From the Rooms you can admire an unique and unforgettable Panorama of the Majestic Valley of Temple of the Archaeological Park and of the Sea Mediterranean. The breakfast includes: croissants, local bakery, homemade jams, seasonal fruit, yogurt , fruit juices, yogurt, cappuccino, thè,coffee, etc...or if you prefer you can also savory breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa di El reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Di El Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing