We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)

Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)
Book In Advance
More Info
$113.01*
and up
Private Transfer: Palermo to Syracuse with Valley of the Temples Stop
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This region is one of the most important archeological sites in the world with many great temples such as Hera (Juno,) Lacinia, Concordia, Heracles (Hercules) and Olympian Zeus (Jupiter,) all dramatically perched along a long rocky scarp.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Well worth the long walk from one end of the valley to the other. We went late in the day once it was cooler but then missed the lovely gardens which close earlier than the ruins. We also missed the last taxi back to the car park - it's a long way back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MayerlingMignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,852
    2,059
    398
    110
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fascinating history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived on a rainy day, so were not inclined to hang around. We thought we might just visit the Temple of Concord and go; we ended up walking the length of the road and spending almost 2 hours there. Early in the year, No food places were open, so no access to a warming coffee. The Museum wasnt open, which was disappointing. There were toilet facilites: well kept and clean.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just said "wow" over and over. Plan to spend the day and walk the length of the Valley of Temples to see each site. Amazing! I suspect an evening or early morning visit would be best as it is very hot and not much shade but April was a reasonble month to be there even in the afternoon. We also went to the Museo by foot so a bit of extra walking but that was fine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilsonsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Where the gods used to live”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Situated the province of Agrigento. Don't miss the temples attributed to the goddesses Juno Lacinia and Concordia. Empedocles, the Greek pre-Socratic philosopher, and Luigi Pirandello, dramatist and Nobel prize winner for literature, were born there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nalini_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Three temples for the price of one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Access was easy having been dropped off by coach. Our walk commenced at the 'top' and progressed down hill through each of the 3 main sites. We were collected at the 'bottom' which is to be recommended. I am not a 'temple' fan but I didn't find the tour tedious especially if accompanied by a knowledgeable guide as we were. It was also interesting to see the temples floodlit the previous night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi) also viewed

Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Monreale, Province of Palermo
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing