We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See”

Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.15*
and up
Private Transfer: Palermo to Syracuse with Valley of the Temples Stop
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This region is one of the most important archeological sites in the world with many great temples such as Hera (Juno,) Lacinia, Concordia, Heracles (Hercules) and Olympian Zeus (Jupiter,) all dramatically perched along a long rocky scarp.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just said "wow" over and over. Plan to spend the day and walk the length of the Valley of Temples to see each site. Amazing! I suspect an evening or early morning visit would be best as it is very hot and not much shade but April was a reasonble month to be there even in the afternoon. We also went to the Museo by foot so a bit of extra walking but that was fine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WilsonsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,032
    2,090
    401
    112
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Where the gods used to live”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Situated the province of Agrigento. Don't miss the temples attributed to the goddesses Juno Lacinia and Concordia. Empedocles, the Greek pre-Socratic philosopher, and Luigi Pirandello, dramatist and Nobel prize winner for literature, were born there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nalini_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Three temples for the price of one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Access was easy having been dropped off by coach. Our walk commenced at the 'top' and progressed down hill through each of the 3 main sites. We were collected at the 'bottom' which is to be recommended. I am not a 'temple' fan but I didn't find the tour tedious especially if accompanied by a knowledgeable guide as we were. It was also interesting to see the temples floodlit the previous night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“amazing place , absolut must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

the place is amazing, beautiful, great views, place for everyone- couples, kids,familes with toddlers and so on, friendly staff members, last Monday of April was day when entrance was free.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kamila z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Wow! wow! wow! So many elegant temples in such a small area - What fine engineers, mathematicians, artists and builders these Greeks were - we are so fortunate to be a being able to witness a little of their heritage.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi) also viewed

Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Monreale, Province of Palermo
Catania, Province of Catania
 

Been to Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing