We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired”
Review of Hotel della Valle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel della Valle
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Well sited with beautiful views across the Valley of Temples, and only 20 minute stroll into the town. Swimming pool and grounds clean and neat, but the hotel itself is a little ‘tired’. Our room was acceptable, but little things niggled and needed attention, such as loose toilet seat and shower screen (unsafe really), no mosquito netting over windows, or even a written warning about these little pests ( and even in October they were prevalent) a temperamental safe and TV and a lick of paint on the walls may have helped. The food also lacked inspiration – a spoonful of risotto and rice as a first course every evening, and the same vegetables with every main course. Easy option for the chef, but not very appetising for the guests. It has great potential, but in needs a little TLC.

Room Tip: Higher floor with views across the Valley of Temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    214
    181
    111
    54
See reviews for
99
295
31
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of a Riviera holiday. The room (015) on the ground floor was dingy and overdue for refurbishing. It did however have the benefit of a private patio. The breakfasts were exceptionally poor with awful fruit juices, poor cereals and bread and no fresh fruit. How can it be considered adequate to provided tinned apricots and prunes in a country that is up to its knees in fresh fruit. Queuing for poor coffee from a machine was also a pain. Dinner required a choice to be made the previous night. The serving staff tried hard to cope under the circumstances. I believe the hotel management must take responsibility for this shambles. It is a pity because the hotel grounds are quite attractive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iveltravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agrigento hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recently my husband and I stayed at the Della Valle hotel in Agrigento. The weather was warm and we were able to enjoy the beautiful pool and garden. The jolly barman at the pool bar served long cool drinks and snacks, so we were able to read and relax. In the evenings we ate several courses of local Sicilian cuisine at the hotel. it was all very tasty and the staff couldn't be friendlier. The Reception has comfortable sofas and the receptionists were always very smiley and helpful and recommended where else to visit in the area, other than the temples, as they are local people. The old town is very charming and just a 15 minute walk away, the temples and archeological museum are a 5 minute drive and it's just 15 minutes drive to Pirandello's house or the Scala Dei Turchi. A great location and a very welcoming hotel. We will be back with friends to this hotel as we want to come an explore more of Sicily.

Room Tip: If available ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent location, but with a fair walk to the temples and town centre. Great rooms but poor service at the front desk. Only had breakfast here so can't comment on the restaurant. Rooms were very nice, and the pool was also very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chriss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed three nights for a physicians conference in Agrigento.
I hesitated long before booking because of some negative reviews, but decided to give a try after having read the review section in Spanish and Italian. It was a good choice.
It is located directly above the Valley of the Temples, a wonderful place. Staff was hospitable and helpful in addition to a delicious food.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Small rooms and rather dingy but comfortable enough. Some of the food was good and breakfast was fine, although the fruit juice was very watery and there was a long queue for the hot drinks dispenser. The dinners were very disappointing.
Certainly not 4star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Another Riviera Traveller same complaints,terrible food,shocking tasting fruit juice,waiting staff who were totally inept at the art of service,we ate out 2 of the three night we were there.Shower leaked water all over the bathroom floor every time it was used,complained to hotel reception but nothing was done whlist we were there,small rooms, quite dingy for a so called 4 star hotel,towels and bed linen frayed and tatty.
Why do a reputable travel company like Riviera continue to use such a hotel after all the bad reviews.
The swimming pool and gardens are its only good parts.
Last word avoid this Hotel.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
4.4 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 25 in Agrigento
1,159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
2.2 mi away
Blu Hotel Kaos
Blu Hotel Kaos
#6 of 25 in Agrigento
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Valle

Property: Hotel della Valle
Address: Via Ugo la Malfa 3, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four-star hotel, the Hotel della Valle offers its guests all the benefits of being at the center of everything. Located in a quiet and elevated position, close to the historic center of Agrigento, the Valley of the Temples, and the clear blue sea and coastline. The hotel offers its customers a perfect combination of panoramic views of the Valley of the Temples and easy access to major places of interest thanks to its proximity to main roads. In addition to basic services - Reception 24 hours a day, fast Check-in and Check-out, and Luggage Storage - Hotel della Valle offers its guests a number of useful services on request: laundry and ironing services, breakfast in your room, Internet WI-FI, Fax / Copier, newspapers, 1 extra bed or cot, baby sitter.Completing the range of services on request you may wish to: enjoy spa treatments in the hotel Wellness Center, take advantage of shuttle bus services to a private beach with sun umbrellas and sun beds, join guided excursions, make use of a convenient connecting service directly to Catania, Palermo and Trapani airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel della Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Della Valle Agrigento
Jolly Della Valle Hotel
Hotel Della Valle Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing