We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posata Di Federico II

La Posata Di Federico II
Ranked #2 of 211 Restaurants in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Confusing but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is certainly an unusual gem of a place. The menu did confuse us as it really was not obvious what dishes were antipasto/primi/secondi because it was separated into quirky little sections. Once we had kind of got it, we were OK though. They were very nice about our wine as the one we ordered they did not have and they recommended a sauvignon blanc which we really did not like at all. We decided just to put it down to experience and order a different bottle, and the very nice owner said he would drink the sauvignon himself and not charge us. Very sweet of him! The lobster I had was very good. Our panna cotta never arrived but I think out Italian wasn't very good and maybe they didn't realise we had ordered it? They had a large birthday party in at the time and were very busy. We didn't have the best night, but I think it is a great place and would recommend. Obviously very popular with the locals and tourists alike.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CornishTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    193
    51
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This family owned establishment was a delight. I was warmly welcomed by the wife of the owner who took care to ensure that I had everything I needed and who added her own personal concern with sincerity. The food was sublime. Absolutely amazing. This restaurant should definietly have a Michelin rating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElinyaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AS LUCK WOULD HAVE IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Last summer while in Agrigento and getting lost we stumbled into this empty restaurant with an older gentleman inside reading a book. It was nearly 3 pm and we were in need of food. "Are you open?" we asked. Between his English and our Italian we took a table outside and ordered. Little did we know what we had stumbled into. I had a linguine dish with cheese and ground pistacios on top.......OMG. This was the best of our 3 week stay in Italy. What a great way to serve pasta without marinara sauce. Now I must say I am sort of a pistacio nut myself and later found out that all Sicily used this in every way possible. My partner had a wine drenched linguine(purple in color) that was great. This is a small of the beaten track bistro......family run. Worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank efrmdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If only all restaurants were like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This must be one of the best restaurants I visited in the area, itself being very romantic and cosy. The owners are very nice and welcoming. The food is presented in a very professional way and is cooked to perfection. It is not the cheapest restaurant BUT it defintely gives any food lover his money's worth. Even the simple brushetta is a form of art. I defintely recommend anyone to pay a visit..... Sicilian food at its best!

Helpful?
Thank Cardona73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Delicious food and a lovely warm atmosphere. A most gracioius host. We got stuck there in the rain and the owner gave us a lift home!! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posata Di Federico II also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to La Posata Di Federico II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing