We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of B&B Tranquillo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Tranquillo
Ranked #55 of 228 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our large, comfortable room appeared to be the former living room of a modern apartment. It had easy access to a kitchen shared with another room, which was vacant during our stay. We were only there two nights so we didn't do any cooking (except for using the juicer and coffee maker), but it was fully equipped. Fruit, water, cookies, crackers, etc., are always available. Breakfast was delivered to the kitchen, so we could eat when and what you want. We had sandwiches and sweets. As others have written, the owner was absolutely wonderful. He offered to drive us to a restaurant, detouring to give us a look at the temples at night, which was spectacular. If you're traveling by train/bus, this is an easy walk from the station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just want to "ditto" the accolades on B&B Tranquillo. The owner, Giuseppe ("Pino") retired a few years ago & dedicated himself to creating this great little apartment. It's on the ground floor, and made more welcoming by many pots of herbs and flowers on the little "porch" outside the front door.
Everything about the apartment is spotless and first class, with high-quality workmanship and all the latest gadgets, including a 1-cup-at-a-time coffee maker, so that you can have a quick espresso or cappuccino any time you want!
As others have said, the host asks when you'd like to have breakfast and roughly what you'd like to have, and he delivers it the following morning. (I especially loved the wonderful ricotta-filled cannoli!)
It's a bit of a hike between the apt and the train and bus stations and restaurants. But Pino had provided fresh oranges, cookies, milk, cheese, pasta, oil, breakfast cereals, etc. so we located a grocery store and just cooked "at home" at night, to avoid hiking up the hill to a restaurant.
Pino drove us all the way to the Valley of the Temples so we wouldn't have to take the bus, and wanted to buy us a guidebook and coffee there! He doesn't speak English, but my husband and I speak some Italian, so communication was no problem. His son is usually available by phone if not in person.
After connecting easily to the internet, we suddenly could NOT connect the next day. When we called Pino, he came over immediately, and showed us a simple solution: Just unplug the router (by the bed, near the window), wait 10 seconds, and plug it in again -- then it worked perfectly.
It's a great little apartment, and PINO is the highlight! I'd recommend B&B Tranquillo to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoomerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This B&B is in a very quiet section of town (in fact, it is quite difficult to find or to drive to). The other big plus is the host; he was incredibly helpful (he drove us to a restaurant and spent half an hour trying to find a self-service laundry; alas, he failed on this). The minuses: spotty internet access, the room wasn't quite warm enough (but we were visiting in January, so this probably won't affect the reader of this review), and we ran out of hot water during our showers. None of these minuses are at all major, and I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here for the week in January 2012, and I have nothing but high praise for this establishment. I arrived on a Sunday afternoon and was picked up by my host, Mauro, at the train station after I phoned ahead. The room was clean and immaculate, and I had the full use of a kitchen which was had all the mod cons. The highlight of the stay was the generosity of the hosts Mauro and his father (Guiseppe?). I was brought a fresh breakfast every morning, and each one was different: croissants with ham and cheese, pastries stuffed with spinach and pancetta, freshly baked bread with sausage and cheese; it was absolutely lovely. The logistics of Tranquillo are also ideal, just 200m from the central train station, and less than ten minutes walk from the main centre.

My only regret was not being able to say a proper goodbye to the hosts on my last morning because I had to leave at the last minute very early. Mauro texted me and said his father had prepared sandwiches for my trip home! Needless to say I felt realy bad about this. If you visit Agrigento, I would recommend Tranquillo highly. And a note to Chris Andrews, a previous reviewer (and fellow brummie!), Mauro and his father still remember you from last year.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a wonderfull reception. The host drove us to a restaurent and came to the appartment with fresch bread next morning.
By car it is difficult to fing, but the location is very central

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for a week here in sept 2011. It is situated very close to the old historic centre about 250m and a 5 minute walk and bus ride to the Valley of Temples. It is located in a quite area next to the ministry of labour . The room is sizeable and nicely decorated and comes complete with lots of tourist information, books were provided about some of the historic sites in english for our use, the bed was comfortable and sheets were changed every 3 days, the bathroom has an excellent shower. The kitchen is fully equipped which is a very big plus if you are on a budget or don't want to go out every night. Juice, milk, bottled water and fruit were kept stocked up in the fridge/freezer, the coffee maker is also stocked with ground coffee pods for use at any time. We were spoiled with very good typical Sicilian Breakfasts - pastries/cakes and Sicilian savouries, help yourself with biscuits toast and cerials. There is a balcony with flowers and plants which is for your exclusive use. It has a WIFI connection occasionally the thruput was very slow - but this was at certain times of the day it was ok during the evening. Pino the owner is very friendly, accommodating, generous and helpful!

We will be back next time we visit Agrigento, we can highly recommend B&B Tranquillo.

Chris and Celeste

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAndrews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Serena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
5.5 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
400 reviews
3.1 mi away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tranquillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tranquillo

Address: Via Acrone 30, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: $46 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 400 meters from Central railway station of Agrigento and 800 meters from the bus terminal building is easily accessible for those arriving by car or public transport. The B&B has four rooms: one double and one triple room with ensuite, two triple rooms share a bathroom. The rooms are furnished in modern style and equipped with TV, air conditioning, WIFI Internet, bed linen and bath towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your B&B Tranquillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Tranquillo Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing