We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of Le Cinque Novelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Cinque Novelle
Ranked #27 of 228 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hosts, Giovanni and Giusse, could not have been more helpful to us. Giovanni parked our car when we arrived stressed from being lost in the confusing maze of Agrigento streets, and we were provided with exactly the breakfast we wanted at a time that suited.

The rooms are large, comfortable and stylishly furnished.

The location is great, wonderful views close by and near to the main shopping street of the town (high end European brands).

make sure you eat at Trattoria Concordia, excellent food, v reasonably priced and a short walk from the BnB.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank sasha7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Although the Cinque Novelle is located on a street that may seem shabby at first, it is frankly impressive once you get inside this magnificent B&B. They have created a very cozy, quiet and elegant atmosphere. Our bedroom was spotless, the bathroom is vast, and every detail was taken care of. Our bedroom had a small fridge, a desk, wardrobe, and many outlets (very convenient to charge all our electronic gizmos).  We were received by our hosts with a big glass of cold fresh natural orange juice, along with some authentic Sicilian canolli, perhaps the best desert ever. The breakfast was the best we had in our trip in Italy, very large, varied and elegantly served.  It is very well located, close from the main avenue of Agrigento (Via Atenea), and from very nice restaurants and shops. If you are going by car, it is very easy to get there, to park, as well as getting out to the “Valley of the Temples”, the main attraction of Agrigento.  We can´t finish without mentioning the amazing service we got from our hosts, Geovani and Guisy (hope I get it right), whom took care of all our needs with courtesy, grace and professionalism. Should I return to Agrigento, I would definitely go back to Le Cinque Novelle.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis Ernesto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A lovely B&B on the hill of Agrigento. Located near the night life center, shops and restaurants. Just below the door is a free parking if there is place. In any case parking skills needed.
The B&B itself is a bit hidden in a hilly alley. The outside is just a solid wall, nothing unusual. The interior in contrast is very warm, cosy and comfortable. The decor is very rural Sicilian.
As the B&B is situated on the hill, the view from the room is amazing. We looked out on the Temple Valley and the sea. The room was lovely and fully equipped. There was a hair dryer, slippers and nice bed. We slept really good. There was wifi, even in the room and it was fast.
The breakfast was a mountain of home made sweets. Unhealthy, but terribly delicious. I am a real sweet tooth, so I loved every single piece we had on the table. An ideal opportunity to taste the local dolci.
The oweners were very swet, social and fiendly. Eventhough it was a B&B, we felt very home and welcome. At check out we got a small bottle of home made limoncello. Very nice touch.
If I even end up in Agrigento, I would not doupt for a moment a book here again. Bellissimo!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Le Cinq Novelle is a BB with character and a very friendly host.
Giovanni speaks rather well Englisch and French and is allways helpful
During the check in he surprised us pleasantly with a delicious blood orange juice
He also advised us to take dinner in a restaurant close to the BB which was a very good choise.
We were served our breakfast on our table in the cosy dining room.
The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast with croisants and other sweets together with a fresh brewed cofee

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan-Kristien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Agrigento was our first stop in Sicily and so glad we decided to stay here! Because it was our first time ever in Sicily, we were a little confused by all the directions and driving. We were pretty nervous to tell the truth. When we finally arrived in the town of Agrigento we had no idea where to go and our GPS was not helping at all. After about an hour and many calls back and forth we still had no clue where to go. Our host Giovanni went out of his way and offered to meet us in a close by location and navigate us to his B&B. He was so welcoming which after about traveling for 24 hours straight was a nice feeling. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the Valley of the Temples. Breakfast was absolutely amazing! It was out first introduction to lodi fruit which we could not get enough of. The pastries were so delicious and we still talk about them to this day. Upon our departure not only did Giovanni make sure we were ok with directions to our next destination but he also sent us off with a bottle homemade lemon liqueur. We enjoyed that little bottle the rest of our vacation. Cannot wait to come back here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Le Cinque Novelle for one night to come and the see the Valley of the Temples.

The B&B is in an old building but has been completely renovated inside. It is very clean and beautiful. Having the little fridge with drinks and a basket with snacks was so convenient and a nice touch especially as we were traveling with a 5 year old who was hungry. The view from our room (Orange) was lovely and you could see the lit up temples and the sea in the distance.

We ate at Expanficio (as it seems most do!) - very close to the hotel and delicious - everything is local Sicilian.

We paid the extra Euros to get a full breakfast and boy did we. Meats, cheeses, pastries, breads, bread stuffed with meat and cheese, jam, juice and coffee. We couldn't even begin to finish it and it was a great way to start our drive back to Taormina.

The only small problem is finding the hotel - we were driving and it was quite a challenge. I would suggest if you are staying there, work out a plan before you arrive (as someone mentioned having them meet you at the Piazza and getting you into the parking garage). Or maybe if the hotel could add to the reservation or the web site, the name/directions to the parking garage so you can get there - from the lot it is very easy to get there if the hotel would give you a little map.

Highly recommend - sad we weren't there longer!

Room Tip: Try and get one of the ones that face the sea and temples. Looks over a few other buildings but pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Another B&B where the owner/host is so attentive. After calling him, Giovanni met us in the Piazza Sinatra, gave us a card to get into the parking garage and waited for us to unpack and head up to his 5 room B&B. The B&B is well situated adjacent to one end of the main Via Athena – only a 15 minute walk from the train and local bus stop to the Valley of the Temples. It has effective automatic lighting. Our room was wonderfully cool even without having to use the AC. It is very clean and spacious – one of the best values for money dwellings we have stayed at on this trip. Giovanni provides excellent advice on where to eat and where to go. The restaurant he recommended “Osteria Expanificio” is 2-3 minutes away and provided us with one of the best meals we have had on our trip so far. The staff was so attentive and pleasant that we decided to eat there again on our 2nd night here.

Room Tip: One of the other rooms we saw had a nice view -- ours had nice big windows that opened but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
5.6 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
400 reviews
3 mi away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 23 in Agrigento
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cinque Novelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cinque Novelle

Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 24, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: $66 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Cinque Novelle 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agrigento, crib of Magna Grecia, earth of different dominations, with its narrow little streets, the suggestive stairways, the barroc balconies and the marvelous Valle dei Templi that it illuminates some precocious flowering of the Almond tree in February, hand a warm welcome to its visitors.Our structure is an ideal destination for the one who wants to bathe in the rich local culture, to taste the delights of our kitchen and confectionery, to enjoy the magnificent sun and the sea of the South.It sets in the Historical Center of the city, with autonomous entry and sight to sea, it is near to monuments as the Monastery of Santo Spirito (ancient house of the Contessa Marchisia Prefolio Chiaramonte), the ex - Collegio dei Filippini (today center of important pictorial and photographic shows), the Church of Santa Maria dei Greci (still built on an ancient visible templar plinth), the Bibliotheca Lucchesiana and alone 80 meters away from the Theater Luigi Pirandello.Recently renovated, finished with exposed sandstone, brick arches discovered during construction, local pottery and tools of ‘900s, our hotel offers all modern comforts in a rustic and elegant ambient, decorated in poor art. With bedrooms, double or twin rooms with air conditioning, heating, bathroom with shower, heated towel rail, hairdryer, TV, Digital TV, safe, Wi-Fi and offers a rich breakfast.Our target is the total satisfaction of our guests to feel them as at own home ... with a lot of sympathy, warmth and hospitality ... the "magic formula" B & B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Le Cinque Novelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cinque Novelle Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing