We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutlely magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Granaio di Ibla - CLOSED

Il Granaio di Ibla
Price range: $33 - $133
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“absolutlely magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you really want to have an amazing experience, tour the Agrigento ruins late in the day and then come to this beautiful restaurant which stands in the shadow of the Temple of Concordia. As you dine on the outdoor terrace,you can watch how the light changes on the temple which is eventually floodlit. We had the tasting menu which was out of this world. Each dish was a unique preparation our favorites being the black ravioli with mussels, octopus and shrimp in an scorpion fish sauce and a sucking pig in a citrus sauce. The service is top notch and the sommelier recommended a fantastic nero d'avola. The entire meal with gratuity was Euro 250 and worth every bit. This iis a special place and should be experienced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nedrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wow, what a view on the temples!
Nice food as well, interesting menu and good value especially when you add in the setting.
Friendly accomodating service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RiRi4648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Villa Athena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Villa Athena and ate at the restaurant three times. The service was very good - the waiters were helpful with their advice and the food was varied and good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My idea of heaven is a cool clear day walking among 2500 year old Greek temples, a well-appointed room with a huge balcony and view of the temples and then an elegant, quiet dinner after drinks in a fragrant garden... Well, that was our experience at the Villa Athena. The restaurant, Il Granaio di Ibla, was a delight- fresh fish that was beautifully prepared, good wine and a delightful staff - just can't do much better than this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MayorO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel, Villa Athena in Agrigento is beautifully, quietly elegant and the restaurant was worthy of this extraordinary location. All meals, breakfast, lunch (on the patio), and dinner were suberb. The menu is inventive. The staff was friendly and courteous and the chef came out to meet every diner. While all the guests were nicely dressed, I saw only 1 or 2 men wearing a tie. I highly recommend it. Wish i could go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 261MaryS261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Granaio di Ibla also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing