We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Roma Imperiale
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Acqui Terme
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noisy rooms”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lovely hotel but really disappointed with acoustics in upstairs bedrooms. Did not sleep for 2 nights as we could hear every noise and sound from the next door room....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    103
    40
    20
    5
See reviews for
31
180
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is old and rundown. The service happens to be great. The rooms are horribly decorated and terribly showcased. I hate when the shower is like a dressing room with those cheap plastic puzzle piece doors and the hairdryer looks more like a vacuum attachment. Breakfast is the WORST! Rice cakes rather then bread and no fresh fruit. Total let down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzannaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel itself is very nice, clean, very beautiful rooms. No idea why the pool 'closes' at 5PM, that was actually the time the heat became bearable and I wanted to go in. I keep having mixed feelings about this place. While pretty much everything was ok, it did not really feel like a 4 star hotel. I had the feeling they tried to save on staff cost (i.e. the morning reception person was also in charge with making the breakfast coffees) ... out of the 3 reception ladies we encountered, only one was truly in service mode .. the others .. not so much (but still very efficient). The location is a bit out there, we took the car to get to town, which was very nice. There are some nice places to have food (i.e. Gusto for apperitivo ... and even better: a small wine place right behind the hot water spring at Piazza Bollente). Speaking of breakfast ... at least they had one variety of meat and cheese each ... but no egg (one other customer asked for eggs and was told they only had fresh eggs, and the kitchen is closed ... wtf?) . The internet connection for guests is provided in the lobby through a 3G modem .. and sucks big time. I had to reset that thing many times... and if you try a bigger upload (like on youtube) the connection often breaks off ... at least it was free. As for the restaurant, I have never seen anyone having dinner there ... and around lunch, the only thing I saw being prepared were ham and cheese toasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My fiancé booked a night at Hotel Roma Imperiale as a 30th birthday treat; and we had planned to have dinner in the hotel and spend the rest of the time in the spa. However, when we arrived we learned the restaurant was closed that day and you had to book spa treatments in advance as the masseur only comes in when he has appointments; neither of which we were aware of until the receptionist informed us. We didn't book directly through the hotel though; perhaps they do let you know info like this if you do.

We were the only guests that night, being off-season in Piedmont, so the hotel was amazingly quiet. Our room was an enormous suite – 6ft sleigh bed, chesterfield sofa in the sitting room, the works. As the restaurant was closed we set off to Aqui Terme, a 15 minute walk away. It’s a nice-sized town with lots of bars and restaurants; the hotel can provide you with a list of good restaurants. We found a great enoteca, sadly I don’t know the name, we were just meandering down the roads; it was just off a square with a thermal fountain. Ditto the restaurant, can’t remember the name; it was the one the receptionist said was the best in the town, and we weren’t disappointed.

We slept like the dead; the bed was incredibly comfortable and the hotel was so quiet.

The breakfast was nice; nothing warm but plenty to choose from. We had booked massages the day before for the morning, so turned up at the beautiful little spa, which again we had to ourselves. The massages were excellent; and the desalinated seawater bath has a recliner built into it, which makes it the perfect place to relax even further.

A lovely place to stop over when touring the wine region.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncletravellingmatt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We had a suite on the first floor overlooking the pool. Staff were relaxed and not in your face. Restaurant was great but the waiting staff don't speak English. They are great though and a combination of us not being fussy and German got us through.
The spa is simple but good and fairly popular.
Only negative was the wedding party on our first night - noisy to the early hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeerDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

I spent 3 days at the Roma Imperiale Hotel in August and I really enjoyed my stay. The room was big, spottlessly clean and had a huge marble bathroom. The garden and outdoor swimming pool were immaculate. Overall the atmoshpere was calm, unhurried and relaxed. Food in the restaurant was of outstanding quality: a four course gourmet menu every evening (if booked on the half board plan, higly reccomended). Treatments at the small but well equipped spa were first class, especially the massages. The thermal pool was lovely and the relaxation room, overlooking the garden, turned out to be the perfect place to read and wind down. My only complain would be the lack of a steam room -apparently the brochure for the spa, which include a steam room as part of the facilities, is 'out of date') and the limited selection of food for breakfast. All in all I had a great stay and would go back again for a few day of rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

On first entering the hotel it seemed lovely - except there was no help with our luggage. Seems Europeans just tote their own bags. There are some really charming double rooms for people who don't book on Booking.com (Priceline for Europe) The 85 euro rate on that website was much better than the 140 euro rate the hotel wanted for a nice double room. We got a small, cramped room with a decent bathroom - don't even think about getting upgraded here. The restaurant was truly remarkable, good service, well priced - excellent atmosphere. What was not so nice was the bill at the end of the stay. The hotel charges 20 euros PER PERSON to use their "spa pool" which is a small salt water pool that was recently added and still undergoing construction. They say this cost is for the ROBE. Well, they didn't mention the cost when I asked at the spa if there was a cost to swim in the pool - but they sure didn't want to take it off the bill. They also tell you at the front desk that you can use the pool at their sister hotel, Grand Hotel Nuove Terme - sure you can, and we did. But they charge 30 euro PER PERSON for the privilege of using a bathrobe there and tack it on to your hotel bill.
So - get it in writing from the hotel before you use the pool that it is FREE - as some guests told us, it was for them. If you book on Priceline - they try to eek out every possible charge they can.
It's not a bad place, you just have to be cautious if you want the experience to be pleasant. It is common in spas to charge for towels and robes - but usually when staying at the hotel, this charge is waived.

  • Liked — The ravioli in the restaurant was the best I've ever had anywhere
  • Disliked — The nickel and diming over the use of the pool - unnecessary gauging
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acqui Terme hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
#5 of 10 in Acqui Terme
1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#2 of 10 in Acqui Terme
506 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Acqui
Hotel Acqui
#1 of 10 in Acqui Terme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#4 of 10 in Acqui Terme
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#10 of 10 in Acqui Terme
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Rondo
Albergo Rondo
#8 of 10 in Acqui Terme
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Imperiale

Property: Hotel Roma Imperiale
Address: Passeggiata Dei Colli 1, 15011 Acqui Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Acqui Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Acqui Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Roma Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Imperiale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing