We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“resting on their laurels?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Acqui Terme
Henley-on-Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“resting on their laurels?”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed two nights visiting italy for the wedding of a friend. The problems started when we asked to have an iron and we were told hat the hotel does not take responsibility to give out iron to hotel's guests. The management finally gave in and we received an iron. The mattresses are cheap and bouncy, if you seat at the edge of the bed, you may slide off the bed. The "beauty farm" charge for the roman journey was 32 euros on Saturday, this was not as much of a journey, rather a quest for where things were and a wonder as to why a hotel would charge so much for accessing an average swimming pool, sauna and turkish bath. The "unlimited access to the relaxing lounge" meant that you could have a plastic cup of peach and tangerine tea, the only available.

The hotel is in a very good location and the bedrooms are of decent size.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gicchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    413
    275
    142
    70
See reviews for
85
687
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Hotel itself is lovely, in a very picturesque town with huge marble reception area and staircase. Our room was fine, decent size with a nice bathroom. I thought the service was great, I even got a shirt dry-cleaned for a wedding we were going to.

I found the staff friendly and helpful with regard to my terrible Italian and general tourist questions. Although a caveat would be that the Genoa football team had taken over the top floor, and everyone was on their best behaviour for them!

One thing I would quibble with would be the cost of the thermal pool, which was €30 a pop, full stop. The facilities are fine, but not worth this cost which adds up, and I think it actually subsidised our room, which was well priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crumble79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed at the Grand Hotel for one week in Sept 2008. The hotel itself was very pleasant but the 'Beauty Farm' which is part of the hotel, apart from the excellent jacuzzi baths, was very poor. Avoid having a pedicure at all costs very amateur attempt with a choice of two varnishes which had to be found at the bottom of a wooden box! All for the cost of 30 euros!

  • Liked — My 'single' room was in fact a double and very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The disappointment of the facilities at the Beauty Farm which was part of the hotel.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acqui Terme hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lugano
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stay two nights. The building is very nice, rooms are not big but still ok. Problems in the service at breakfast (not a 4 stars service). Problems with parking.

  • Liked — building
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fridaynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

This is the grand old hotel in the center of a town much visited by Europeans coming to “take the cure” in its thermal waters (the hotel itself has pricey spa facilities utilizing the thermal waters). The guest rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet, with good air-conditioning. But the hotel caters to tour groups, which frequently overwhelm the staff’s attention upon arrival or departure. There’s a nice breakfast with lots of choices, at least if you get there early – it gets quite crowded as the tour groups swarm in, and soon many items are depleted.

  • Liked — Comfortable, modern accommodations in a historic hotel
  • Disliked — Tour groups
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankophile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2006

Wonderful, classic European-style Grand Hotel.

Located in the center of Acqui Terme, a lovely small town in the Piedmonte wine region.

Rooms had high ceilings and modern, tiled bathrooms. The hotel has a health spa and offers pools of the famous water. The front desk staff were helpful and spoke English.

Would recommend both the town of Acqui Terme as well as the hotel.

Helpful?
5 Thank CMMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2005

This hotel seems to be fading fast. The service was not unfriendly but seemed entirely uninterested. The large dead cockroach on the floor at breakfast didn't really send out the right signal. Not by any means a terrible place to spend the night, but not worth seeking out. They have a spa and I did not use those facilities so I cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tralfamadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acqui Terme hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#2 of 10 in Acqui Terme
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Acqui
Hotel Acqui
#1 of 10 in Acqui Terme
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roma Imperiale
Hotel Roma Imperiale
#3 of 10 in Acqui Terme
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#4 of 10 in Acqui Terme
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#10 of 10 in Acqui Terme
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pineta
Hotel Pineta
#8 of 10 in Acqui Terme
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Nuove Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Nuove Terme

Property: Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
Address: Piazza Italia 1, 15011 Acqui Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Acqui Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Acqui Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Nuove Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Nuove Terme is located in the center of Acqui Terme, in an elegant Art Nouveau building of 1891. After deep and careful restructuring combined with a clever modernization of its facilities, the Grand Hotel Nuove Terme reopens offering a personal and attentive service, in a quiet and cozy. The hotel stands as the perfect place for a relaxing holiday and health, both for businessmen and for tourists, thanks to the high quality services it offers. Professionalism and courtesy, impeccable service and outstanding conference facilities, make this hotel a new benchmark for your meetings in Acqui Terme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Nuove Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Alessandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing