We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight to dine here”
Review of Il Moncalvo

Il Moncalvo
Ranked #2 of 130 Restaurants in Acqui Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed April 17, 2019

exceptional service coupled with good food, what more can you want? Portions were generous, so much so we couldn't finish our 'secondi' of steak!

If you want a great meal, in pleasant surroundings with warm and friendly staff look no further. would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 654 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2018

Quite challenging to find this place, but at the end extremely please for the location, the tranquility within the city center and the friendliness of the dedicated and passionate restaurant owners.
This restaurant offer a range of local fresh products and a fantastic wine list with specialties from the close Piedmont region. We recommend to order Risotto or Pasta with fresh truffles, a real delicacy.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ginger1Winterthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at this restaurant. Tables are outside on the balcony overlooking the square, which is a really charming set up. The staff were really friendly. In particular the veal Milanese was exceptional.

We didn't make a booking and just turned up which was fine.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Blackheath_Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I went to this place based on the many good reviews - what a disappointment.

My main dish (secondo) was chicken and it was dry, grey and hard. It seemed as if it had been pre cooked and re-heated in an oven. My wife had tuna and it was the same experience.

Considering the high price level, this was very disappointing and probably just one star. The wine and one of the starters were ok so I give it two.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank JacobVesterbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Amazing view of the Duomo, great food, wines, and service. One of the best restaurants in Acqui Terme. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Adventure326197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Moncalvo also viewed

Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
 
Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
 
Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
Acqui Terme, Province of Alessandria
 

Been to Il Moncalvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing