We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the maddening crowds, but in the heart of Civilization”
Review of Abano Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abano Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Abano Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While every Italophile should visit the "Big Three" (Venice, Rome, Florence), there is something to be said about experiencing the real Italy, as a local or a European would, in a charming city like Abano Terme, minutes from the cultural gem of Padova, and a 40 minute train ride to Venice. While Venice bursts with color and culture, as well as huge crowds, it is nice to know you never have to settle for a hotel stay that can be somewhat chaotic and be expensive but lack in quality. Staying at this wonderful hotel is an investment, but what you get is the ability to not only access Venice, but experience other towns in the regions--this hotel even offers tours, or relax and (figuratively and literally) soak in the atmosphere and see Italian life as it really happens. I was lucky to be there during St. Anthony's weekend.

Of course, most people will come for the spa...and it won't disappoint. It is the perfect balance of the latest spa technology and the glamour of an old-world, old school pampering experience as it may have been done in Audrey Hepburn's era. The food is fantastic, and the tableside service with really charming servers brings that very personal, Italian-style service you won't find in most places in Venice for a comparable price.

The in-room amenities and products are fantastic. Although this was a "working trip," I honestly left more relaxed than I have with some so-called vacations. Francesco and his attentive staff are first rate, and you can even see it here in the way he's answered each and every reviewer

Room Tip: Request a balcony room over the pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elyse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Elysee G.,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback following your visit to the Abano Grand.
I'm absolutely thrilled that in a few days stay you were able to feel and fully understand the real flair of the Abano Grand and to describe it in such a perfect way ( I knew you are a journalist but didn't know you you are so terrific!).

Thank you for underlining the excellent location of our hotel (only 40' train ride far from Venice but ways far from the crowds), the food, the Spa and the good service.

Indeed we are very proud of your review.
I Thank you and hope to have you here soon again.

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations

Abano Grand Hotel Anti aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
There are newer reviews for Abano Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 728 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

For more than 10 years now I am staying in this hotel 3 times a year. The trip is for business, but it is always a pleasure to return and I consider myself lucky to stay here. The hotel is wonderful and the staff is great. They do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible and nothing is too much, always with a smile. Rooms are very spacious and well kept. Dinner in the hotel is very good and especially the buffet once a week is excellent. Also at breakfast you can find anything you like. Magnificent pool in- and outside, lovely garden. Definitely one of the best hotels I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRISTELKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Tesske,

thank you for your great comment. I hope that you will continue coming and visiting us three time a year for the next....many years! It is nice to count on such affectionate Guests as you and your
team are, January, May and September wouldn't be the same without you.

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations

Abano Grand Hotel Anti aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent staff fabulous pool. Nice ambiance, lovely to return to. Enjoyed to food & the service. Am returning this year and looking forward to another stay. In pleasant town & only about 30 minutes away from Padua.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeyonelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear mickeyoneLondon

I thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We love to indulge all of our guests and I am delighted to read that we have fulfilled your expectations in terms of services.

I also thank you for your words of praise regarding the unique Anti-aging SPA. and the gourmet-restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations

Abano Grand Hotel Anti-aging Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel has lovely grounds. Room was very large but dated. Bedside lights were like the old flourescent bar ones used on old cruise ships! Food average and not worth the price. Stayed in the off-season.

Nice experience but next time I might stay somewhere else (hotel is not a bargain)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time and the effort of writing such an honest comment on your stay with us.
We are very glad to hear to you considered it as a nice experience.
Regarding your statement on the bedside lights,
we 'd like to inform you that from September 1, 2012 all european hotels have to respect very high lighting standards, old flourescent bar are no longer admitted. Our lighting system dates August 2012, and is tailored to create a pleasant, comforting atmosphere in the rooms. In the bathrooms
where a higher performance is needed, we have chosen a LED lighting solution.
Hotel is not a bargain....we hope you are not right!!!!

Kind regards

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations

Abano Grand Hotel Anti-aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have recently spent 4 nights at the Abano Grand hotel.The staff are very friendly and welcoming.Many of the clients return on a frequent basis.
The rooms are spacious and well kept.
We asked for a quiet room and got it.The spa area is very good and the staff in the wellness area well trained.The swimming pools are at 36 degrees.
On the negative side we did not find the bed comfortable, the mattress is quite old,compared to other 5 star hotels and the treatments at the spa quite expensive.
But we had a lovely relaxing stay with very good food.

Room Tip: high floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ittagub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear ittagub,

thank you for your nice comment and for mentioning our spacious and well kept rooms, the spa area and the swimming pools at 36° degrees. Disappointing that you didn't find our matresses of your liking, anyway we hope to welcoming you soon again for another lovely and relaxing stay with us

Kind regards

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations
Abano Grand Hotel Anti aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels srl
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just stayed one night on the way back from Venice, but were very impressed. The pools were big and very nice as was the pool area. The room was big and bright with a nice balcony. The public areas were very impressive and the food (partly buffet) was amazingly good with a very large variety.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Carate,

we are glad to hear that you were impressed by our Abano Grand even after a very short stay. The first impression is always the right one and we hope that the mutual "love at first sight" between you and our hotel will last for very long time, so you will come back and visit us more and more.

With our kindest regards
Francesco Alfare
Guest relations

Abano Grand Hotel Anti aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was our third trip to Abano Terme and previously we stayed at Due Torri (also GB chain). Well we were not disappointed with Abano grand hotel too. Thanks to Francesco for warm welcome :) The room was very good - spacious clean with all facilities in a good condition. SPA is very good, all the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is according to GB standards. So you pay for 5* and no doubts you will get it. Also the hotel is very convenient for trips to local attractions: the are so the many beautiful places nearby....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Tangofan,

thank you for your kind comment posted on Tripadvisor. we are very proud to read that our brand " GB Thermae Hotels" is internationally well known and our Guests trust and choose first the brand as a guarantee of high quality and then the single hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit in one of our hotels ( although we of course hope that you will prefer our Abano Grand Hotel!)

With our kindest regards

Francesco Alfare
Guest relations
Abano Grand Hotel Anti aging Thermal Spa
GB Thermae Hotels
managed by Fam. Borile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abano Terme hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Trieste & Victoria
Grand Hotel Trieste & Victoria
#12 of 62 in Abano Terme
559 reviews
0.6 mi away
AbanoRitz Thermae & Wellness Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mioni Pezzato
Hotel Mioni Pezzato
#7 of 62 in Abano Terme
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol Buja
Hotel Bristol Buja
#6 of 62 in Abano Terme
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel Plaza
Panoramic Hotel Plaza
#10 of 62 in Abano Terme
1,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel President Terme
Hotel President Terme
#31 of 62 in Abano Terme
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abano Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abano Grand Hotel

Address: Via Valerio Flacco 1, 35031, Abano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Abano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abano Terme
#2 Business Hotel in Abano Terme
#3 Luxury Hotel in Abano Terme
#3 Family Hotel in Abano Terme
#4 Spa Hotel in Abano Terme
Price Range: $292 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abano Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abano Grand Hotel, near Venice’s Marco Polo Airport, 11 Km from Padua, is an ideal place for relaxing in well being. The hotel provides charming rooms in Louis XV style, with bright and spacious marble bathrooms and suites complemented by fine fabrics and exclusive furnishings. The Grand Hotels also offers the magic of well being in its cozy and luxury “Anti-Aging” Thermal Spa® , with an extraordinary variety of treatments and massages.Large garden with palms trees and tropical plants surrounds 3 thermal swimming-pools, one indoor with Kneipp path and 2 outdoor with Jacuzzi, Whirlpool, and resistance pool, connect each other. Elegant restaurant with a refined cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abano Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abano Grand Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing