We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Terme Helvetia
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Abano Terme
Mission Viejo, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked room for 3, there was not enough towels and no soap nor shampoo. Evening desk service did not believe my room didn't even have soap dispenser. Offered to show him but he refused to go. He said its my fault that i told him at 9 pm and nothing he could do to get towels and soap. I was really upset when he yelled at me, only after i started to be rude finally got some soap and shampoo out of the service room. Breakfast buffet was ok, but waiters were in bad mood both mornings. Swimming pool was nice. No way it's a 4 star hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Weili C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    340
    141
    81
    50
See reviews for
198
438
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Why were we in Abano Terme this year? Because Padua and environs hosted Roger waters and the last tour of The Wall at the Eugenio Stado - 13 kms from Abano Terme. We chose Helvetia becaus eof the fab reviews of its pools and room size - we were not disappointed by both. However this was my first experience with systematic bad - not poor- food in Italy- at breakfast - Helvetia - is quite inedible- poor quality meats, juice, bread and creal- so gave breakfast a miss after the first morning. We refused to try any other meal in the hotel - but were so disappointed by all the restaurants that we just gave up and reverted to lots of groceries from the large supermarket in the centre of town. the only real exquisite true to form Italian meal we had was in Verona on our way home. back to the hotel- the room was superb- a suite - with large bedroom and large queen for our twins to share in an adjoining room, great large bathroom with tub and seperate shower and massive balcony. Housekeeping services were excellent leaving the rooms spotless everyday. Amenities were minimal- but we did not mind. The pools were superb- 2 large pools- one outdoor and one indoor heated to 33 degrees and open till 23.00 hrs. The various massge fixtures and jacuzzis in the pool were great and the best timing - after sundown when little kids had left for bed. of special mention was the head chef who very kindly gave us a bucket of ice on request to chill our wine on our balcony. Also excellent was the night manager who was unphased when we asked for teh bicycles at 11.30 pm to go and get ice cream. oh this is an excellent service- free bikes for 2 hours each. we used them everyday and saw the Abano terme and environs on these . not sure I would go back to Helvetia - as this is a relly dire Italian town- with nothing really to offer- but cannot fault the hotel for that! Helvetia could do with a culinary makeover though!

Room Tip: if you are a family ask for room no 509 - it is a suite with a massive balcony where we gathered eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SASHI1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a weekend at the abovementoned hotel in Abano Terme in mid-June with my man. The location is quite favourable, since a bit secluded from the centre that becomes quite animated and noisy at night. I could enjoy a peaceful sleep far from music and high voices, but spoilt from the lack of a working AC system. It was hot, and we had to open the window to let some breeze in. The rooms are quite large, so the bathroom, though a bit dated.
What we liked most is the fantastic (hot) thermal water pool, endowed with hydromassage nozzles along its perimeter and water fountains for neck/shoulder massage, partly indoor and prevalently outdoor in the garden where deckchairs are available. They also have a steam bath, but it was too hot for me!
The buffet breakfast is not one of the best I ever had but is still pleasant and varied.
The hotel in itself has a general old-time luxury atmosphere, which is OK. The staff is also OK, but cheking out took us too much, almost as at an airport check-in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived late evening after a long train journey. We were greated by a wonderful lady called Regina at reception who told us that we could make use of the swimming pool as it was open till 11pm. What an amazing experience and we felt so much more relaxed after spending some time in the amazing swimming pool with thermal mineral water.Our room was located on the 4th floor and had a lovely balcony and was very elegantally decorated and large. The bathroom was lovely and large too. Breakfast was great in the very elegant room and the staff are very helpful and friendly.I would stay there again and it is excellent value for money. It is also very centrally located with a lovely garden and many shops and interesting thing to see nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It would not be fair to call this hotel a disaster, but there are many aspects that need severe improvement. Being the rooms big and in good shape, the overall impression is affected by small/medium signs of decadence: mold in windows, dark corridors, old spa, etc.
The quality of the breakfast is unworthy: horrible juice, bad cappuccino, cheapest cheese and ham.
Public computer not connected to the Internet ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nestor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Abano Terme hotels

Volgograd, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

There are excellent room with giant balcony (room for 3 persons), halls, bar, lounge, smoking room, and of course, beautiful swimming pool with thermal mineral water. Good free hotel parking. Very friendly staff. But air conditioner lived its own life and breakfast was no different variety.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxproof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed for one night few days back and had a lovely time! The best part was that we could swim until 11pm. The pool closes between 7pm and 9pm and is open again from 9pm to 11pm. The price for a 4 star is not bad at all!! Our room size was good but breakfast was just Ok. I would say not 4 star standrard though!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Afshan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abano Terme hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Terme Roma
Hotel Terme Roma
#37 of 62 in Abano Terme
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ariston Molino Terme
Hotel Ariston Molino Terme
#17 of 62 in Abano Terme
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia Thermae & SPA
Hotel Savoia Thermae & SPA
#16 of 62 in Abano Terme
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AbanoRitz Thermae & Wellness Hotel
0.3 mi away
Terme Milano Hotel
Terme Milano Hotel
#44 of 62 in Abano Terme
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora Terme
Hotel Aurora Terme
#19 of 62 in Abano Terme
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Helvetia

Property: Hotel Terme Helvetia
Address: Via Marzia 49, 35031, Abano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Abano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Abano Terme
#28 Spa Hotel in Abano Terme
#33 Family Hotel in Abano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terme Helvetia 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Oasis of Wellbeing in the heart of Abano Terme Hotel Helvetia is an elegant four-star hotel located in the heart of Abano Terme, at only 30 meters from the pedestrian zone, which welcomes and meets your needs to relax and feel good. Elegantly furnished rooms, equipped with every comfort, a creative cuisine consisting of colors, aromas and flavors from our land, fountains in the pools and light play in the gardens surrounding the hotel, and a health and beauty department with highly qualified staff. Immerse yourself in our thermal waters... and finally find well-being! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Terme Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terme Helvetia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing