We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cornwall”

Review of Spinnaker

Spinnaker
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spinnaker
Garden Warm and inviting carpeted lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Spinnaker
Garden
Warm and inviting carpeted lounge
Modern fitted kitchen/diner
Warm and inviting carpeted lounge
Modern fitted kitchen/diner
Modern fitted kitchen/diner
Rear facing double bedroom with en suite
Master bedroom as a twin
Partially tiled en-suite shower room
Front facing double
Front facing double bedroom
Rear facing single bedroom view 2
Family bathroom
Steps leading to elevated rear garden
Garden 2
Charlestown Harbour
Porthpean beach
Mevagissey harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Charlestown, St Austell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tourist75...
1 review
“Cornwall”
Reviewed September 17, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Charlestown is a very nice place; plenty of places to eat and places to visit .if you have a dog you can walk over the cliff to the next beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2018
Thank you very much for your feedback it is much appreciated. We're glad you found Charlestown a very nice place with plenty of places to eat and visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandydavi...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A lovely stay.”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We and 2 friends stayed 5 nights at Spinnaker, just a short stroll down to the fascinating harbour of Charlestown, and enjoyed every minute. We recommend Wreckers for good food with a view.
It is a perfect location for day visits to more places than we had time to visit. The Lost gardens of Heligan, St Michael's Mount, the tin mines, the train ride from St Erth to St Ives, Lanhydrock House and more.
The house was clean, well equipped and comfortable and a very welcome sight at the end of a busy day.
Thank you David and Yvonne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2018
Thank you for your feedback and great that you had a good time at Spinnaker. Looks like you had a very busy schedule and visited lots of places in Cornwall. I’m sure Spinnaker would love to welcome you back soon so you can explore more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rodswail
Bagni di Lucca, Italy
1 review
“Very comfortable property in a great location to explore Cornwall”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family of 4 stayed at Spinnaker in April 2017. The property is very well equipped with comfortable beds and everything that we needed.The location is perfect for the Eden Project and Heligan gardens and we also had day trips ro St Ives in the south and Tintagel on the north coast. Supermakets are close by in St Austell and we especially enjoyed the short walk to the local pub to sample the St Austell ales. We really enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Thank you for your review, its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the property had everything you needed including comfy beds for a well deserved break. The location is great for exploring, visiting the main attractions and a short walk to the pub is perfect. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S8035JKia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and holiday”
Reviewed November 6, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for half term week and had a great time. The property is well appointed and a short walk from the delightful Charlestown. Property had plenty of space and for our family and was well appointed. The guide provided by the owner was very helpful. We will go again. Thanks for a great stay. Ian and family.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Spinnaker and glad to hear you had a great half term week. It's good to know you found the property well appointed and the owner's guide helpful. We hope you enjoyed your time at Charlestown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan R
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean and had everything we needed”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Spinnaker in June 2016, a couple plus our dog Rufus. We were pleasantly surprised at how conveniently it was situated,being a short walk from the centre of Charlestown, and also how spacious and relaxing it was, especially so when we had some rainy days! We thought the cottage was very well maintained and well equipped with all we needed and a wonderful comfy large king sized bed. There was also a nice big kitchen for our dog to stretch out in. We would certainly recommend this cottage, and it would be especially good for families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern, clean spaciousness of the cottage
Liked least: The garden is accessible by steps at the back - too steep for our dog
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Thank you for your review, it’s nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with Rufus the dog just a short walk to the lovely Charlestown. The property does boast that it is spacious, it’s good to hear that it is well maintained and equipped with a really comfy king size bed, just what you need for a relaxing stay. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1983Gemma
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage and Great Location”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We found the property easily and when we arrived the cottage was spotless. The cottage has 3 bedrooms and the super-king sized bed was a nice surprise. The living area was really comfortable and, although the weather wasn't great when we were there, we exploited the one nice day we had to enjoy the lovely raised private garden which is a sun-trap.
We'd not been to Cornwall before and the welcome pack gave us everything we needed to know, including some useful discounts for local attractions. The property is an ideal location to explore the area, a short walk to the historic harbour of Charlestown is a must-do as well as the artisan-shops, bakery, restaurant and pub that are on the sea-front. It is a short drive to all the main attractions in the area including the lovely Pentewan Sands (great for my 5 year old son) and the Eden project.
We will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you for the review and I am glad you had a straight forward arrival to a spotless property. The suntrap really is a lovely hidden gem in the summer. I’m pleased you found the discounts for local attractions useful and I hope you discovered some famous places in Cornwall. Charlestown is a lovely historic harbour town. I’m sure Spinnaker would welcome you back in the near future as well as the owners. Look forward to receiving your next booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich12342...
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spinnaker was spotless when we arrived, the facilities are basic but the two couches in living room are very uncomfortable. The larger couch has been reinforced which makes it difficult to sit on without slouching.
One of the pillows had a massive stain on it on the king size bed which we didn't notice until we stripped the beds at the end of our stay.
No dressing table in any of the bedrooms and the welcome pack was disappointing (4pts milk, coffee and tea) had much better in other properties. Area is nice but wouldn't come back to Spinnaker

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that the property was spotless for your arrival, the owners work very hard to ensure Spinnaker is comfortable,welcoming and clean for their guests. We are sorry you found the couch to be uncomfortable, a stain to the pillow, no dressing table in either bedroom and the welcome pack not to be what you have come to expect. The feedback we have received to date from guests has been very positive and we are sorry that Spinnaker did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing