We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant

The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I visited the Pier House Hotel on the 1st of March 2014. We arrived around 3pm for a cream tea but was told that they were out of scones. When we approached the Restaurant Manager we were told that there was simply nothing that could be done so we settled for a toasted tea cake each. When the tea cakes arrived they were dry burnt and we weren't even offered any jams to accompany.My husband called over the Restaurant Manager, who by the way was rude and completely stank of cigarette smoke, told us that we could have had the Jam and that all we had to do was ask.
Never will we be visiting the Pier House Hotel again.
Sandra Smith

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandrasmith9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    171
    65
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I was amazed and inspired by the way that the Pierhouse has raised its standards. Excellent food served very well (The P house restaurant not the pub or the bistro)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BennyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate in the pub section as it was Sunday & we wanted to eat from menu ( the Bistro & Dining room were serving Carvery ). My Husband & I both had the Seafood pancake which was absolutely delish! They were huge & one between us would have been enough. It came with fries or jacket, we both had fries, they were lovely too but couldn't eat many, I also had a side order of peas & there were enough for 2 people. I had Rum & Cherry roulade afterwards, it was light & also very yummy but not a cherry in sight. All the staff were helful, friendly & polite. Every where was spotlessly clean & felt very homely. It is advisable to get there early or book in advance as it gets packed out rather soon after opening. I have knocked off 1 star as I felt there were not enough staff for the amount of people, we got there before they opened so were served quite quickly but it soon became evident that people were waiting a long time to get served at the bar!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank watfordjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Festive meal was very good more than enough with dishes of many vegetables. Waiting staff very quick and friendly. The non waiting person was a bit curt but the others made for her. Overall a good experience on a horrendously stormy day. The place was very full, but very efficient

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank janner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice location and good selection of food. However, dog owners are not welcome which is a shame. If you travel with dog go to nearby Rashleigh Arms. The food is as good and they are more friendly.

Helpful?
Thank mirp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlestown, St Austell
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing