We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal while on holiday”

The Pier House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Seafood, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Pier House Hotel and Restaurant in St Austell Cornwall is situated on the picturesque harbour of Charlestown with stunning views of the port and coastline of St Austell bay.
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Evening meal while on holiday”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The meat in my curry was tough. Hard to distinguish what kind of meat it was. Inedible. When I complained, the reaction was "I'll tell the chef"!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilian10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    193
    75
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything was wonderful”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The service, the food, the attention to detail and surrounding were great, we are a local couple and we often use the restaurant for lunch, or the public bar, occassionally we use the restaurant and havent done for a few months, however, it ticked all of our boxes and was a very pleasant evening. a good wine selcetion, pre dinner drinks offered, unhurried and very relaxed atmosphere, so dinner more often than lunch from now on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JakandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Pier House Pub go there !!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We discovered The Pier House Pub in Charlestown while on a 3 day stay with friends. From the moment our feet crossed the threshold, we loved it. The staff are friendly and engaging, atmosphere warm and welcoming, local folks curious about visitors and quite willing to chat, food glorious - good pub fare - beer and wine lovely.
If we ever have the opportunity to be in Charlestown again, you can bet we'll become regulars at The Pier House Pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiggs-Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great for lunch.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had lunch there on a walk. Pint of Doom Bar and excellent ploughmans. Gorgeous views of the coast sitting on the terrace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clodia94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned service and lovely food.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited the restaurant with my wife last night. We were greeted by very experienced staff and sat at the bar beforehand for a drink while we looked at the menus. Being in Cornwall as a visitor, I was pleased that there was a good selection of local sea food. I chose the ganard special and my wife had the Cornish medley. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. After a few minutes our drinks were collected on a tray and we were shown our table. I loved the attention to detail regarding quality service. After a short wait our food arrived. We were advised that the plates were really hot - I do like hot food served on hot plates and well presented. I was not disappointed. There was a excellent, generous choice of fresh vegetables and potatoes to accompany the meal. We shared a freshly made panna cotta with a shortbread biscuit and ice cream and followed that with coffee, which again was well presented and piping hot.
I have read mixed reviews here about the standard of service in the bar but, in my opinion, the standard we received in the restaurant was excellent. Don't expect bar food prices here, but do expect excellent food and service. We had both in abundance. Thank you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Designerman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier House Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, St Austell
 
Charlestown, St Austell
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to The Pier House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing