We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday carvery!!”
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Rashleigh Arms
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food. And if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lovely Sunday carvery!!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly welcome. Spacious inside the restaurant. We had a reservation at 6pm and there were a few people eating however it got busier as time went on. It was good to have the choice of size of portion £7.95 for a small carvery and £9.95 for a large carvery. The staff were helpfil on sorting out a mini carvery for my 3 year old. We could go at leisure and get our carvery. 3 choices of meat and for the large carvery we got thick slices. There was a good selection of vegetables which were hot and constantly being replaced. Sauces were on offer to accompany the meal. Staff were efficient in clearing tables and accomodating customer needs. We really enjoyed our carvery and would recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Abi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review our carvery and are glad you liked it, please visit us again soon.
Thank you
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    318
    116
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the healthy option !”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The carpark is very uneven cobbles, totally unsuitable for any disabled visitor, there`s a sign warning you that it`s very slippery when it`s wet ! Ploughmans lunch is served on a wooden platter, well, a cheeseboard, really and comes with tiny individual china dishes, containing pickled onions, yellow mixed pickle (looks like piccalilli, but tastes nothing like it) and pickled red cabbage. Brioche (high in cholestrol), nice ham and a rocket salad with oily dressing, completes the meal.It`s a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Merchantnavyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review, the car park is grade 2 listed and we are unable to change the surface due to the historical nature of the surface
Thank you
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steak and blue cheese pie”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A cold wet day in Cornwall but a lovely warm welcome. The pub was very busy at Sunday lunchtime but they squeezed us in. The food was very good and very reasonable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Many thanks for your Great review and our glad you liked the pie, we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Cornwall
Thankyou
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodmin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My partner and I used to come here all the time. However, there has been many changes since- not for the better. There is less choice on the menu, the food isnt as good and the prices have gone up. A real shame as it used to be our favourite place to go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sliddicoat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant for gluten free!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Finally somewhere that understands that someone who is wheat free doesnt just want a salad! I had the best burger with a wheat free bun, chips and a lovely dip :) menu was full of choice and even my partner wanted to try mine :) Have been here a few times and will be coming back in the future!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Many thanks for your great review and we are glad you like our gluten free options
Thank you
Rob and Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rashleigh Arms also viewed

 
Charlestown, St Austell
Charlestown, St Austell
 
St Austell, Cornwall
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing