We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Leo's Tavern

Leo's Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Crolly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $47
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were looking for some place to eat, accidently went to Leo`s Tavern, and we were suprised with excellent food.

1  Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Hi Joanna M

I dont know how this response managed to slip through the net (ie nearly 2 yrs since you visit!!)
however thank you very much for your kind words.

Hope to see you again sometime.

kind regards

Leos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only called in for a light lunch as we were staying nearby. The food was very tasty and all the staff friendly welcoming. There was to be live music that night from around 10pm which we considered going back for but we were staying quite a bit away and it was a bit late for us oldies. Next time.

Thank TaraNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Tara, glad you had a nice time and meal. Sorry you couldn't stick around for the entertainment. As you say... Next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were staying nearby and my wife suggested we visit Leos, we called in on the Friday afternoon at 4pm and were told by the very helpful member of staff that an open mic night was taking place that evening, a once a month event so right place at the right time! Even bigger bonus was that the special guest that evening was Duke Special!! We got there early as advised and had a great meal (one haddock would have been enough though!) After that we were treated to the most amazing local talent I have seen in one room in my life! Simon McCafferty's guitar skills are worthy of a mention (I have been playing his EP all week in my car). Then we were treated to a very intimate and wonderful performance by Duke Special. What a night! Thanks to everyone at Leo's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed the food and the night John C. Clubeo is going from strength to strength and is well supported by local and established entertainers alike. Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had been staying in nearby Annagry and Leo's had been recommended to us. We were a family with four children (inc 2 toddlers) so we were going for food rather than a night's craic. The staff & service was excellent, atmosphere good (although I don't know how the staff can stick so much Clannad on a loop, even as a fan after a while I was praying for a little variety). We ended up returning a few days later since they were so family friendly. Over the two visits we had chowder with excellent wheaten, goats cheese, fisherman's pie, chicken, steak and guinness pie, and the kids had burgers, soup & spud, goujons - and all of it was great.
Hopefully we'll get back to Annagry and will definitely stop in to Leo's again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thep0stman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Delighted you had a nice visit and thank you for coming back again. Hope to see you and your family the next time. (ps you stop hearing the music after a while.... sorry we didn't stay on top of it.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can not recommend Leo's highly enough. The staff go out of their way for you and its so genuine. We went to see Maire Brennan of Clannad there and she was AMAZING!! All the tables were reserved and it was really busy but one of the girls behind the bar went to get us stools and put them right at the front without any prompting as she knew we really wanted a table but didn't reserve. Just the Donegal charm at its best. Also my partner had a headache and I asked for water and said he had a headache and she went and got paracetemol again without us asking even though they were extremely busy.
The Guinness was great and the music was fantastic. Great atmosphere.
Also the area is stunning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ashy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Delighted you had an enjoyable visit Ashy108... we aim to please and it's wonderful when people let us know we got it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Tavern also viewed

Gweedore, County Donegal
Dungloe, County Donegal
 
Burtonport, County Donegal
 
Kincasslagh, County Donegal
Gweedore, County Donegal
 

Been to Leo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing