We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just stepped in to say hello!”
Review of Leo's Tavern

Leo's Tavern
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Crolly
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $49
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just stepped in to say hello & thought I'd only stay a while but five Guinness later & I've got the great big smile.
Leo's is a one off! It's the greatest pub in Donegal & you just can't pass it.
Such a warm welcome from all the staff makes you just feel right at home & when the music starts & people get up & do a wee turn, it's just an amazing place.
Leo himself is getting on a wee bit but his legacy lives on in Bart, Sean, & the staff.
We've had some fantastic nights here & my best friend Eddie Mallon from Belfast loves it, the last time he was in he bought a souvinere t-shirt & CD to take home with him.
If you like Enya & Clannad, this is the place to go to. The walls are covered in memorabilia, gold & platinum discs & photo's.
Good food, great beer, brilliant people - Don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DonnieGaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you very much - delighted you had a great time. Leos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 144 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Leos is such a homely pub rich in tradition and we always enjoy visiting leos on our trips to Donegal. The food however we find very poor, would definitely recommend to visit but dine elsewhere!

2  Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Hi Peter B

Sorry you didn't enjoy the food on your last trip to Leos Tavern.

Was there any thing in particular that you didn't find satisfactory... If we know what it is we can try and rectify it.

Your opinion is very much appreciated in helping us address any issues and improve our service.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Brilliant hotel........just what you would expect from the home of Clannad & Enya! The atmosphere was that of a genuine Irish pub, with great entertainment & Irish spoken by the owner.

1  Thank bluetrev71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We love to eat in Leos and the new chef is producing excellent tasty food. The last orders are at eight thirty so beware and don't arrive too late for a meal. May need to book during summer weekends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DonegalArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed your meal. Yes the new chief is putting out some great food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Went here a couple of evenings and had a really nice time. The first night they had traditional ceili dancing on and and it was great craic. Staff and customers all very welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
2  Thank KJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaiseCameron, Public Relations Manager at Leo's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thanks so much for your Tripadvisor review and glad you enjoyed the music & entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Tavern also viewed

Gweedore, County Donegal
Dungloe, County Donegal
 
Kincasslagh, County Donegal
 
Burtonport, County Donegal
Bunbeg, County Donegal
 

Been to Leo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing