We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic find!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Admire the view whilst having breakfast. Peaceful. A table with a view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Admire the view whilst having breakfast. Peaceful.
A table with a view.
Super equipped kitchen, american fridge, micro wave and many gadgets for great cooking.
Lacanche cooker with 5 gas, 3 oven. Dishwasher. 2 sinks.
Living-room with hand painted beams.
Pool under the pine trees to guarantee you shade and no sun burn!
Home sweet home ...
Antique furnitures.
Traditional Provençal staircase
Bathroom downstairs.
Walk-in shower and steam bath (hammam)
Double bedroom downstairs.
Detail.
Double bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom, first floor, shower.
Master bedroom 1st floor
Hand painted poem, ceiling, master bedroom.
Second bathroom (ensuite) first floor, bath/shower.
Extended garden, tree house for kids, pétanque field, hammock.
Kids love this !
Typical lavender touch for this beautiful provencal country house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Simiane-Collongue, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find!”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This lovely house on the hillside has everything you could possibly want. Elegantly furnished, it is comfortable and quiet, and has outside dining with beautiful views.Whether sitting on the terrace at breakfast or watching the sunset across the valley in the evening, it is so relaxing. The pool is perfect for sunny days. And there's so much to see nearby. Wandering around the streets of Aix and enjoying Marseilles, the museum and the bars and restaurants, we didn't want to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural setting with al fresco dining
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you very much, you are welcome again, Provence and our "Mas" will be ready for your next visit. You still have a lot to explore!.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“What a wonderful place to holiday.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My wife and I, together with our daughter, husband and their three young children, enjoyed a wonderful week at Le Mas du Philosophe at the end of July in 2013. We could not have asked anything more of our holiday. The "house" is very inviting, quirky and interesting, with rooms which are a delight. We spent a lot of time around the lovely pool, which was a real hit, particularly with the children, but some of the most memorable times were eating out on the patio in the evening, enjoying the peace and the views over the grounds. Le Mas is within easy reach of good beaches and places of interest, but on this holiday we found it very difficult to tear ourselves away; next time we need two weeks! The owners, Francoise and Nigel, were very friendly and could not have been more helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2013
We hope to see you again in Provence, your lovely family is always welcome at le Mas du Philosophe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful villa in such a peaceful and scenic location”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for a week as a family of 4 and had more than enough space in this lovely villa. The location is very peaceful, with just the sound of the crickets, with a lovely view of the large forest-like garden and the valley below.

The owners are very friendly and were extremely accommodating and helpful throughout our stay here and especially due to our last minute booking - absolutely no complaints here!

Before our stay I was unsure about the swimming pool area as it looked very shaded, however having spent a day or 2 around the pool this was not the case and it was lovely and relaxing.

We spent most evenings out on the terrace for dinner, getting a lot of use out of the BBQ but also the very well-equipped kitchen!

Only thing I would say is the town seemed relatively quiet with not much around - we spent most days visiting different areas and towns, which we had already planned to be doing anyway so not really an issue. There are several other towns and areas within driving distance to visit however, and a lot of information on this given by the owners.
Having said this, we did take a couple of trips to the local bustling market which had everything you could ask for.

Overall, a lovely homely villa with everything you need for a quiet and relaxing holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it was very nice to meet your family and we hope to see you again in Provence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing