We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
87
90
27
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
90
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly hotel place to stay garage bunk switzerland lugano 50ies
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 213 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Best way I can describe this place is deceptive. The professional photos on the internet with the 'greece' theme paint the place in a far nicer light than the reality.

The rooms are tiny and have no air conditioning. The beds are more like what you would get in a youth hostel. The walls are paper thin and you can hear people's conversations through the walls. Even in the non smoking corridors it stinks of stale smoke. Yes Switzerland is expensive but for a room advertised over £100 you wouldn't pay more than £25 for this in any other country.

There is advertised free parking but if you arrive after 7.45pm like we did the place was full (even on the main road outside).

I would never recommend this place.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 814MichaelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vezia f, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Vezia, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear Client, thank you for your comment.
We are sorry that you didn't like our Hotel. We take the chance to respond to some of your comments: your "tiny room" was an Economy, which is a normal single or double room. If you wanted a larger room, we had others available, at different prices.
If you've ever been in a hostel, you might know that in that kind of accommodation you normally have to share the room and the toilet with other people, which is far different from having a private room with personal toilet inside, clean towels and a swimming-pool outside.
As far as the walls are concerned, you may want to know that we have recently added a sound isolation on the walls, but we cannot prevent people from speaking loud. Our hotel is a non-smoking hotel, but people who smoke despite of this restriction cannot be controlled.
We also have a Restaurant for about 80 people: if you arrive after 7.45 pm, the parking place might be full, but we always find a parking place for all our hotel guests. You just needed to ask at the Reception.
If you ever come again, there is always the possibility to book a Superior room with private garage which is directly connected with the room, if this is your wish.
We thank you for your stay and for your time and hope to host you again. Regards, Hotel Vezia Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

As touring motorcyclists this is just the best place to stay. Comfy room with garage below which is super convenient for unloading and loading the bike. The welcome is always warm and sincere as is the food. We love the colour and style and is always a welcome site after a long day in the saddle. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice, and dinner is good tasty food and plenty of it. Of all the hotels we stay in this is defiantly one of our favourites.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

The Hotel Vezia is really nice for family with children, not only for 50ies fans (big team at the hotel). They have playing areas for small kids (my son just turned 6) but also ping-pong, flipper, a table soccer and a nice pool to keep my older daughters (9 and 12) busy. They have rooms with bunk bed that sleep 4 and for our family the had 2 rooms with connecting doors. In front of the Hotel there is a bus stop so that you can reach the beautiful center of Lugano town very easily. The food was always nice at the hotel. Worth eating there. Worth a visit is all the same the ice cream shop just across the road from the hotel and in town the restaurant Tango for the pizzas.
Lugano is a busy town: last week end they had a Harley Davidson meeting and this week we are enjoying a family event festival (most of them with free entrance) that will last the whole month. Next doors to the Hotel there is also a nice shopping centre called Manor that sells from food, to sports equipment to interior design. We all found what we liked in and around the Hotel. Great place to be!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank romina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

clean rooms, very nice people, unique style, well located near Lugano. Nice pool area. Free parking. Bikers are also very welcome. i just can say good things about this Motel and i always come back again to this Motel!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank domi_rihm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vezia f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Vezia, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feed-back, we are glad to know that your stay went good. We invite you to take a look at our website, bikers are always welcome and we often organize special events for them. We look forward to seeing you soon! Hotel Vezia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017

Very nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. You can park your car in your own garage with direct room access through stairs. For the duration of your stay you get free public transportation and 30% discounts on major attractions. The center of Lugano is just 14 minutes with Bus Line Nr. 5, which stops just in front of the hotel.

The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated with a large flat screen TV. Everything is in 50s / 60s style, which makes the stay very unique and special.

For the kids there's a playground on the hotel premises just next to the pool, but there is also a very large public playground just one block away. There is also a very good yet affordable restaurant/pizzeria just 2 minutes walk away.

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant was closed for dinner. We would have loved to try the food in the 50s style diner. We will try it next time!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streunj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vezia f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Vezia, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Dear guest, thank you very much for your interesting feed-back! We are glad to hear that you loved our 50’s style hotel. As you noticed, kids are always welcome and we try to make them feel home! Our special Restaurant is closed on Sundays nights, but is open during rest of the week, at dinner time. We would love to host you again in order to surprise you with our fabulous food proposals! Your Hotel Vezia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews