We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canberra Reptile Zoo

Canberra Reptile Zoo
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Nicholls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bochum, Germany
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

In this place, you get a real close look at the animals and are even allowed to touch some reptiles. This place has been reopened about six months ago and the new owner is constantly expanding it. Looking forward to going there again in a couple of months to see what's new.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Outstanding improvement!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have been visiting this centre for years and 5 months ago new owners took over and the renovations have been amazing!! It's now called the Canberra reptile Zoo and its obvious the new owners are professional and passionate reptile keepers which is a nice change from previous owners.... (See earlier reviews 2012) . They tell us there are now over 60 species of reptile the keepers actually handled the reptiles in front of us demonstrating how content and healthy they were. I'd say this display rivals any reptile section from any of the big zoos:)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ohmightyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfortunately spoiled!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Good place to visit for a couple of hours, especially if a tourist or kid, however as a herper I found the staff to be uneducated with incorrect facts and quite arrogant. Especially arrogant when I commented that many of the animals looked under nourished and I was met with a "that's life" type response! The only way to have that many unwell animals is bad husbandry! This was a big difference from the previous time we visited a year or so ago. All in all my boy still enjoyed the visit though...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurabear85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff are very lovely, they bring out the reptiles for you to touch and interact well with the kids. You don't need a lot of time here so easy to fit into schedule. Previous review says grossly overpriced, I don't agree. Only around $11 to enter for an adult. Well worth the money to keep the reptiles well feed and looked after, which clearly happens at this place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a small sanctuary but well worth a visit. Very hands on and for a small fee you can hold/feed a lizard or snake. The staff know their stuff and are a terrific source of knowledge. Being able to directly interact with animals is a big draw card. Don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank L410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canberra Reptile Zoo also viewed

Nicholls, Australian Capital Territory
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
 
Nicholls, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Canberra Reptile Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing