We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beef in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Les Pins

Restaurant Les Pins
Reserve with
Restaurant Les Pins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
518 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Best beef in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've been coming here for years and this restaurant seems to go from strength to strength. There is a good choice on the menu but our group of 4 last night chose the beef - either filet de boeuf or chateaubriand , which we usually do. It really is superb and the quality of the meat is consistently excellent and is cooked and presented to perfection , with a delicious sauce.

There is a good wine list of local and French wines and we chose a particularly good Croze Hermitage which was a perfect accompanyment to the beef.

Tip. The amuse bouches are so good and copious that a first course is really not necessary.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    70
    13
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went for lunch on the terracce after having spoken about the place for some time. On the road between Cotignac and Aups in Sillans. Very polite and nice staff, excellent menu food and a local CdP rose under the trees. Excellent value for money. Also nice interior for an autumn evening, so we will be back in the not too distant future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GiroNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were at Sillans la Cascade last week and decided to have lunch at the Restaurant Les Pins. I had dinner there a couple of years ago and the food was excellent, so we thought it was a good idea to go back. What a treat! I had the special lunch menu, a bargain at 14 euros for 2 courses, and it was excellent. The chicken was tasty, melting little onions and fantastic homemade chips. My husband took the Chicken Supreme and again, no disappointment there, it was excellent. The desserts were just too good to be true, the Exotic soup was to die for. The service was excellent, the waitress was lovely and professional, the 'maitre d'hotel' was great too and the owner was very friendly.
The missing star is for the kids menu: whilst we had a great treat, Our daughter had the choice between chikcen nuggets or steak. It would have been nice to have a proper kids meal, with a real piece of chicken, or even pasta. Food for thought?
We'll be back anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank florence b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Based on reviews we had read we saved this restaurant for the last night of our week in Provence, what a shame.....we ate in the evening on the terrace which should provide a much nicer atmosphere than it actually does, it is tired and uncared for eg. The electric lantern that has snapped from it's base, been taped back together and then fallen again into the flower bed, potentially rustic charm but not when you are paying an average of EUR 22 for an entree and EUR 26-30 for a main dish. The service was also very disappointing and the waiter ill informed of the specials and seasonal variations.
The cooking was adequate but far from exciting and certainly well below expectations for the price point....a gin and tonic served as an aperitif and charged at EUR 11.50 sums it up!!!
On a positive the wine list was fairly priced and had a good selection of both local and regional wines.
Maybe the set menus offer greater value for money but on the face of it there are many other places in the surrounding areas that could offer you a better meal for less money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull pot-au-feu. Not cheap.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a very nice aperitif: women got 'Lou Parpaillou' (which is a kind of a champagn with almond liquor) and men had a 'Henri Badouin' (which is a very good kind of Pastis). The pot-au-feu of seafruit and fish has to be ordered in advance (just tell when you make reservation). The meat (steak) was ok but not so delicious as the seafruit/fish-soup-dish.
Desserts were ok but not as nice as the main course.
This is not a cheap restaurant.

When you go, you can easily visit the beautifull little waterfall. +-800 metres walking. (30min when slow walking) and then you see the waterfall (when you want to walk all the way to go close to the waterfall = 1h).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MfromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Les Pins also viewed

Sillans-la-Cascade, Var
 

Been to Restaurant Les Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing