We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped here for one night on a journey from the south to the north of France.

The chateau is just beautiful, in a picturesque, quiet village, with immaculate grounds. When we drove through the entrance we were instantly impressed.

Everything within the chateau is beautifully appointed and to the highest standard. The thoughtfully positioned lighting on steps and walls add to the chateau's already great ambience.

We were a family of two adults and two children and we were meeting another two adults who travelled in the opposite direction. We mentioned this to the Chateau when we booked, and when we arrived, we were delighted that they'd put us in a quiet tower of the chateau, on the top floor with two rooms to ourselves. We felt like it was our own private apartment up there. It was just perfect.

We were told that the rooms had been refurbished in May, and indeed, they were absolutely immaculate. Fitted to the highest standard, our room featured both a shower in a wet room (which was fantastic) and a large free standing bath in the bathroom. The room was extremely comfortable and we really didn't want to leave!

All of the staff were great and made us all feel very welcome; from offering to set up a toddler bed in our room for the little one when we booked, to calling about our meal reservation before we arrived, to discussing wine tasting, the history of the chateau, and other activities in the area, it was all first class.

We had dinner together in the restaurant which was excellent, and despite there being a wedding reception in another part of the chateau, the staff were still fully attentive, but discreet, exactly how good serving staff should be. The meal was excellent.

My only suggestion for improvement would be that the breakfast buffet was fairly basic and a slightly greater variety would address this.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience and one that my family will cherish for a long time.
We will definitely be back for a longer stay in the future, where we look forward to exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max_D-Fect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    93
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
81
331
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our 3 day stay was fabulous. Our room was spectacular with a fireplace and sitting area and a view to die for. The hotel staff caters to your every need and the restaurant was lovely. A great place from which to do daily wine tours as long as you don't mind driving, which we didn't. Can't wait to go back some day soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 204 were lovely. We had a sitting area in 202 and 204 had a 4 poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 79BHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I were on our honeymoon in France. We did the touristy thing in Paris, spent some time on the French Riviera (including Italy and Monaco), but Sainte Sabine was my favorite part! I loved the Burgundy region, and Chateau Saint Sabine made that possible. The staff was great, the chateau was perfect, and the wine was delicious. I wish I could live at Chateau Sainte Sabine. No complaints at all!

Room Tip: We had a complimentary upgrade when we got there, but I think any room would be great. The whole ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NateLeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, Essex
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Reception staff extremely helpful, including with maps/directions/recommendations etc. Room very recently redecorated and very comfortable and incredibly good value for money. Good, safe parking. Lovely grounds. Restaurant food pretty good; in better weather than we had would be nice to sit on the extensive terrace (dining and bar). Tip : Restaurant shuts some nights of the week and no restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Chateau in a park setting, complete with a meadow and deer for an afternoon stroll. And it gets better, the room is terrific and the staff friendly, intelligent with a true desire to make our stay the best possible. Make dinner reservations at the restaurant as it does sell out routinely.

Room Tip: Reserve in the main chateau if possible on the 1st floor (2nd in America).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We never felt so much welcomed and important like in this chateau.Every one was trying to make us happy.Our original room had low celling and small windows and we were offered a better room.
Extra towels- no problem,cup of coffee on a terrace-absolutely, light at the desk after hours- with pleasure, even a blanket in a cold night..Everything was so nice and pleasant.We felt as VIP from every person in this hotel.
Thank you again so much.

Room Tip: Call prior to and check on your room location, top floor has low celling and very small windows in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annam1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We should have stayed longer! The chateau and staff were wonderful. Our room was newly renovated and luxurious, much nicer than the three star rating. We were there for dinner which was delicious and also for breakfast which is a nice buffet. Everything is reasonably priced and we had a delicious bottle of local Cremant with dinner. It is a beautiful setting with ducks on the pond and a pasture with deer. The chateau is very close to the Burgundy Canal and Chateauneuf-en-Auxois which is a cute town with a number of good restaurants. Would definitely recommend a stay at Chateau Sainte Sabine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Sabine
4.8 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
18.2 mi away
Relais & Chateaux - Hostellerie de Levernois
8.4 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
18.1 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
16.2 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine

Property: Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
Address: 8 route de Semur, 21320 Sainte-Sabine, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Sainte-Sabine
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Sabine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau De Sainte Sabine Hotel Pouilly-En-Auxois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing