We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay with delightful hosts”
Review of Chateau de Clusors

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Clusors
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint-Menoux B&B and Inns
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Delightful stay with delightful hosts”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We chose Chateau de Clusors as a great French experience to catch up with German friends. We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer.

The Rooms and amenities are very good and Christine's presentation and preparation excellent. As there were four of us, we also had the kitchen. We had extremely long lunches at local restaurants and simple cheese, bread, wine, etc for dinner.

Henri gave us a guided tour of the estate and filled in a lot of the history. They run some cattle and sheep.

We have stayed in several Chateau during our 3 month visit this year and each has provided a different experience.

Excellent experience and value for money

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The house and grounds are wonderful. Old and new go hand in glove as modern bathrooms compliment the more traditional bedrooms. A 14th century stone, spiral staircase leads you to the two available rooms, both have excellent views and each has its own distinct character.
A wonderful, heated outdoor pool was very welcoming after a long drive.
Henri and Christine could not have been better hosts. Henri takes great pride in the history of the house.
Breakfast was excellent and on the first night we were served charcuterie which was wonderful. Wines are sold at very reasonable prices and so an evening meal under the tree was just a perfect start to the stay.
A small car problem was solved easily as Henri escorted me to the local garage where a repair was carried out.
A highlight of this year's tour.
Check it out on Google earth before you go to get your directions...it's then easy to find.

Room Tip: Only two, both are wonderful. One does have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Family owned chateau for generations with unassuming charm created by period decoration, furniture and fittings, all in tasteful keeping with the architecture. Guests' comfort is ensured by appropriate modernisation of bathroom etc. The hosts are most welcoming and friendly, providing sound advice and offering wide range of breakfast goodies. Pity a table d'hote is not offered.

Room Tip: Only two rooms. We had the one with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidDS2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation - and the refurbished bath.
Had a great nights sleep after a long drive. Henri and his wife are great hosts. The chateau itself has great charm.
Just a bit challenging to find from Menoux but Henri guided us easily on the phone. Just remember to get instructions by mail before going there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBhasins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Menoux
4.6 mi away
Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand
Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Tall...
#1 of 2 in Bourbon-l'Archambault
156 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
#1 of 1 in Coulandon
164 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ygrande
Le Chateau d'Ygrande
#1 of 1 in Ygrande
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 8 in Moulins
250 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ibis Moulins Sud
Ibis Moulins Sud
#4 of 8 in Moulins
220 reviews
6.0 mi away
Chateau de Villars
Chateau de Villars
#1 of 2 in Villeneuve-sur-Allier
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Clusors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Clusors

Property: Chateau de Clusors
Address: Lieu Dit Clusors, 03210 Saint-Menoux, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Saint-Menoux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Menoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Clusors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing