We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Farallon Dillon Hosteria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was a wonderful experience to find a such unique hotel, and charming hostess, Alberto and Yolanda. Falling sleep with the sound of the waves, having a nice swim in the swimming pool all these in front of the beach, and eating like a Queen, fresh fish and seafood. Just wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CavesMonachil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

Wow !!! Where do you start? A true "JEWEL" of a find in the tiny community of Ballanita Ecuador. Very Hard to find in an otherwise desolate town. Please persevere & keep following the signs & asking cab drivers as we did. THE RESULT! MARVELOUS!!!! We were greeted like long lost Family by the Owner Yolanda & her staff. We had a Great 2nd Floor Room "ECHO" that overlooks the Pacific Ocean with its Never-ending surf/sounds! The Hotel is really a MARITIME MUSEUM! Theres a small Churchlike structure that house Memorabilia from Ship Wrecks of the 1600's & other Maritime curios, Pictures etc.....Many FOR SALE @ reasonable prices from her husband ALBERTO'S travels as a skipper around the world. We stayed an Extra night just to Browse the Museum. The Pool is at the edge of the property & its Just the "Right" Temp!

The Restaurant is another Museum of itself Full of Memorabilia from Ships the World over. The Staff Miriam Dennis & others are truly EXCEPTIONAL! Restaurant serves GREAT FOOD! We even bought 10 lobsters from some fishermen in town & brought back to the Hotel. We invited Yolanda Alberto & their visiting daughter from Spain. The Staff cooked the Lobsters Ecuadorian Style! WOW What a feast!!!! We felt like Family. If you're ever in the SALINAS area Dont MISS this "SPECIAL PLACE" We'll be back !!!!!

Room Tip: ECHO on the 2nd Floor on the Corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whale Shark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We felt like part of the family as soon as we arrived until we left. The rooms (all having a shared balcony overlooking the Pacific below) are above the restaurant, and when we came down for breakfast, we felt like we were coming downstairs to our own living room and kitchen. We were warmly greeted by the management and wait staff.
It was a wonderful and relaxing time. All local transportation was arranged by the manager (Denys Eduardo) to include the whale watching tour (Pesca tours was great) out of Salinas.

We will be back for our next trip to Ecuador.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davekirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
75
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were welcomed at the Farallon Dillon by very nice and accommodating staff. The site is located on a hill overlooking the beach, and it feels like you are on a historic cruise. There are many interesting artifacts, a maritime museum, a pool where you can see view of the beach below. The pool temperature is just right. You can walk down below to the beach, and it's a great workout walking back up. The rooms are very nicely decorated, and make you feel like you've stepped back in time, like in the Titanic. On arrival, we received cold bottled water in our rooms. Good bathroom with counter space over the sink, good shower, hot water, good toilet with 2 options for flushing. Nice large windows and glass door opening to a shared balcony. The best part was the view from the balcony. Because the place is so high up, we could see pelicans flying so close to our balcony. Also has A/C. Staff is excellent. Very courteous, always friendly. They set up umbrellas for us by the pool. Breakfast was included, was decent, not great. We did not eat other meals there, so don't know if the food is good. We saw a tennis court there too, but did not make use of it. Also there are two or three nice, clean cats. Best to drive there, as there is nothing really around it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakitalinda23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MariaCoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballenita
4.5 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
7.7 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 15 in Salinas
148 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 15 in Salinas
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
7.2 mi away
Barcelo Salinas
Barcelo Salinas
#1 of 15 in Salinas
707 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hosteria  Ecologica El Faro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farallon Dillon Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farallon Dillon Hosteria

Address: Lomas de Ballenita, Ballenita 241701, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Ballenita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ballenita
Price Range: $82 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farallon Dillon Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Location: Lomas de Ballenita, Santa Elena province it's a natural viewpoint. . Design: Nautical . Areas: Gallery-museum, acommodation, restaurant & bar, rooms with sea view, pool, tennis court, exclusive access to the beach,, private parking, hammock zone. Come and enjoy a different place surrounded by sea, green area and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Farallon Dillon Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing