We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good hotel, the personnel very good and kind. Breakfast excellent. Bed excellent. Bathroom clean could be better. Excellent views. Many facilities to use, nice foods in general (several restaurants). I´d comeback if I could!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank FernandoJofreAlfonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Before leaving on our trip I had read the reviews on this property and mostly alot of reviews had
many things in common. The property is quite large, stunning architecture and landscape and
views of the sea and outlying islands which is, simply put, world class. The weather was spot on
perfect. Dry sunny weather with a slight breeze, warm evenings. Croatia has a coastline which
just has to be experienced and day trips to Bosnia, boat rides to the islands shouldnt be missed.
Jacques Cousteau said of the sea that it was the cleanest place to dive in the world. The hotel
has a wonderful area along the coast, not sandy beach, more like soft stones. But there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy the sun and a swim in the sea is invigorating for the body and soul.
What I read negative about the hotel was two main things. 1) it is far away from Dubrovnik.
So lets deal with this first. Dubrovnik is one of the great places to visit and should be on everyone's Bucket List. The best time to visit is after 4. The tour boat people have returned
to their ships and you can manage to wander around without feeling like New Years in Times
Square. The setting, sitting astride the water is magic and you can find plenty of restaurants
in the evening that afford a great view of the harbor. But I honestly didnt mind that the hotel
was away from Dubrovnik because the natural setting of the hotel enhances the beauty of the place. it is quiet and restful. So you sign up for one of the hotel minivans and go. It takes a
bit to organize getting back and forth but if you're any kind of traveler, its not something that
should turn you off And 2) there are too many steps!! The Croatian coast is mountains coming
down to the sea. Similar to the fjords of Norway. So you dont have these large expanses of
flat beaches and that go back any distance. If you want to build, you have to do following the
natural flow of things. This resort has two places to live, the main hotel and the residences.
As we were five with two children, we took one of the residences and were glad we did. It was
two floors, two big bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen, large living room, outdoor eating area.
The housekeeping was superb and the staff is so friendly and helpful. And yes, you have to
climb a bit of stairs to get down to the three beautiful pools and seaside, but unless you are
a recent open heart surgery patient, or prefer to roll out of bed onto the beach, I found the
morning walk to breakfast to be quite helpful. All in all, its a five star hotel, no doubt. So whats
the problem? The problem is that the management I think has overlooked one thing which is
a real annoyance. My son wanted to go jet skiing. An hour rental was 130 euro! We passed.
Later he wanted a mask and snorkel. My wife visited a store. They asked 10 euro for the snorkel and 69 euro for a mask! There are several restaurants at the hotel. The food ranges
from just OK to very good, but prices for fish are like heroin ( I presume) which is a bit odd
considering the sea is pretty abundant in this part of the planet. And why I say its a mistake
of management I mean that anyone who visits a 5 star hotel is obviously willing to pay top dollar for luxury and convenience. But there comes a point where it crosses the line and I
frequently felt that here. Prices were over the top. Yes its a big facility and its a beautiful setting. And people who invest big have a right to reap the rewards. But i got the impression
I was being squeezed long after i had cried Uncle. I think the hotel would serve to enhance
its brand by throwing in a few small things that wouldnt do anything significant to their bottom
line but would go along way for guests feeling really good that they chose this hotel and
probably would select the brand at another location. Whenever we had a meal at the hotel,
for relatively simple fare (grilled fish, french fries, mineral water) the bill almost always came
to 50 euro per head! If you're in Paris or New York and having a gourmet meal you dont question the price. But here it felt like something else.
And so thats my review. A beautiful, well managed hotel, great location, great staff. But alot
of niggling stuff that adds nothing but doesnt leave a great taste.

Room Tip: Chose a residence with a garden view. You dont need an ocean view and they charge an arm and a leg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jefflog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, Rooms Division Director at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.

Thank you for your comment regarding stunning architecture and our beautiful landscape. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay in our residences with your children and that you had great experience with our wonderful housekeeping staff.

Your comments regarding water sport activates and prices have been passed to our onsite agency and will do they best to improve areas which you have put to our attention.

Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant prices. I assure you that they are in line with the prices in our region and 5* star properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back, sometime in the near future to have an opportunity to improve all the details that you have mentioned in your review.

With warm regards,

Adriana Barlafa Kruhonja

Rooms Division Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent a week here in June although a little far from the Old Town and central Dubrovnik the setting is wonderful and scenery on route beautiful.
The facilities this hotel have to offer are excellent something for everyone and a nice selection of food available.
A number of pools and beautiful finish in both the hotel and residences.
The staff from reception to housekeeping could not do enough for you pleasant well mannered and always happy to help.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view and double check internet connection will not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali158186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014


It would be advisable to check before booking there are no cooperate groups staying at the hotel as we had 80 on a freebie from Robert Dyas and they took over the adult pool area so other guests wre unable to find anywhere to sit,they also closed pools and restaurants to host various events,it made our stay not as relaxing as it could have been.The staff in the adult only pool need to be more forceful in not allowing children in,it took a week of complaining to the manager to eventually get things sorted. There is no point in advertising an adult only pool if no one makes sure children are redirected to the two other child friendly pools. The food needs some improvement, we found better places to eat a short taxi drive away.the staff are very friendly and most problems we had were eventually sorted out, the manager Mia is very pro active.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We knew it would be the start of the season and it might be a bit slow, however all the restaurants were open, we eat at the Pasta which had very good pizza and pasta and was good value, also at the Cilantro good fresh fish and at the higher end of the scale though we did have the fresh fish which was priced by the kilo other options are available, another meal was at The Butcher's Grill excellent local steak well cooked, we had lunch at the sunset bar as well. Yes it's an upscale hotel and the prices go with it, it the bar prices didn't seem to be to outrageous . The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was included in the rate and had a great selection and unusual in a European hotel eggs cooked to order even boiled ones.

There are three pools the middle one tends to more child focused.

If your looking how to get to the hotel use their transfer service it's worth it, a bus into Dubrovnik from the airport is 35 kuna per person and a cab from town is 200 one way, a car from the hotel is 375.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank varney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The residence garden room was a pleasant surprise. Plenty of room, with a comfortable sitting area, desk, kitchenette, inside and outside dining areas, in addition to a good size bedroom and bathroom,. Better than a standard hotel room in our view. It allowed us to buy local cheese, meats, bread and wine for cheap light meal and food for breakfast. There is a small supermarket on site.

The hotel and residence are built on a slope down to the sea so trips from the room the pools and restaurants involve lots of steps.

Two of the outside pools were fully operational but all the loungers were occupied for the majority of the day. The Marina pool was filled but the facilities (bar, toilets, loungers) were not operational, hence it was not generally busy and therefore was where we swam. It appeared the Marina pool was being made ready for operation in the middle of June.

We ate at the majority of restaurants plus "Ban" which seems to be independent of the hotel. At Ban we had the simple menu which had plenty of grilled meat (chicken, pork and beef) ample wine and was good value. The hotel restaurants' food had more finesse but was more expensive.

We were surprised when a cake was delivered to our room on my wife's birthday. They must have noted the date on her passport.

We hired a car when we arrived at the airport, which gave us cheap and easy transfers to the hotel plus a trip to Cavtat and another to Korcula via the wine region on the Peljesac peninsular. We would advise an early start for this and to visit the wineries on the return journey because after the 2:30 pm foot passenger ferry from Orebic the return is at 7:00 pm. We regret not hiring a car that would have allowed us to cross boarders to Bosnia and Herzogovina and Montenegro.

We drove to Dubrovnik early one morning and parked in the Hilton car park which was quite expensive but within easy walking distance of the town. Another day we took the ferry from the hotel to Dubrovnik.

We enjoyed our stay at the Sun Gardens and would recommend the residence garden room to other holidaymakers.

Room Tip: We found although not having a sea view the garden room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went from 17-24 May this year so things might have changed a bit by now, but our experience of Raddison Blu left a lot to be desired for the money we spent on the accommodation.
We knew the hotel was a bit out of Dubrovnik from all of the other reviews on here etc. but didn't realise how expensive it was to get there from the airport or what a pain it was. We read that getting a bus to the hotel from the airport was a pain so ended up booking the Hotel's transport which was 100 euros. They turned up on time and were very courteous but it was still a bit expensive. When we originally booked we thought it was breakfast included as all of the other hotels we looked at were, we emailed them to confirm and were told that as we had a garden suite breakfast wasnt included but we could add it for a modest (in their opinion not ours) 12 euros per day each. That was definitely not happening as £10 each per day was a lot more than seemed reasonable.
When we arrived at the hotel at around 8.30pm on a Saturday night everything looked fantastic, there was no building work going on or anything and it all looked very clean but ominously empty with hardly another guest in sight. The Supermarket was closed and there was no milk in our room so we went out for a meal in the hotels pasta restaurant which was very expensive for relatively simple food of average quality, certainly nothing special. They didn't give us a map of the hotel grounds and we ended getting lost a couple of times.
In the morning we went to the supermarket but found it was closed on Sundays so there was no milk for a cup of tea and no food of any sort to be found onsite unless we ate in one of their expensive restaurants. We ended up walking into Orasac the nearest village and found a small shop but getting there and back meant crossing a main road and walking about a mile but it was quite an experience and very cheap. On the way back we found a bar by the campsite which is just up the road from the hotel (1/2 mile anyway) and relaxed with a couple of beers for around £1 each instead of the £4 in the hotel.
We then walked down to the seafront from the campsite bar as there was meant to be a nice restaurant there but found it was the steepest walk imaginable and when we got to the bottom the restaurant hadn't reopened for the new season yet, that left us with a miserable walk back up the incredibly steep hill.
We looked at getting a bus into town from the hotel thinking it would be complimentary but found that they wanted to charge around £4 each way per person meaning £16 for the 2 of us to get into Dubrovnik and back. Every other hotel i have ever stayed at which had been outside of town has offered a complimentary bus service so we were quite annoyed by this and ended up getting a local bus into town every day which cost us £1.50 each so about £6 per day for the 2 of us instead.
The Marina pool was closed but the other 2 pools were open apart from one day when they had a private function on. They were really nice, one being for kids and adults, the other grown-ups only which was a relief. They both had bars but again were crazy expensive. The beach was also closed as it had apparently been damaged in a storm but they were working on it.
One of the main reasons we booked the Radisson Blu was because of the sports facilities and tennis courts, i was very disappointed to find that there was no ball machine or hitting wall to practice tennis on my own though and they has no system to arrange games with other guests unless you went around the hotel randomly asking people of they played tennis which being British I certainly wasn't going to do. In the end i booked a private lesson which like everything else at the hotel was ridiculously expensive and although i booked it a good few days in advance i don't think they told the tennis coach as when i turned up for my lesson they made a frantic phone call and he turned up about 30 minutes late. He was very good and quite apologetic though and was going to give me some extra time after to make up for his lateness but typically someone else then turned up for a lesson having seen us actually using the court for the first time that week.
We also booked an island boat trip excursion through the hotel as it seemed only slightly more expensive than the ones in town and it meant we would get picked up from the hotel instead of having to get a bus into town, however they turned up an hour late and when we got to the boat it was much bigger than all the others we'd looked at in town and was completely packed. What the hotel also failed to mention was that the island trip only included lunch and a bottle of wine instead of unlimited free drinks and food all day like all of the others offered.
We realised early on that the onsite supermarket was closed at the peak lunch and dinner times so that you hadn't planned in advance you would have to use the hotels extortionate restaurants to eat in or go hungry or face a long trek into Dubrovnik.
There were also quite a few onsite facilities which weren't yet open for the season such as the Ice-Cream shop, the patisserie and a couple of other shops.
As someone else mentioned on here the pillows were ridiculously soft and even with 2 of them I just couldn't get comfortable. I phoned reception and was told they didn't have any so I ended up sleeping on a cushion from the sofa instead.
We must sound like right whingers but all of these small annoyances added up to spoiling our stay in what is a fantastic part of the world and such a beautiful area and its a shame that a five star hotel charging an arm and a leg for accommodation had to resort to almost extortion to make money from every other aspect they could.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank karen_nichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
3.3 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
162 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range: $111 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing