We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Kokomo, United States
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Radisson Blu is top notch in all aspects. Their customer service standards are embraced by all levels of staff and the staff truely enjoy working at the hotel. They make is easy for one to enjoy staying at the hotel. We had a garden room which was very large and had everything to include the kitchen sink. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast on the patio and in the evening a drink at the main hotel enjoying a beautiful sunset. The grounds are well maintained as it not a seasonal hotel which makes a huge difference in this part of the world. The food was very good and not over priced. Start or end your trip with treatments at the Spa.....wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    541
    140
    36
    17
See reviews for
607
714
27
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

A clean modern hotel. Food, staff, service & amenities could not be faulted. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.
There are both indoor & outdoor pools. My partner loved the spa & enjoyed a lovely massage.
The rooms are beautifully appointed & there is underground parking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Beautiful resort with a beautiful sea view.
Rooms are large and comfortable, food was great and everyone was friendly.

It's a bit costly (my room was about 180 euros per night) but its a very luxurious resort.

They have a large sport center and a lovely indoor pool.
It's about 40 minutes drive from Dubrovnik airport and 20 minutes from the old city.

Room Tip: Sea view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, Rooms Division Director at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying in Sun Gardens Dubrovnik and for taking your personal time to provide us with your feedback.

We appreciate your positive comments, recognizing our luxury, sport center and indoor pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back, sometime in the near future when hopefully, you will become a regular guest of Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.


With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,


Adriana Barlafa Kruhonja

Rooms Division Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

If you google meaning of word wannabe you will find out that wannabe is a pejorative for a person who wishes to be or do something, but lacks the qualifications or talent.
That is exactly what I think about this hotel, it could be nice 5 star hotel but ...... lacks the qualifications or talent; put it in my opinion in 3-4 star category - definitely not 5 star.
Hotel and resort are really nice, rooms are nice and modern and all room in main building has sea view and balcony. Residential villas are also great but they could be far away from main hotel building and with many stairs to climb so in off season when you mostly use hotel's facilities (indoor pool, spa, breakfast ....) main building is must have (just my 2cents). In summer time when you use outdoor pools and beach on sea it could be nice to have this residence with kitchen and possibility to cook. On side bars and restaurants are pricey and we didn’t try them because we had car and many option for eating in nearby area.
We were there in beginning of May and this is start of high season in Dubrovnik. All outdoor pools where closed - they claimed that one is opened but condition of that pool was not acceptable. Pool was dirty, but not dirty from using it, dirty from not cleaning it properly after winter time - not acceptable in 5 star hotel. On terrace in front of indoor pool there was heavy mechanization in operations and starting their job from 7:00AM - absolutely not acceptable in 5 star hotel in May. Gardener was cutting grass in front of pool (of course with heavy noisy machine) in 11:00AM when pool was full of people and you couldn’t talk to anybody because of noise - not acceptable in 5 star hotel. SPA area is OK but nothing special - few saunas and few showers (some of them where broken) and one cold pool. Overall cleanness of SPA area was not perfect - definitely not 5 star level. Indoor pool and whirlpool are good but again we found lack of hygiene (green and black "fungi") - also not acceptable in 5 star hotel . We had breakfast in price and breakfast is really good, actually choice of food and quality of food is excellent, but (unfortunately here is again some but..) but quality of service on breakfast is not on 5 star level. There were not enough stuff (only one chef cooked eggs ...), long waiting for coffe and ambient of restaurant itself is average. We were in group of four and every day we were sited on table for 6 with two other peoples - again not acceptable in 5 star hotel.
All in all this hotel is really nice, place is wonderful and it could be easy real 5 star but because of not properly qualified staff, and poor organization and cleaning service this is just as title say: Wannabe 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: In off season time room in main hotel building is must have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, Quality Assurance Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on our resort, Sun Gardens Dubrovnik. We were sorry to learn that some of yours expectations were not met on your recent visit to our resort.

We very much appreciate your comments which are extremely helpful in our pursuit to improve our quality and service on a continuous basis.

Immediately following your review on Trip Advisor, we undertook measures regarding the spa and the outdoor pools, and at the same time we reviewed and corrected our gardener's rotas to prevent any possible noise around the pools.

On the first few days of May our two outdoor pools were unfortunately out of order due to a burst pipe in the municipal water mains a few days prior. Since your departure we have now reopened two of our three outdoor pools and of course our indoor pool is available to all guests, as it was during your stay.

With all training in progress and recent addition of our quality assurance department we are striving to improve quality of service in the entire resort.
We were encouraged by your comments on our resort facilities, the rooms, the residences and kind words on food choice and quality on breakfast.

We hope that you will come back to be with us sometime in the near future when we hope to meet all your expectations.

Kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

Antun Vlahovic
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

If this would be a 4 star hotel I wouldn't be so picky and maybe would just say "all good" but since it is 5 star, I have to say - I saw better, e.g. Kempinski Savudrija.
The hotel itself is very nice and on 5 star level, residences look really good and are perfect to spend summer vacations at. But, "residences" isn't the place for you if you go in non-summer time e.g.May, since all the facilities are in hotel so you have to dress and walk with umbrella to the hotel to have breakfast, use spa or pool which is not confortable. The rooms in hotel are nice, clean and the beds are really good. Nothing to claim as not ok.The bathroom doesn't have air-condition and the basic information like when is the breakfast or check out are missing.first evening of our stay the shower didn't have hot water, just warmish.internet wifi connection is horrible and mobile network signal also.
The hotel is redecorating one of the restaurants even though the season started and half of the decoration isn't working (e.g. Water from the fountains).
The spa has 5 saunas where finn is really good but hammam cold and no use. The jacuzzi could be better cleaned since you can see green and black spots from algs.
Even though there are 3 outdoor pools and 2nd of May with already very nice weather, one pool was empty, other full but with sign that cleaning will start in the middle of the day, and third one, the one that was opened, not so clean (black spots and rust on metal parts?!). The beach is really nice and the sea cristally clean.
The hotel was full, so huge crowd on the breakfast where if you don't ask, staff doesn't selfinitiatelly do anything. The staff in the restaurant leaves impression that they don't have control under anything, one person doing omelets, when adding food waiters push you aside instead of trying not to be noticable... The food on the other hand is really good and the choices are excellent.
Altogether the hotel is fine but the staff I beleive needs much stronger training to be on 5 star level.

Room Tip: If in summer (july or august), residences are perfect. If not summer take hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIKI9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, Quality Assurance Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying in Sun Gardens Dubrovnik and for taking your personal time to provide us with your feedback.

I am deeply saddened to hear that you found certain members of our staff not up to your expectations. Not only we do focus on training, but recently we created a quality assurance department to achieve the highest possible levels of quality and service. Therefore please rest assured that your valuable comments have already reached the staff responsible to make improvements.

Due to a burst municipal water mains we had to close two of our three outdoor pools. Since your departure, we have reopened two outdoor pools, while the indoor pool available to all guests, remained open all the time as it was during your stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that overall you liked resort, and we were very encouraged with your comments on the room cleanliness, residences, beach and food at breakfast time.

We look forward to welcoming you back, sometime in the near future when hopefully, you will become a regular guest of Sun Gardens Dubrovnik.


With kindest regards,

Yours sincerely,


Antun Vlahovic
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile


We were here with team. Place is perfectly located, rooms are large with balconies to the sea. Really good.
The breakfast omelets made to order and true fresh juice. Nothing to claim.
In the beginning of may weather was pure rain. Nothing good here. I quess august better.
Gym was modest 3 windmill, some free weigths and technogym machines. Ok for aerobic stuff, not for weight lovers.
Saunas 7+, but i have high standards as a finn. Hammam was poor - cold..

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank heikki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Would recommend this hotel if you don't mind a 15 minute drive into town. We had a rental car, but hotel ran a frequent shuttle for a small fee. Cab ride into the city was $50.00.
Check in/check out was a breeze. Would not recommend the restaurant, Cilantro, but would recommend the meat and cheese at the bar. Service was great throughout the resort. The room was adequate, with a view of the sea. Maid service was notably fantastic, our room was cleaned daily very well. All special requests were met.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnieMarieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,918 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
606 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Property: Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing