We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was a lovely hotel, great facilities, great views. Yes, it is about 15 minutes drive from the city, but the hotel offers a shuttle bus ( hotel charter several times a day for around 7 euros ) and there is also a local bus stop just outside the hotel where you have 4 options for taking a local bus to the city for about 3 euros. The hotel spa is complimentary for its hydro pool, relaxation areas, sauna, heated pool etc which is great as oat hotels charge for it. And the spa is amazing and beautiful and huge with great views. I would not recommend half board as the hotel has number of lovely restaurants, and one must try them. We took a one bed apartment which was great in space, again a surprise! The hotel has 3 pools including an adult only pool and a great private beach. Amazing stay for all types- families, couples , friends. Worth visiting.

Room Tip: One bed apartments, apparently they are cheaper than normal rooms with breakfast because the apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reemaarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your excellent feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your feedabck to the team that the spa was amazing and you loved our restaurants.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.


Regards


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    541
    140
    36
    17
See reviews for
607
714
27
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything was above expectations. Perfect weather, excellent service, various food at restaurants. Well equipped sports center with tennis, squash, volley- and football grounds. Kids' club. Spa. Interesting excursions just in one day. Old town is like a toy.
- Pools outside could be warmer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuzanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your excellent feedback and title of your review.

I was happy to read that everything was above expectations during your stay.

I will pass on your feedback to the entire team.


Regards


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Perched on the edge of the stunning Croatian coastline, half an hour's drive from Dubrovnik, this hotel is a great place to stay. The scenery and sunsets will never tire you and because it is sufficiently spacious with more than enough places to sit and sunbathe, you will not feel crowded or hemmed in, particularly out of the main season. The staff are more than friendly and willing and only suffer from the limitations of the hotel itself! Time and again I heard guests ask at the three pools for the snack menu, only to be told that there was no food to be had there and that the only alternative was a pizza or pasta at La Pasta restaurant which meant leaving the pool. In September, even the Patisserie had closed for the season! This has to change if the hotel is to have any sense since it is a perfect opportunity to make more money!

As has been said before, prices are pretty high though not hugely different from restaurants in the surrounding area and in the city of Dubrovnik, so the self-catering residence becomes a much better option. Here you have so much more space than an hotel bedroom with a lovely private terrace which is not usually overlooked. On checking in we were offered breakfast at half price and this was a good option although we were somewhat bemused by the fact that our names were never checked off a list so we could have breezed in without paying! Here of course you can fill up on a very extensive range of breakfast foods and thus cut out the need and expense of lunch!

As has been mentioned before, beware of the steps! 114 from breakfast to our residence alone, not to mention another hundred up from the beach - it is not for the elderly or disabled, even though the hotel tries to cater for them. There are ways to avoid the steps in some places but this necessitates long walks through the hotel itself to use the lift or a complicated series of one-floor lifts in the residences themselves which must be possible for the cleaning staff to get around but which we never completely worked out! I didn't notice that buggy rides could be ordered as in some hotels and this would be a good idea in the future.

Marina pool was the best for us because it was quiet with no children and did offer Happy Hour half price on some drinks between two and four in the afternoon! The Lemonia Pool is probably the most modern with bubble jets and fountains but was noisy and crowded with children and awful Muzak at all times! The beach itself is pebbly but there are areas of concrete with steps into the water which is a better alternative and there are plenty of loungers here but it can get quite windy here when the umbrellas will take off! The sea was warmer than the pool in September and so clean and clear that it was deceptively deep, so this would only be advisable for a comfortable swimmer since it is too deep to stand in. Unfortunately the whole place is all concrete which is very bleak and not very cheerful but perhaps in the future these areas will be decked or made more user-friendly in some way.

Although the information on the hotel says that even the one-bedroom residences have an extra toilet, this is not true of all of them, so you need to ask for that when booking if it is important. Our one-bedroom Residence 5411 has everything you could wish for with the sun on the terrace all day and beautiful views across the bay. It is at the back of the complex but this means no steps to go to the hotel and the residence itself was as large as a small London apartment! Surprisingly the residences don't have washing machines (they do have dishwashers) and since there is no launderette facility, this is another consideration when packing for a trip though of course there is always the hotel service, at a price!

We were surprised that the shuttle bus to Dubrovnik ran such a short schedule making it difficult to plan the return time (but taxis are easy to obtain in the city) and that there was only one boat a day going to and from but perhaps this was (again) because September is "out of season" even though the weather was mainly superb. The receptionists/concierge are always very happy to book local restaurants for you and arrange for taxis so it is very easy to get around.

This hotel would be a particularly great place for a short break/long weekend because it is only a couple of hours from London and cheap flights are available but it would be difficult to stay for longer than a week without renting a car or taking trips to the surrounding countryside since the restaurants are so expensive and not that exciting! That said, there are plenty of places to visit, particularly further north although the road is only two-lane and very twisty and the poor driver will miss the stunning scenery whilst concentrating on the road! If you are brave then there are plenty of buses going both ways and if you check the internet you can avoid Dubrovnik on the days when the most cruise boats dock and flood the town with people!

Yes, do go and visit this beautiful place - it is worth the money and this hotel is definitely one to go for!

Room Tip: Residence 5411 was pretty perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalgersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your comments that you enjoyed your apartment and the adult pool. Sadly coming into Sep we do start to close some of our restaurants but during this period we do still offer 4 venues for lunch and 4 for dinner.

In regards to trip to Dubrovnik we do have a total of 5 trips per day to the old city at only 5 Euro p.p each way on our shuttle bus, naturally we try and keep the price as low as possible for the 20 min transfer.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.


Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first time in Croatia and we will definitely be returning. The Raddison was superb, the only negative as with previous reviews was the price of the drinks in and around the complex. We found the Croatian people to be very pleasant and they couldn't do enough for you. There was a shuttle bus which ran into Dubrovnik daily also there are plenty of taxis available. The rooms are clean and the beds are the comfiest we have ever slept in. I can imagine it being too busy for us in the height of the season. September was perfect and the weather was fab!

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your excellent feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay; I had noted that you enjoyed your room and especially the cozy beds and friendly team members

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there for a week-end at the end of September. Everything was perfect, I wish we could have stayed longer. The spa was one of the best I've ever been. And the food was great (by you paid for it...)
It's not a cheap choice, but worth it if you can afford it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaF1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your excellent feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, I had noted your feedback that the Spa was one of the best that you have experience, we are in the progress of adding a new Salt Room to our Spa as next year.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon to experience the new Salt Room.

Regards.


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just come back after spending a week in this hotel. we had a fab stay and really enjoyed the spa. the weather was lovely however there were a few rain showers and it was nice to be able to escape into the spa when it was a bit wet. The steps however are not for the faint hearted so if you do not like walking up steps it is not the best. There are 5 restaurants on site also however 2 where closed. The food choices in the restaurants that were open where very limited. There is much better value to be had in the old town. The one huge minus in staying in this hotel is the price they charge for a transfer out of the hotel. We went for dinner one night to Zaton which is the town right beside Orcsac where the hotel is located. It would be less that 5km away and they charged us 200 kn. This is around € 26.00 which is a complete rip off. The hotel said there were no local taxis and if we tried to book one it would have to come in from Dubrovnick and would cost a lot more. You would think they would give customers that are staying there at least a could transfer rate into town in light of the fact that you are 16km out of town. Other than that i must say i had a fab time. An improvement in the choice of food in the restaurants and a much cheaper transfer rate into town would make the world of difference however to this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norene77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I was happy to read that you had a good experience during your stay. I am not sure if you are aware we do offer in Sep 4 to 5 shuttle bus per day into the old city this is only 5 Euro each way p.p. and this is outlined by other reviews.

It is true that yes one can book at taxi but sadly as outlined these do need to come from Dubrovnik, and meter will be running for both ways. We do also offer our own limo service which is a new 500 Mercedes for one way per car for the same price or less than a taxi for 200 Kuna.

In regards to Restaurants we do offer 5 different restaurants during summer but in Sep go down to 3 restaurants, we try and give all of our guests a choice to fit all budgets i.e. a Buffet style outlet a Pizza & Pasta outlet or a Seafood outlet.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel proved to be wonderful place to stay. We had a great holiday from the 10th to the 19th September 2013. The complex is so well designed and beautifully maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful. Special thanks to housekeeping who were so efficient, and also to the breakfast team: The 'egg lady' makes superb omelettes, and a special mention to Stephan, a young waiter, who takes customer care very seriously. We will be back to Croatia and the Radisson Blu.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite on the third floor overlooking the sea. The hotel provided all facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I was happy to read that you had a wonderfull experience during your stay.! Thank you for your comment on your superb omelettes . I will pass on your comment onto the young lady that prepared them for you.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards


Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,918 reviews
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
606 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,454 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Property: Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing