We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, but expensive facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I see thare are many who agree with me here. The food is not great and the prices are not in context with what you get. And it costs money to travel to Dubrovnik to dine elsewhere. It really annoyed me, as I am used to more quality and value whan on holiday, for dining.
Otherwise, the satff were great, rooms were great, pools were great. Beautiful setting and very very safe.
I will not be going back though, becauise of the prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camilla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your comments that you enjoyed your room, pools and the resort on the whole. I have noted your comments regarding prices we offer a wide selection of outlets to choose from to fit all budget from a sandwich shop from 5 Euro to a Pizza at 10 Euro to a Tenderloin Steak in Butchers Grill for 20 Euro as examples for a five star hotel. I am sorry that you had a negative experience with our food quality as you are aware we do have a total of 6 restaurants to choose from, I will give your feedback to our Kitchen team and Exec Chef.

In regards to trip to Dubrovnik we do have a total of 8 trips per day to the old city at only 5 Euro p.p each way on our shuttle bus, naturally we try and keep the price as low as possible for the 20 min transfer.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.


Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of 4 have just spent 2 weeks at the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa and cannot say enough wonderful comments about the resort. The apartments are wonderful and spacious and they have many options depending on your requirments.
We never had a problem with the cost of food at the restaurants and after reading the previous reviews l am wondering if we had all stayed at the same resort! Obviously the food downtown was cheaper but they were not comparable with the food or service at the resort. We visited other 5 star hotels in Dubrovnik, Zagreb & Split and found the prices all comparable. Having lived in London, Sydney, Munich & Dubai, the prices being charged at the Radisson are absolutely reasonable.
We found the hotel simply stunninng and can highly recommend it. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edeltraut r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our resort, and that the service and food in the restaurants and bars was excellent from all team members. I will pass on your feedback.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

As a family of four we stayed on the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Sea View Residence apartments June/July 2013. We’d had a lovely holiday last year in a different part of Croatia and returned with high expectations.
The accommodation was first class – very spacious and clean with excellent views of the sea and local islands with daily maid service, free WIFI and air conditioning. The staff at the resort were very helpful and polite and it was great having towels provided at the pool and help with the sun umbrellas.
Our main issue with the holiday arose in regards to meals. We planned to do a mixture of self-catering and dining out. However, it was difficult to find out the prices in the restaurants – the menus were not openly published. This also caused us a problem as our children have food allergies and we like to see what is on the menu before booking however the local staff were helpful in this regard. The prices for drinks we felt were exorbitant, for example £8 for a glass of wine and £40 for a bottle of the cheapest local wine. At the Pizza/Pasta restaurant you could get a Pizza for just over £10, however there were bottles of wine on the menu for hundreds of pounds!
The quality of the food was ok, but not great. Certainly not what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The pizzas at the Pasta restaurant were good, the Dalmation food at the Market place was nice but expensive and the worst meal of the holiday was at the Butchers Grill - dry chicken and frozen chips. In summary, average food at extremely high prices.
Consequently the restaurants and bars did not appear to be well used, and in a lot of occasions there were more staff than clientele. Seems to me it would be a better strategy to lower the prices and fill the restaurant and bars.
There was a Konzum supermarket on site, which was fine for basics – bread, milk, cheese, ham, etc. However there was no raw chicken or meat to cook a meal with which is what we would expect from a supermarket for self-catering accommodation. There was a little frozen fish in the freezer, and, bizarrely, frozen pizzas, although no oven to cook them in the apartment and the cheapest bottle of local wine was over ten pounds. The Hotel Manager says he has no control over what the supermarket stock; we wondered whether it was planned that way so guests had to dine in the resort restaurants.
Fortunately we had a hire car and found a Konzum supermarket in the Gruz district of Dubrovnik, where we were able to stock up on provisions and bottles of local wine starting at a much more reasonable £5 per bottle. Once we found this we felt much relief, but the high prices in the restaurants meant that we did a lot more self-catering than we had intended.
We did not like how we did not feel the resort were open and honest about the prices –why were they not freely published outside each restaurant? There was a menu portfolio in the foyer of the main hotel, however again not all menus/prices were available.
The final example of this underhand behaviour was that despite checking our bill was fully clear the night before we left when we departed early the next morning we were presented with a bill for £6 for the Cleaning Kit we had used throughout the fortnight. This kit was in the apartment when we arrived and we did not see any information stating it was a “chargeable extra”. Why didn’t it get allocated to our bill on day one when we started using it? Really – after paying thousands of pounds for the holiday did they need to add it at the last minute? It left a very bitter taste in the mouth and we will not return.
We concluded that we are not part of their target market. Whilst this might be a good destination for a very short break, we would not recommend this holiday for a longer holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MiBi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel itself is great, with clean spacious rooms, three great pools & surrounding areas within the resort. The hotel has a number of restaurants within the resort, we found all to be very expensive for the quality of food & service offered. "Tartufo" in particular tries to position itself as a 5 star establishment, but unfortunately fails miserably, with a cheesey sommelier pushing around his "magic trolley" offering expensive pre dinner drinks & old school approach to welcoming new guests was a bit cringe worthy - if not comical - a Croatian Manuel if you will!! 3 courses with a bottle of wine for 2 will cost you over £100. This is unfortunately true of most of the restaurants within the resort. We found "the butchers grill" to be one of the better restaurants - the steaks were really good. As we were staying for 11 nights you could easily rack up quite an expensive bill, which unfortunately left you feeling you were being advantage of - not good feeling at he beginning of your holiday.
In high season you have to pay 70 Kunas return pp (approx £8) to get the hotels shuttle bus into Dubrovnik. So there is unfortunately an extra cost to find alternative places to eat. That said, it is worth eating outside of the resort. To lower the cost we would regularly have fruit & yoghurt saved from the morning buffet for lunch.
We did complain about the expense of the food to the hotel, & to be fair they listened to the feedback & offered good will gestures - with extra push we accepted a 15% reduction on our food & an upgrade for last 2 nights stay.
The onsite excursion agency "korkyra" were ok, but didn't really go out of their way to suggest options - happy to give you a leaflet, but little else really. Worth researching what you want to do & not rely upon their advice.
Overall the service & facilities at the hotel were very good & worth the 5 star rating. But be prepared to pay over the top for food & drink.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank applechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I would like to apologies for your negative experience in Tarfufo with a team member you had single out? I am happy to note that normally our all of Restaurant Manager receive many positive comment & feedback regarding they friendless, can do attitude and general helpfulness to all guests to name a few.

In regards to the shuttle bus and boat service this time of year we do offer 8 various times per day to the old city as you are aware this is only 5 Euro per trip one way for the bus. We do try and keep this price as low as possible, given the 20 min trip each way.

I had noted your comment on prices in our restaurants, as you may be aware we have a total of six restaurants to choose from each priced at different levels and each to fit various budgets. from a sandwich shop from 5 Euro to a Pizza in our Italian restaurant 10 Euro or our Steak restaurant Sirloin 300 Grams for 20 Euro.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at one of the Sun Garden Apartments in May 2013. We have avoided hotels, as we 3 small children (aged 8, 5 and 1), the thought of being in one room, or even interconnecting rooms wasn't great. We've done it for a night, but trying to juggle milk for the kids in a minibar fridge, and everyone keeping each other awake at night means longer than a night is out of the question. So when I found the apartments here - self catering, with all the facilities of a 5 star hotel to enjoy on the doorstep I was delighted. We had a good holiday - key points below:

Positives:
- Excellent clean apartment with everything we needed for the week. Comfy beds, and amazingly large balcony. beautiful seaviews.

- Lovely pools and very clean communal areas

- helpful reception staff

- Lovely helpful staff at breakfast, and good selection

- Lovely beachside location

Negatives:
- The restaurants were generally overpriced, poor quality food, and usually empty! I can't help thinking the complex should offer less places to eat, but concentrate on getting the food and atmosphere right. And lower the prices! it simply doesn't make sense to pay 12Euro for a mediocre pizza, when you pay 6Euro in town for a fantastic one.

- Service in the restaurant was pretty poor, 'Pasta' seemed ill equipped to cope with a sudden rush of families at 6pm...

- The wine list is a joke - there was a bottle for around 300Euro on it! Not sure how many holidaymakers can really afford these prices? You could make an expensive mistake if you let the waiter recommend the wine! Take care when ordering as things change constantly between Kuna and Euro and its easy to get confused

- The shuttle service needs to be booked in advance, and I felt was pricey considering, if like us (as a family of 5) you want to go into Dubrovnik everyday. We weren't planning this but the weather was pretty poor, and combined with a couple of disappointing restaurant experiences, made it a necessity. There is no clear pricing structure on the shuttle for kids, and we paid a different amount (depending on the staff in Korkyra) nearly every time!

- the shuttles did not run frequently enough - Dubrovnik is beautiful, and we'd have appreciated extra flexibility without the hassle of car-hire and parking in town. The evening shuttle was too late for us, and you had to spend a minimum of 3.5 hours in town before you could get a bus back. It meant long days and limited options if you wanted to do something like take a boat trip from Dubrovnik harbour....as it was near impossible to get all the timings to tie up.

- In bad weather (and boy did it rain!), the breakfast area was really crowded, and a bit chaotic, as there was about half as much seating available due to most being outside.

- The complex felt a quiet and clinical at times

- The advertised kids club did not exist - it was essentially a playroom that you could take children to, but couldn't leave them with staff to supervise them, and no activities planned or available. Considering it was half term week in the UK (late May) - I hardly class this as 'out of season' - so if the kids club is important to you I suggest you look elsewhere. We were only planning to use it a little, and our children were a bit disappointed, as some kind of structured activities, especially in such wet weather would have been welcomed.

- The site is on quite a steep slope - we spent a lot of time carrying children, buggies and luggage up and down steps. Not great if you are of limited mobility or old or unfit?

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room if you can afford it, you will not be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CambsCountryGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed the overall resort including your family apartment.

In regards to the shuttle bus and boat service this time of year in July we do offer 8 various times per day to the old city as you are aware this is only 5 Euro per trip one way for the bus. In May we offer 5 to 6 trip per day at the same cost this is a 20 min trip on the bus each way so we try and keep the cost to a min of 10 Euro for a round trip ?

As you may be aware we have a total of six restaurants to choose from each priced at different levels and each to fit various budgets. from a sandwich shop from 5 Euro to a Pizza in our Italian restaurant from 10 Euro or our Steak restaurant a Sirloin 300 Gram for 20 Euro. I am happy to say that normally we do get great review on our Pizzas, I am sorry that your experience that day was not positive, I would like to point out that our prices do compare with other five star hotels in Dubrovnik for meals.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We are currently staying at the radisson and asked for an apartment with a a double and twin. The management failed to sort this and so we had a huge amount of trouble trying to sort out where our two children would sleep. In the end our son had to sleep on sofa bed that fills the living room and that we have to climb over to get to the kitchen.

Agree. With comments about food prices

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DRTqeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your feedback.

I have looked into the matter, I would like to apologies that we were unable upon check in to fill your request. As I have seen you had booked a two bedroom apartment with one King and a request for a twin for the children in the second room.
As you do know all of our apartments do come with an excellent sofa bed as well, sadly on your day of check in at 7 p.m we did not have a King and Twin available but a room with Two Kings. I was happy that my team were able to fix the problem by midday the following day with a King and Twin as requested, sadly we could not have move you that night as all rooms with that set up were occupied.

I do hope to welcome you back one day soon, if I can be of any assist pls drop me a direct line when you next book.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here about 3 weeks ago and had the most fantastic holiday. We booked through Jet2holidays and everything went very smoothly. As soon as we arrived at the hotel reception we were left speechless. The reception area is very modern with comfortable sofas which leads on to the Maruba bar, with the most breathtaking view over the sea.

Upon check in we were given a room upgrade to one right at the front of the hotel with a gorgeous sea view. A porter took our bags to the room while we got the lift (the lifts were very speedy, we never had to wait for one!) Our room was stunning and spacious with a balcony and a huge bathroom.

One of our favourite places to have a drink and they also do lovely lunches was Maruba on the reception floor. You can sit on the balcony overlooking the sea while enjoying a cocktail or two! The waitress here was fantastic, so friendly and couldn't do enough to help. I loved the ice coffee she made and she always remembered us each time we went back!

The hotel runs a shuttle bus in to Dubrovnik each day. Return for a couple costs around £14. This was a little pricey when you wanted to go in most days but is worth paying to stay at this fantastic resort. You can also get a local bus if you walk to the top of the road and walk right you will see the shelter. This comes around 5.45 on an evening and you can get back about 10 so slightly later as the last hotel bus is 9pm.

Dubrovnik old town is absolutely stunning, you will not be disappointed! We did the cable car and walked around the city walls which I can highly recommend. Do the walls around 4pm though as it gets really hot and hardly any shade. The view at the end is amazing!! I can recommend Oliva pizzeria in the old town which is down the narrow streets, as well as Oliva Gourmet - the staff are really friendly and welcoming here. Check out the Buza bars outside the city walls. There are 2 separate bars and we stumbled upon one by mistake but had to return. You can have a drink whilst watching the sun set on the sea directly in front of you.

We did a day trip to Montenegro which was excellent. We booked 'Montenegro Blue' through the hotel and really enjoyed it. The coast line and scenery is spectacular.

We ate at Tartufo twice in the hotel. The service was excellent and the food was good. It cost about £65 for a starter and main for 2 and a couple of drinks each.

The spa is free to use for all guests (treatments are extra) and is lovely with lots of different steam rooms a hydrotherapy pool and sunbathing loungers outside.

Breakfast is fantastic with everything on offer from smoked salmon to pancakes to a full English. You can sit outside on the veranda and take in the beautiful view of the sea while enjoying your food.

The main thing I would say about this hotel is that if you appreciate attention to detail then this is the place for you. Everything has been thoroughly thought out from the layout of each bar, to the staff training. This place runs like clockwork and every little aspect contributes to an amazing holiday.

Well done Radission Blu....we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dascha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and thank you for your excellent feedback.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our pools, spa and the service team in the overall resort. I will pass on your excellent comment of the resort to the team.

I do hope to welcome you back one day very soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,010 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range: $110 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing