We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go in October” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't go in October”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went to Radisson Blu on a Jet2 holiday for the October school break. Beautiful resort with fantastic accommodation and better than average sports facilities.
However in mid October the resort is closing up. Therefore only one of three outdoor pools open.
Sports hall not open in the morning and no bike hire available.
Biggest disappointment was that out of 13 advertised eating places on resort only 3 were open. Of these one closed at 7pm and one was an upmarket restaurant unsuitable for children. The remaining one was good but had a limited menu, again not geared up for children.
This meant frequent (daily) trips to Dubrovnik on hotel shuttle bus at a cost of £25 per return trip for 3!
The gripe is not with the resort but with Jet2 for selling a holiday "as per brochure and website" but not making clear that things would not be that way in October.
Go to the resort -it is lovely - but go earlier!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for your comments on the quality of the Hotel and services, we are in the future changing the opening hours of our sports center for the winter months.

I have meet with our kitchen team and we are preparing new kids menus for all areas, so that families will have a larger choice for dining.

On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon so that you can experience our various new services.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    517
    131
    33
    14
See reviews for
580
685
28
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there last october and didn't enjoy it a lot!
We stayed at the apart part and there was no heating system. Therefore, I think staying there in fall or winter is not a good idea!
In addition to that, the hotel was working with over capacity because we couldn't find a palce to sit at breakfast and we had to sit outside with the wind! There was always long lines and as soon as we reached the buffet that meal was already finished! The staff was friendly but not adequate so they couldn't help at all!
In short, I don't recommend to go there in off season! the hotel is not ready for it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic0letta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, I am sad to read about your negative experience during your stay in Oct.

I have looked into the heating issues as outlined; all apartments do have heating units with various controls panel in the dining area as well as bedrooms. I have arranged for all units to be re tested to ensure that all are working. In regards to breakfast we do offer both indoor and outdoor seating areas to all guests, at times I am sure that if the weather is bad then all guests may wish to sit inside and likewise if the weather is warm a large number of guests do use the outdoor seating areas.

I have met with our kitchen team to ensure that the replenishment on the buffet is improved.

On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon to see our changes and improvements and do apologies for your experiences.



Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night the way back from Hvar to Dubrovnik. The Hotel was fully booked but we got a time sharer appartment. A very spacious one bedroom suit.Perfectly clean,full kitchen with coffee maker,hugh tv.wonderful bathroom,two balcony for us.The hotel has about 4 pools,very big area,like a village not a hotel with shops around. Too bad we didn't have more time to explore.

Room Tip: Ocean view in the big hotel or apartment close to the hotel otherwise you need to walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for your comments on the apartment I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the large size of the room and equipment ie TV etc.

I do hope that you were able to take a look at all of our 4 pools and yes the views are amazing from each one.

On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon for at least a couple of days next time.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I just returned from this hotel and we had a wonderful time. We stayed in two bed room residence (sea view) from Oct 23 to 27. The apartment was spacious, clean and wonderfully equipped. The resort itself was in pristine condition, pools fantastic and service was impeccable. Our children (aged 5 and 7) particularly enjoyed the sports centre and the lovely pebbled beach. The on-site supermarket was low on stock but I expect this to be due to low season. Transfers to Dubrovnik take approx 25min and can be arranged via hotel. The pizza we ordered wasn't the best but did the job. Services in the bars was great. Spa facilities were good. I can this place being busy in the peak but we enjoyed it being at 1/3 capacity and thus enjoyed the quiet surroundings and easy access to staff.

Room Tip: As expected on a cliff there are many steps - check with resort if you have trouble walking. Sea fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, my team and I are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for your comments on our two bedroom rooms and the service to your children. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the excellent food during your stay.and as you outlined the " impeccable service"

On behalf of all team members, I hope to welcome you back one day very soon.

Regards

Mario Stanic
General Manager
mario.stanic@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went there for 5 days mini break to relax and enjoy well rated Spa.

Pros:
- Overall great design with lots of details
- All rooms have sea view
- Beautiful private beach
- Separated kids pool
- Market place within the resort ( grocery shop, brand stores…)
- Different restaurants ( also pizzeria )
- Friendly staff

Cons:
- At the arrival: Bellboy only on request
- Spa: too noisy, many things broken/not working ( two showers by the sauna area, rain showers, massage pool, part of the pool , one hot bed )
- Saunas: no control over the appropriate use of sauna/hamam area ( people not taking shower, not using towels in sauna, genera policy that one has to take sauna in swimming suit…)
- Room: few old hairs in the bathroom, frige not refilled every day, air conditioning – couldn’t be switched 4 times, loudspeakers in the bathroom not working properly
- Cleanliness in general not really great
- 5 days same breakfast repertoire plus refilling is poor

All in all great hotel but too many small irritating things mainly due to a bad maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domen737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington Cheshire.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

When I initially looked at this hotel I was put off by some of the reviews regarding the cost of taxis and also the cost of eating at the hotel. I solved the first one by renting a car and the second one still has me puzzled the food at the hotel was no more expensive than I would pay at my local pub and it's not anything special just good well cooked food. The hotel is simply sensational the staff are attentive and always ready to help. The food in all of the restaurants was wonderful and cooked to perfection. I can't really praise the resort too much. Only thing is you should go now, the rats, sorry, that should read, politicians, in Dubrovnik are intent on getting in to the EU and the Euro will soon become the currency so the cost of everything will soar when they join.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jmurphypsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Dubrovnik for 3 nights in August. We hired a car and drove from Split to Dubrovnik, having just stayed for 2 nights at the Radisson in Split - we'd had a wonderful stay at that hotel and therefore had really high expectations for this one.

Needless to say, this resort did not disappoint. There was a bit of a wait to check-in as the lobby was pretty busy, but the reception staff (on the whole) were extremely friendly and very helpful. The lady who checked us in took to explaining what facilities and amenities the resort has on offer, and we really were overwhelmed at how much there is! It's one of those resorts you could choose not to leave if you didn't want to - there are so many restaurants, a choice of pools, and amazing spa, the private beach, the list goes on..

We went to one of the hotel restaurants on our first evening as we arrived quite late - the food was good but the prices were very similar to what we were used to at home, which is a lot more than elsewhere in Croatia; but this was to be expected. The hotel is a little out of the way from Dubrovnik old town, maybe 20 minutes drive or so. They offer a minibus and boat service into Dubrovnik town for a fee, as we had a rental car we only used this service once, but it was excellent. The private beach is beautiful, really quiet and relaxing. And the beach and sea - just like everywhere else in Croatia it seems - is stunning.

The room was huge, modern, clean; had complimentary bottled water every day (even despite the sign reminding us that the tap water is drinkable), stunning view of the sea. The bathroom was also huge. Breakfast was also great, a huge selection and the area where breakfast was served had a beautiful view of the ocean (and ample seating inside).

Overall, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again if we returned to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RanjiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
4.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Property: Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing