We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views are magical, rooms are good, service is OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here as part of a big group and my views echo a lot of what folks say about this property. My room was fantastic, balcony facing out to sea, a great sight to wake up to. The beach nearby is a great place to be even in late evening. I found the staff on reception really helpful and any issues were solved very promptly.
It is a bit outside Dubrovnik - I guess a €25 euro cab ride
Look, breakfast is a bit of a free for all. There was never a problem getting a table so long as you didn't mind being inside or outside But they do cater for a lot of conferences and it can get busy around the buffets.
Also the bar can be a bit inflexible in the evening.

But sunset over the Adriatic makes a lot of things worthwhile.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imeacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely Hotel. We were favoured with good weather at the end of September and the sunset pool was gorgeous, lovely warm water and plenty of sunbeds. As others have said the rooms are very nice but a little smaller than I was expecting. Beds are comfy and the pillows are nice and squashy. There is free bottle of water provided in room every day and coffee and tea but for a 5 star hotel they really should provide fresh milk and not the vile dried up coffee creamers so we bought some milk in the little shop. Bath design is smart looking BUT terrible for water splashing everywhere. The shower leaves a flood every time ! Also if you ladies need a strong hairdryer take your own as the one provided is very slow. The place is very relaxed and tranquil apart from at breakfast time. The room is too small, too hot and too busy. The buffet breakfast is very nice if you can find a clean table to partake of it ! We were at hotel for 4 days and every day at breakfast was a big mess.
The grounds and pools are lovely. The staff are friendly without being grovelly and the Croatians seem to be lovely people overall. The hotel was immaculately clean as was Dubrovnik Old Town. The bus shuttle is quite fast and not really expensive and it leaves on time.
Restaurants in the hotel not cheap but pretty much the price you expect for this class of hotel. We had a meal at Cilantro, 1oyster starter, 2 fillet steaks ( perfectly cooked ) 1 dessert, 2 coffees, 1 coke, 2 glasses of wine cost was approx £90 GB. We also had a lunch at the Bakery, 1 pizza, 1 lasagna, 1 coke, 1 beer, Approx £30 GB One evening meal at the Butchers grill, 1 starter, 2 steaks ( yes we are boring ! ), 2 side dishes, 1 icecream, 1 coffee, 4 glasses of wine and 1 bottle of water approx £120 GB. The rest of the time we ate in Dubrovnik with varying success but most meals were okay.
Basically the Radisson Blu keeps it end of the bargain and it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chere0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
472167
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Place is mostly closed, nothing like it states on website, market place closed, pools only one open.
service is none existent, staff run off feet, and there attitude shows it,
Room very nice and modern and resort very clean, but it stops there,no atmosphere at all. Breakfast is a shambles, get your own Coffey its quicker, and food not that good either. replenishing room items looks like whet you get on day one your stuck with it
if you want something different to eat or even cheaper its a taxi to town (180kn)
first and last stay for me far better in town and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed stay at this hotel staff were friendly views were amazing . The location from dubrovinik required a bus or a taxi . The breakfast service in the morning could be improved staff were not very friendly but food selection was good. The front desk staff were very friendly and attentive I would stay at this hotel again .

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Radisson Blu for 6 nights end of September. The hotel is located out of Dubrovnik, so if you are wanting a sightseeing holiday this resort is not for you. It is perfect for a resort holiday and doing a few days trips into the old town etc. The hotel provides several ways of getting to the old town. At a cost of course.( our travel agent told is there was a free shuttle, this is not he case). The pools, restaurants, spa, rooms are all up to a high standard. ( please note if you book a standard room you are not guranteed a direct sea view, may be a garden view) I would advise you spend the extra and upgrade to a deluxe room, here you get a sea view. On the downside the one major thing that lets this hotel down is the service, particularly in the breakfast room. It is chaos! There is no organisation, there were guests setting there own tables as the staff we not working efficiently enough to clear and reset the tables. Also if you come a little later ( which I think is a right if you are on holiday) say an round 9.30 they stop refreshing the food. Breakfast is till 10.30 and should be refreshed accordingly until then. We ate at most of the restaurants that were open, some where closed due to the high season finishing. The staff here were also unattentive. I realise that the high season is over however that shouldn't stop a high level of customer service that should be delivered in a 5 star property such as the Radisson Blu. In conclusion, would I stay here again? Possibly, if I lower my expectations with regards to service.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We passed by this hotel hundred times and yesterday decided to sleep overnight there. I can not judge any of wellness facilities and so on, because we didn't use them, but the rest is just fine. Comfortable beds, modern and spacey rooms, efficient service, quite a breakfast. There 3 things we would like to point out for the management. 1. The music in the hallways is too loud. 2. It's a real mess in the breakfast restaurant. The number of waiters is not enough to keep the tables clean and prepare them for the coming guests. It's a huge line up for the eggs cook. 3. The restaurants close kitchen at 2230. Quite an early schedule for the resort. And the prices are little surprising. You can not charge 100 euro for a bottle of Croatian wine (20 euro in the store) and 9 pieces of cheese with olives. Thou the cheese was good. But in any case, that's a way better hotel than others in Dubrovnik in a range of 200 euros per night. Cao!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a world class resort. As recently as 1995 Croatia was involved in a war. It is absolutely amazing that the people at Radisson had the foresight to build a top notch hotel and villas at this location. We rented a two bedroom residence (condo) and found the service to be absolutely first class. Almost everyone speaks English so language is not a problem.

The views are spectacular and the property has three different pool settings plus a beach on the Adriatic. Dubrovnik is an easy drive, but if you want to avoid the challenges of finding a parking place, the hotel provides a ferry service several times a day.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with others a 2-3 br residence is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caymanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orasac
3.8 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
6.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,010 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,955 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Gardens Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Gardens Dubrovnik

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia (Formerly Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range: $110 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sun Gardens Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Gardens Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Sun Gardens Dubrovnik Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing