We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,309)
Filter reviews
2,309 results
Traveler rating
1,371
660
195
51
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
660
195
51
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports centrethe radisson bluclub roomadult poolpasta restaurantshuttle buskids clubsea viewsports facilitiesold townla pastabeautiful resortstar resortshuttle servicesun gardenthe main hoteltennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
1,661 - 1,666 of 2,309 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights the second week of April. We were staying on Carlson points but checking their online rates the rooms seem very reasonably priced for the facilities. It was a beautiful modern hotel/resort with great views of the Adriatic. They had quite a few business meetings going on so even though it was the off season for tourists the place was pretty busy. Most of the restaurants and pools were still closed. The beach was under construction.

I had booked just a a basic room and it turned out to exceed my expectations. The bathroom was huge. Although we did have difficulty climbing into and out of the bathtub, had to grab onto the towel bars to get in and out. We had a great view and the weather was pleasant so we left our sliding glass doors to the balcony open most of the time we were there. We did not have any noise issues due to the remote location.

We went to the spa gym for workouts a couple times during our stay and they had nice equipment. We did not use the other spa facilities, it was huge.

The breakfast was plentiful, probably the most food we saw for breakfasts during our trip to Croatia. We sat out on the patio outdoors every morning enjoying the view.

My big issue with the hotel and why I would not recommend this to tourists is the distance from Dubrovnik (12km - 15 min). That in itself was not the problem.. it was the cost of getting there. The hotel only had a car service. We stayed four nights and had to spend $45 US each way to get to town and more to get to the airport. So the total on car transportation for our stay was about $400... almost the same amount as the cost of the room. The room was $140 US per night.

We also had issues with the car service. Having to wait an hour for pickup and one time getting stranded in Dubrovnik because the staff member forgot the phone in a desk.

We could have rented a car.. it would have been much less money but driving in a foreign country does not interest me.

All in all the facilities were very nice, lots of pools, oceans and views. But if you intend to be visiting Dubrovnik often I would not stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bullyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thanks for the feedback on your stay - as it is always invaluable for us in terms of making our guests' stays what they should be. Whilst our location (9km outside Dubrovnik) and diverse offer of facilities and amenities provides us with many advantages over the city hotels, it perhaps isn't the most convenient location for those wishing to go into town every day. Because of this (and, more importantly, feedback from our guests) we have introduced a bi-hourly shuttle bus service that takes you to the doorstep of the Old Town for $10 return - which is the about same price as using local public transport but far superior in terms of convenience and comfort. Also, one way luxury airport transfers cost $60 (for up to 3 persons) or $80 (for up to 7 persons) which is very competitive when compared to a standard taxi service into the hotel district in Dubrovnik itself - again with higher levels of comfort and service.
Now that you've seen Dubrovnik, we hope that during your next visit we can have the pleasure of hosting you again, and you can have the pleasure of indulging in all that our resort has to offer.

With best wishes,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The hotel is modern and beautiful, with a perfect choice of food for breakfast and amazing sea view you can enjoy even from the shower in your room. Note that to get to the historic sites or nightlife of Dubrovnik you'll need some vehicle - there is no way you can walk that far. We stayed at the hotel out of the season, and traffic was not a problem, but it might be a different story in summer, I guess. For the 6 of us (my boyfriend's parents and 2 couples of around 30), this was the best hotel out the the 3 we stayed at in Croatia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our team is particularly pleased that our collective efforts have resulted in another enjoyable and memorable stay with us. We trust that you were able to take advantage of our bi-hourly shuttle bus service which takes you to the Old Town (for €8 return - i.e. same cost as local public transport) or our luxury transfer service (e.g. mini-van for €51 return for up to 7 persons) . Luckily for us, the trip into town takes pretty much the same amount of time all year round, and it is in fact the city hotels that notice the extra traffic in summer. We look forward to hosting you again!

With our best wishes,
Zdenko Leko

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

This resort is brand new and has it all : spacious rooms with a stunning sea view, huge balcony, all comfort, large spa and relaxation area,...
However, the hotel is far from everything, and eating inside of the resort can become quite pricey quite fast.
It is a 20min drive from the old city of Dubrovnik, so if you do not have your own transport, you might look into other alternatives. We asked if they had an airport shuttle service (about 40km), but they asked 50 euro PER PERSON...so would not recommend that unless you are willing to spend the money of course.
Plenty of parking outside, but it seems they were setting up infrastructure to make the access limited (or paying).
Several pools, but did not use beach facilities (or outside pools) because it was still too cold.
Would give it 5 stars recommendation if it wouldn't be such an isolated place...
This is definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in (and I spend a lot of time in hotels for my work).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are extremely pleased that someone with your knowledge of hotels regards our property highly, and that overall you had a very pleasant stay with us.

I must apologise for the obvious misunderstanding with regards to the airport transfers - our on-site partner who does the transfers has a standard total charge for airport transfers - €41 for a limousine (up to 3 persons) or €55 for a minibus (up to 7 persons). These prices are noticeably less than a standard taxi charge, whilst at the same time the level of service and comfort is far superior with our transfers.

Equally, because of distance from Dubrovnik centre (9km) we have a bi-hourly shuttle bus service that takes you right to the doorstep of the Old Town for €8 return (which is the same price as taking local public transport - but again far superior in comfort and service). And as with our transportation, we are very competitive in our food and beverage pricing when the same standard of quality, creativity and service is being compared.

We trust that your work in hotels will bring you our way again in the near future so that you can enjoy all of the facilities that the weather didn't allow you to take advantage of this time around.

Kind regards,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here in the low season which meant that we had pretty much the hotel to ourselves! This was definitely a plus as the spa facilities became our own, relaxing in the hydrotherapy pool, steam rooms.......
Whilst the restaurant was quiet which wouldn't suit everyone, the service and staff were excellent. The location is slightly out of town which suited us, concierge staff were happy to arrange a car to take you to and from town and a reasonable price. There is a bus service too but we didn't make use of it.
This is a hotel with fabulous facilities and it was easy to see how good it would be in the summer months with several pools and restaurants that would then be open. We want to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank han76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2011

Dear Guest,

We would really love to see you back ! We are particularly pleased that you took advantage of 'having the resort to yourselves' and enjoyed many of our facilities. In future we plan to have more of our facilities open longer in the year so that you can have the best of both worlds - having an even greater choice of things to do and places to dine or enjoy a casual drink whilst feeling like you're in you own private corner of paradise.

Best wishes,
Zdenko Leko.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We traveled in the low season and as a result many of the outside amenities were not available - however that was reflected in the super deal we got for a beautiful large one bedroom apartment (with seaview) including a good buffet breakfast.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I can't praise the service enough. I needed a bicycle inner tube as mine and exploded, one evening I asked at reception where I could buy a replacement as I couldn't find a bike shop - the next morning there was one waiting for me!

The available facilities were extremely good quality and well maintained, as was the whole hotel - my wife and children enjoyed the indoor pool a lot.....and there's a lovely playground for younger children.

We are certainly considering visiting again later in the year when the weather is better and we can experience all the facilities the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hewittd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadBluDub, General Manager at Sun Gardens Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2011

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your time at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens with us all. We are delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable and trust that the experience will be even better the next time you visit us. Thank you also for recognising the efforts of our team who always try to surprise and delight guests as part of our "Yes I Can" approach to service.

We are working very hard on having as many of our amenities and facilites also open in the low season in future so that they can be enjoyed wheatever time of year life brings you our way.

Warmest regards,
Zdenko Leko
Executive Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews