We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding winter cycling, breathtaking trails”

Wheelie Cyprus - Day Tours
Ranked #26 of 65 Tours in Paphos District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided and self guided cycling and walking holidays, quality mountain bike and race bike hire (with optional GPS hire if required) and guided cycling and hiking day tours for all abilities.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding winter cycling, breathtaking trails”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent 5 days at the end of January cycling in the Akamas - dry, mild and some lovely sunshine too - only got wet once - 30 minutes at the end of a ride. Hired bikes and GPS from Helen and Alistair which were in excellent condition and delivered to the hotel on the first morning. All equipment provided was top notch. Support was there when needed we had a broken chain which was replaced and delivered to the hotel the day it broke. Helen advised prior to the trip that a hire car would be perfect for transporting the bikes as we had chosen accommodation outside of Polis. (Akamas Health Farm and Spa). This was an excellent tip (we got a big car and took front wheels off bikes) and allowed us to explore more of this beautiful area by ourselves. One day we would be in deserted Turkish villages, the next in citrus groves and yet another day right on the beach on the Akamas peninsula. The GPS was pre programmed with routes from 25 - 40k of varying degrees of difficulty - easy to use and 100% reliable. Trails are challenging but all varied and mostly forest roads. Plenty of climbs, beautiful scenery from the top of the mountains and some lovely descents. Never saw anyone else on a bike all week - would recommend Cyprus and Helen and Alistair as an excellent escape from the cold wet winter mountain biking here in the UK. Highly Recemmended

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue630654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSmeaton, Owner at Wheelie Cyprus - Day Tours, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your winter cycling break and thanks for being our first clients to try out our new GPS units that we will be using on our self guided cycling holidays. We didn't have the route guide notes ready at the time, but in future, when you hire a GPS with your hire bike, we provide a printed route guide with Google map extract and elevation profile, so you know exactly what to expect from each route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great week on the bike, fun in the sun!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent a week cycling from their beautiful home above Polis. Helen and Alistair were the perfect hosts, their pets our entertainment! Food was delicious and healthy, breakfasts were taken outdoors with a panorama to enjoy whilst eating fresh fruit and home made delicacies. Packed lunches were also nutritious and delicious, Helen's fruit and nut flapjack is a winner!
The rooms are all en-suite comfortable, clean and five star.
The rides were all well researched, well led and the other guests (our week anyway) were a joy to cycle with. The routes are stunningly scenic, with amazing views, a full 360 degrees on one ride! Helen and Alistair were patient, well informed and kept the group together while being aware of differing fitness levels and abilities.
The trails were well maintained, mainly gravel, not exactly super challenging but ideal for a mixed ability group as we were.
We took our own bikes, and transfers were no problem but their hire fleet are all top notch new Trek bikes, better than my bike almost!
We had a wonderful week, I hope we can go again.... SOON!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTaylor45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant service!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have only good things to say. We just rented bikes for the day to do a 4 hr solo ride. The bikes were good quality and maintained well, the price was great, they provided all the kit we needed (map, helmets, water bottles, tools etc), they took time to chat with us and explain the route, they picked us up at Latchi so we didn't have to cycle back up the mountain at the end of our ride. I highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nftygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Walking in the Akamas”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just back from a week with Al and Helen, walking through the area around their beautifully sited elevated house just outside Polis. Late October weather was good, bar one hour 's torrential downpour, so we completed five guided walks of great variety in the week, as well as visiting Paphos to see the mosaics, and having a final day's short walk and swim in the Med. Excellent programme, with splendid (and very healthy) breakfasts beforehand and lunches en route. We got to know so much more about the area and recent politics of the island than if we had self guided. Very comfortable accommodation with fantastic views and extremely welcoming hosts, even their dogs were too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank smithsstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic first experience on Cyprus”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a one week walking holiday in Cyprus with Wheelie Cyprus. The name is somewhat misleading as they do both walking and biking trips. You can either stay with the owners, Al and Helen Smeaton, or take an hotel room in Polis. The advantage of the hotel room is that you are in a town.

The advantages of staying with Al and Helen are too numerous to list, but here are a few:
you get to stay in their amazing house 2 miles outside of Polis with an incredible view over Polis to the sea, the wonderful breakfasts and lunches turned out by Helen, the swimming pool, the patio on the roof, large comfortable ensuite double bedrooms and getting to spend time with Al and Helen who are extremely nice, and very knowledgeable about Cyprus. Also, they loan you their car to go into town for your evening meal.

The walks were well chosen and took into account our level of fitness. The walk up the Akamas
Gorge was the highlight for us, but the others walks were interesting and varied.

Overall this was an excellent introduction to Cyprus for my wife and I and the friends we travelled with.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelie Cyprus - Day Tours also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to Wheelie Cyprus - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing