We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW: What a lovely and refreshing stay”
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lukenya Getaway
Ranked #1 of 9 Athi River B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Turn off Mobasa road and are greated by giraffes,zebras,wildebeests,gazelles roaming freely along the well maintained rough road to the hotel. A true wilderness. Getting into the hotel, you get into a calm and serene enviroment with beautifully manicured lawns and trees turning the hotel compound into an evergreen area. The reception was wonderfull with a welcome glass of fresh juice as you complete the booking details before being escorted to the rooms. The rooms for all in our group were spacious clean and meticulously furnished. Beds were large and comfortable for a good refreshing sleep.
The Service team was very pleasant and professional, always ready to assist. The meals were of very high quality and variety not to mention the dessert which always had something wonderful. We enjoyed every bit of the foods.
The conference facility for our use was well set after every sitting. The grounds patched with swings and playgrounds is all you need for bonding and team building. The swimming pool was very enticing thou we ran out of time before we could get in.
Overall, a quiet, refreshing, peaceful, safe and very relaxing stay were you get value for money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewKiragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hongky_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Lukenya Getaway. Our organization brought a team of 23 people and worked in the Nairobi slums during the day. Lukenya was so refreshing to come back to. They have a wonderful pool and excellent staff. Someone on our team got sick (from the hot weather) and they moved her to a new room and got her special food for the day at no extra cost. They were so friendly. Everyday we came back to the hotel we saw giraffe, zebras and gazelles roaming free along the roads and in the nearby fields. The beds were comfortable, our room did not have air- conditioning but we opened the windows and tucked in our mosquito nets and sleep like a baby (and woke up to beautiful birds singing). They have cold water, soda and drinks available for a reasonable price and I loved the wonderful breakfast every morning (I liked lunch and dinner too). It's close enough to Nairobi (45 minutes by van) and you get fresh air instead of the polluted air of Nairobi and it so quiet and relaxing. All in all it is a comfortable and safe place to stay, I recommend spending a little extra money and getting a larger room. I loved the food (and I'm picky) and there was always something wonderful for dessert. I have been to Africa many times and this is like an oasis in the desert without losing the Kenyan culture.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It's a long way from Nairobi and anything else so be sure you are happy just staying on site! Good place for a work retreat or workshop where you want to spend the whole time together. I have been here 3 times for international work conferences and it's a lovely location, nice rooms spread across the grounds - lots of greenery and flowers. Good size meeting rooms, friendly staff and food was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This facility is located away from all the noisy inconveniences like traffic and crowds. Natural environment and perfect for a quiet weekend away. Truly a "gateaway"
Worth visiting again! And again!

Room Tip: The cottages are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabaZedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Have been here twice in as many years for workshops. The rooms are basic but check most boxes. Everything is quite clean. There seems to be recurring issues with the shower heads, but it was manageable. There are lots of mosquitoes - but the rooms have mosquito nets and repellents plugged into the wall (two per room would be better). Mattresses are hard but I slept quite well as it is so peaceful at night!

Conference facilities are basic but they do the job. One major issue is the wireless internet - these days it really should be a standard feature of any decent accommodation, even in Kenya, but there is almost no useful connectivity at Lukenya. For conferences and workshops, expect to be offline most of the time.

I'm not sure why other reviewers are complaining about the food - I found it to be very fresh, with varied dishes and the service in the dining room is excellent. Compared to hotel food (even in the Western world), the Lukenya food was great.

It really is in a 'getaway' location - so much so that there really isn't much to do nearby the compound. You can see giraffes, zebras, and other animals without going too far down the road, and sometimes even from strategic locations inside the compound itself. Lukenya have started adding some spaces for recreation - e.g. snooker table, basketball court, gazebos in the garden, etc. The bar is 'dry' so it is a bit pointless - but still a nice place to sit by the pool (well-covered in mosquito repellent).

Customer service was excellent and I would highly recommend Lukenya as a business retreat or workshop option outside of Nairobi.

Room Tip: The 'getaway suites' are larger and more private than the rooms in the larger buildings. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvankooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for a few days for a workshop. The hotel is located rather isolated. The conference facilites are good, though internet was rather slow (but it worked). There is no alcohol served in this place and for that you need to walk to a nice bar, some 10 mins away from the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it for tourism purposes, but for a conference it's rather good. The great advantage is that straight from the airport you do not need to get into the horrible traffic of Nairobi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athi River
11.7 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 168 in Nairobi
135 reviews
20.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
16.2 mi away
Gelian Hotel Machakos
Gelian Hotel Machakos
#1 of 4 in Machakos
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
#1 of 3 in Athi River
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenpark Sundowner
Greenpark Sundowner
#2 of 9 in Athi River
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zeroes Resort
Zeroes Resort
#3 of 18 in Machakos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Address: Athi River 00202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Price Range: $73 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lukenya Getaway 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing