We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lukenya Getaway
Nearby Hotels
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Last Village(Athi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Albans Hotel(Athi River)
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Alma Hotel LTD(Athi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
19
26
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
26
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolteam buildingmosquito netfood was greatservice teamquiet placeno alcoholnairobi cityconferenceworkshopmeetinginternetgroundsaccommodationmealsgazellesroad
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 52 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hongky_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Lukenya Getaway. Our organization brought a team of 23 people and worked in the Nairobi slums during the day. Lukenya was so refreshing to come back to. They have a wonderful pool and excellent staff. Someone on our team got sick (from the hot weather) and they moved her to a new room and got her special food for the day at no extra cost. They were so friendly. Everyday we came back to the hotel we saw giraffe, zebras and gazelles roaming free along the roads and in the nearby fields. The beds were comfortable, our room did not have air- conditioning but we opened the windows and tucked in our mosquito nets and sleep like a baby (and woke up to beautiful birds singing). They have cold water, soda and drinks available for a reasonable price and I loved the wonderful breakfast every morning (I liked lunch and dinner too). It's close enough to Nairobi (45 minutes by van) and you get fresh air instead of the polluted air of Nairobi and it so quiet and relaxing. All in all it is a comfortable and safe place to stay, I recommend spending a little extra money and getting a larger room. I loved the food (and I'm picky) and there was always something wonderful for dessert. I have been to Africa many times and this is like an oasis in the desert without losing the Kenyan culture.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It's a long way from Nairobi and anything else so be sure you are happy just staying on site! Good place for a work retreat or workshop where you want to spend the whole time together. I have been here 3 times for international work conferences and it's a lovely location, nice rooms spread across the grounds - lots of greenery and flowers. Good size meeting rooms, friendly staff and food was good too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This facility is located away from all the noisy inconveniences like traffic and crowds. Natural environment and perfect for a quiet weekend away. Truly a "gateaway"
Worth visiting again! And again!

Room Tip: The cottages are superb!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BabaZedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Have been here twice in as many years for workshops. The rooms are basic but check most boxes. Everything is quite clean. There seems to be recurring issues with the shower heads, but it was manageable. There are lots of mosquitoes - but the rooms have mosquito nets and repellents plugged into the wall (two per room would be better). Mattresses are hard but I slept quite well as it is so peaceful at night!

Conference facilities are basic but they do the job. One major issue is the wireless internet - these days it really should be a standard feature of any decent accommodation, even in Kenya, but there is almost no useful connectivity at Lukenya. For conferences and workshops, expect to be offline most of the time.

I'm not sure why other reviewers are complaining about the food - I found it to be very fresh, with varied dishes and the service in the dining room is excellent. Compared to hotel food (even in the Western world), the Lukenya food was great.

It really is in a 'getaway' location - so much so that there really isn't much to do nearby the compound. You can see giraffes, zebras, and other animals without going too far down the road, and sometimes even from strategic locations inside the compound itself. Lukenya have started adding some spaces for recreation - e.g. snooker table, basketball court, gazebos in the garden, etc. The bar is 'dry' so it is a bit pointless - but still a nice place to sit by the pool (well-covered in mosquito repellent).

Customer service was excellent and I would highly recommend Lukenya as a business retreat or workshop option outside of Nairobi.

Room Tip: The 'getaway suites' are larger and more private than the rooms in the larger buildings. Check the shower head before you unpack your things...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvankooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews