We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a conference”
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lukenya Getaway
Ranked #1 of 9 Athi River B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for a few days for a workshop. The hotel is located rather isolated. The conference facilites are good, though internet was rather slow (but it worked). There is no alcohol served in this place and for that you need to walk to a nice bar, some 10 mins away from the hotel. I wouldn't recommend it for tourism purposes, but for a conference it's rather good. The great advantage is that straight from the airport you do not need to get into the horrible traffic of Nairobi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2010

I was excited about my first trip to Africa. I had planned it months in advance. But upon arriving at this hotel, I was horrified. The rooms looked liked a scene from " Dracula ", and with all the mosquitoes there, it may as well have been. This hotel advertises having airconditioning, and a bar, and its supposed to be 10 miles from the airport. No such luck, you will be lucky if its 80 miles from the airport. No internet, no phones, even if you have a cell phone, it won't work, because you in the jungle. This hotel is only good if you have no where else to go, but personally, I'd rather sleep in the airport, than sleep there. I like trip advisor because, perhaps you can save someone having a ruined trip, like you did. People, please save yourself a headache, stay somewhere in town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bobcat2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I was in Kenya attending a business conference at this resort about 30 minutes drive from Kenyatta Airport, on the way to Mombasa. Nestled at the foot of Lukenya Hills, right at the Athi River plain..

The hotel has a large estate with a few blocks and some cottages in the shape of Maasai tent. Check in was swift. The room was very spacious, though the bathroom was a bit small and washbasin tended to overflow. The rooms has TV, balcony that overlooks nice garden and the plain beyond. It was comfortable.

The hotel swimming pool that overlook the Athi Plains. It was possible to see giraffes roaming the wlderness from the swimming pool or from the conference rooms. At the back of hotel, there were some lookup towers and a nice garden. One can see different types of birds such as the sacred iblis, storks, lesser kestrels etc. A good time to do so is early in the morning.

I spent a few afternoon roaming around the Athi plains-- the hotel provided a free guide. There are plenty of giraffes, wildebeest, and antelopes to see, 10 minutes walk away from the hotel.

There is a resaturant and a poolside bar. However, I was not delighted with the food. The hotel did arrange for us a BBQ dinner way out in the plain accompanied by logfire and the Maasai dance -- that was memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anpijola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simsisimsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athi River
8.1 mi away
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
Galaxy Resort Kitengela
#1 of 3 in Athi River
3 reviews
0 mi away
Greenpark Sundowner
Greenpark Sundowner
#2 of 9 in Athi River
3 reviews
10.7 mi away
Maanzoni Lodge
Maanzoni Lodge
#2 of 16 in Machakos
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Resort - Kitengela
0 mi away
The White Resort Athi River
The White Resort Athi River
#3 of 9 in Athi River
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Address: Athi River 00202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Price Range: $56 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lukenya Getaway 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing