We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Dutch go Irish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Stephen's Green Publick House

St. Stephen's Green Publick House
Reserve with OpenTable
St. Stephen's Green Publick House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Dutch go Irish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our second visit to St. Stephen's and it will hopefully not be our last. The menu has quite a few unique items (at least by our PA Dutch standards) but we have enjoyed everything we have tried so far. And everyone in our party of six agrees with that. The atmosphere is very nice with the exception of the acoustics which tend to be a little loud. But then it is a pub atmosphere, right. It's not on the beach, but well worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friday night dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Reasonably priced food, our group of 8 ordered 8 very varied dishes, ranging from the broiled seafood platter to the shepherd's pie, and everyone was happy with their food and the service. We'd been warned that it can be too loud for conversation, but we left before the music was scheduled to start at 9:00 and found the noise levels fine for most of the time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyePort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our wait person, Donna, was professional, friendly, attentive and understanding. The Blue Point Oysters were perfect. I had the railbenber, blarney steak sandwich, fresh roasted turkey sandwiches, chicken and ham soup, boxty potato pancakes, baked brie with fruit, sweet potato fries, kettle chips and broccoli. All were done to near perfection, fresh and nicely seasoned.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“If you like Irish music, this is the place for you!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

After the movies, two friends and I stopped in for dinner and were lucky to arrive before the entertainment - live musicians - began to perform at 7 p.m., or seating would have been difficult because the place was packed. And I am talking about a Tuesday night! Of course, this is summer at the Shore, so you expect crowds. We timed it right, were seated immediately, and had pretty good service throughout the meal, despite how busy the restaurant got. Our food was delicious and prepared precisely as requested; one friend wanted her sliced steak sandwich rare, and she was quite satisfied. My hamburger was juicy and full- bodied, while my other friend raved about her lobster mac dinner. Excellent choices all around! The only complaint we had as a group was that the acoustics were problematic because, with the musicians performing in the other room - even though we were separated by a partition - it was difficult hearing each other speak. I have eaten there on other occasions when there was no entertainment and the sound problem was not an issue. They have a varied menu and the food is definitely worth the wait if they are busy. The Irish pub ambiance adds to the fun. We used a coupon from Restaurant.com, so that made the dinner even better as we saved money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had dinner here on a busy 4th of July weekend! The restaurant will text you when your table is ready which is a great feature! Despite the wait (which was much shorter than they anticipated) and the crowd on a Saturday, the service was great as was the food! I had a delicious Ribs special and my husband had Shepards Pie, both great! Restaurant is not huge so it definately gets crowded fast but they managed the crowds well!
Hope to be back for more ribs!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Stephen's Green Publick House also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Sea Girt, Jersey Shore
 

Been to St. Stephen's Green Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing