We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in every way”
other travelers have booked this property
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
11 x 5 m private swimming pool La Maison du Gardien in late summer in its natural setting...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Traditional stone cottage with 'Lauze' roof
11 x 5 m private swimming pool
La Maison du Gardien in late summer in its natural setting...
and in June with the roses in bloom over lauze arched gateway
Relaxing by the pool under the hot summer sun
Light, sunny living room
With traditional stone fireplace
With comfortable sitting area
Lovely handmade fully fitted kitchen
...with  all mod cons
The dining area
master bedroom with bookcase of books...
and antique bedroom furniture
Single bedroom with lots of storage space and more books!
First floor shower room
Shower in first floor bathroom
Ground floor shower room and utility with washing machine
Land and gardens around the cottage
Views to the west
Montignac-Lascaux
Tourists sampling the wares at the Monday evening market in Montignac's main square
The Château de Losse, one of 3 in our village
One of the stunning paintings on the walls of Lascaux cave
The delightful café 'Le déjeuner sur l'herbe' on the banks of the Vézère in St Léon
St Léon-sur-Vézère
The pool in the setting sun
Outdoor dining...
amid fragrant blooms
Dive into the blue...
Charming access from the pool to the cottage
Summer blossom
La Maison du gardien in bloom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Thonac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
denbydale...
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We found the holy trinity of travel in our first trip to the Dordogne in as much as our stay provided the perfect property, superb hosts and a wonderful location.

Caterina & Stephen have renovated the property wonderfully by melding traditional Dordogne architure with contemporary interior design that maintains the character of the property but also provides modern comforts. The 4 star rating is well deserved.

As hosts, they balance perfectly their availability to provide advice and support with privacy for guests when appropriate. You will simply not meet friendlier hosts with supplementary affection provided Buffy the dog, aka 'the Buffster' (once Caterina & Stephen have established you're comfortable with canine company).

The location of the cottage combines a secluded rural position with easy access (5 minutes walk) to Thonac's 2 restaurants, shop and hotel bar. Similarly the main road through Thonac takes you through the picturesque Vezere valley with Montignac & our favourite Saint Leon only a few minutes drive. Mediaeval Sarlat, Beynac and Domme are slightly further afield but still an easy journey.

Caves to canoeing, troglodytes to trekking and food & drink aplenty are all easily accessible from Thonac and you really can make any sort of holiday from this property. C'est magnifique!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. You were absolutely perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. You were lovely guests nd we would welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
684sarahd...
2 reviews
“Adorable house, perfect hosts, in a beautiful and fascinating area”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved every moment of our stay. The cottage is pretty but so well appointed; super-clean, well equipped and charming. The pool and gardens are private and delightful. Catarina and Stephen are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble and they are just so friendly. This property is a jewel, and the villages and ancient sites of the Vezere Valley make this a stunning trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A truly excellent cottage and fabulous hosts”
Reviewed July 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our first ever holiday rental and it has set the bar very high indeed.

From the moment we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome by our hosts (Katerina and Stephen) to the time we departed with the same warmth and friendliness still on display we could not have wanted a better start to our extended holiday.

The cottage is very well appointed and is a perfect size for a couple. It had all the facilities one would hope to find to make our two weeks very much a 'home from home' sensation and provided space for the two of us to move around comfortably. The pool is also excellent and reflects the great care our hosts took in ensuring everything was perfectly presented.

The location - in the Vezere valley - is ideal for visiting the numerous attractions of the area. Pre historic caves, stalagmite and stalactite caves, fortified houses, gorgeous chateaux and so many utterly charming villages.

We even ventured into a canoe for a 12km cruise down the Vezere which allowed us to see the valley from a different perspective.

Although we love visiting different places there is a high probability of us coming back again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review and we would love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol B
2 reviews
“Perfect relaxation, perfect peace, perfect comfort.”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our second stay the cottage and it certainly not be our last.
Caterina and Steven are perfect host who were wonderful company when the time was appropriate but gave us full privacy at all other time.To be honest, they were both like "good neighbours" and made us feel as if we were at home.
We could speak too highly of the region, the cottage or of Cat and Steve.
Thanks for a lovely week.
Carol and Rob.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Wonderful guests whom we would be happy to have stay again any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatRascal
Cotswolds
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway in the Dordogne”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This beautiful, secluded cottage is in the grounds of a historic house, both of which have been painstakingly restored by our hosts, Caterina and Steve. It contains all you could need for a self-catering holiday, although there is an excellent local restaurant in the village, only five minutes walk away, and others in local villages. The large private swimming pool is an added bonus.

We used this as the base for a week's exploration of the Dordogne. Thonac is plum in the middle of the historic / pre-historic area of the Dordogne; the caves of Lascaux, famous for the pre-historic cave paintings, are just down the road, and there are numerous ancient cave settlements nearby. A little further away, you can visit the castle at Castelnaud and its fascinating collection of ancient weaponry. We also ventured as far afield as Perigueux and Rocamadour, carrying out an in-depth investigation of the local cuisine as we went.

To cap it all, Caterina and Steve are wonderful welcoming hosts, more than happy to chat about the history of the property and potential outings in the local area, and keen to make sure their guests have everything they need.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing