We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but with redeeming features”
Review of Le Thot

Le Thot
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Thonac
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I agree with a previous reviewer that the attraction is a little run down and that poor old mammoth desperately needs a session with Gok Wan. However, the gallery is perfectly acceptable and educational, although an understanding of French would be helpful. I think we were lucky in that the weather was cool and so the live animals in the outside paddocks were awake and active, particularly the Alpine goats with their incredible horns doing their impersonation of crash-dummies. How those big males manage to hold their heads up beats me. The prehistoric looking horse was also very interesting. The "aurochs" - reconstituted through selective breeding from modern breeds including Scottish Highland cattle, were also impressive although obviously not quite as massive as their extinct predecessors. (Perhaps the reviewer who found Le Thot a big disappointment needed to stop and look a little more closely.) Yes, the attraction could and should be improved but there is still plenty there to satisfy those with a modicum of curiosity and I don't begrudge paying the extra on top of my visit to Lascaux II.

1  Thank photochromatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Le Thot, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing your opinion after your visit at Le Thot. This site offers complementarity to Lascaux II. We wish you a pleasant stay in Dordogne, feel free to contact us and discover Les Grands Sites du Périgord !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 350 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were on our way to buy tickets for Lascaux II when we saw signs to Le Thot and decided to turn off and visit. The woman selling tickets was incredibly helpful ... Asked us if we were going to Lascaux as well, rang up and booked us an English tour, gave us restaurant recommendations and then told us a bit about what we would see. They have some reproductions that you don't see at Lascaux II with some videos that go into a lot of detail about how they were painted ... In French only but if you are interested in the technique you can still pick things up. Once we got to the place in town where you buy tickets to Lascaux II we were really glad that we didn't have the hassle of waiting in line.

2  Thank SusieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Le Thot, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for giving us your opinion. We are glad you have been well informed. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Périgord !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had visited this attraction with our daughters many years ago and they found it to be quite interesting so they wished to take their children there whilst in the region. Thank goodness we bought the dual ticket for Lascaux II (which was every bit as interesting as I remembered) and Le Thot. I'd have been very loath to have paid full price as it appears to have become really run down. When we arrived the place looked deserted but we put that down to it being quite late in the day and out of main season. On entering the very nice reception area we were sent down into the tiny museum which took all of five minutes to see the same things we'd just seen at Lascaux II. We then went out into the park itself which now appears to consist of a single pathway around a fenced field with a couple of deer, a couple of bison and the same model of a mammoth which was there in 1995 and was now very decrepit looking. Only then it used to move. It took us all of twenty minutes to get round and that was only because we let our 2yr old grandson walk round! It certainly wasn't worth the drive up to it. Very disappointing.

2  Thank Leonieruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Le Thot, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for this comment. We are sorry to see your disappointment. In order to diversify the offer in Le Thot we have recently create some activities and workshops. Some efforts are being made to improve our services. Thank you again and feel free to contact us for more information about all of our cultural sites: Les Grands Sites du Périgord.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We combined this trip with going to the Lascaux II reproduction cave. In Thot you see a few more reproduction artistic interpretations of what is in the original Lascaux cave, which is no longer open to the public. It was good to see special live animals that today are examples of what might have been around in prehistory. The two enormous donkeys were amazing sights.

1  Thank CarrieandTeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semitour, Directeur général at Le Thot, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for this comment ! Enjoy your stay in Périgord with Les Grands Sites du Périgord !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

After all the hype this was a bit of a let-down.
facilities at the site are very poor, tickets must be purchased in the town a few Kilometers away but you would need to be blind to miss all the warning signs to this effect on the way to the cave.

The visit is not of the caves themselves but of a replica, no problem there as the replica is very good, everyone should visit Lascaux or one of the many simmilar less crowded and hyped up sites around the Dordogne at least once. When we visited there were three major problems with our visit.
1. The groups are much too large and it is impossible to view the caves properly, as you are delayed behind the previous group and pushed by the next group.
2. There were a number of babies and young children in the group who didn't want to be there and weren't properly controlled by their parents, making it impossible to hear the commentary.
3. The guide's English when you did manage to hear over the comotion was very poor and hard to understand, when asked questions she didn't understand what she was being asked, on multiple occasions my daughter had to translate to and from what she said for other visitors. I would have sneaked back to the next group with a French commentary but didn't want to abandon my wife who does not speak French.

If you plan on driving from the Lot or Dordogne to this site don't bother, this was the first to be discovered and the largest site of this kind but the other sites are as good but with better facilities. The guides we met also spoke much better English, this applies not only to English speakers, as most Spaniards and many other nationalities seem to go for the English commentary when their language is not available.

Oh and we went there on a rainy day in June (a slow day) and had to wait for three hours for our 20mn tour to start.

Thank R129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Thot also viewed

 

Been to Le Thot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing