We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable, clean & friendly”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed for a week for business and this hotel made me feel at home. The room I stayed in was comfortable, especially the bed which made for a great night's sleep! The staff are helpful and friendly. I also ate in the restaurant a few times and never had an issue with the food as it was always delicious. Overall, I would return here whenever business calls me away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jigglemein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayMonash, Manager at Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. We hope to have the pleasure of your comapny again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
9
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Clean, top knotch room, spa one of the best, parking,

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criptolote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayMonash, Manager at Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Arriving in Melbourne on a freezing winter's evening it was very comforting to check into a clean and comfortable hotel where the "Heat" button meant instant warm air filled the room.
Like another reviewer, I was surprised to find the cosy boutique look of the reception area led onto a standard motel format line of doors behind the main building, but the room and bathroom were well laid-out, super clean and comfortable.
The big disappointment was the food. As I arrived around 7 pm I was pleased to see the "restaurant open" billboard standing outside on the footpath, however at reception I was told the restaurant was closed. They did however offer quite a good snack menu as room service, so I didn't have to venture back outside to hunt for a restaurant.
The buffet breakfast next morning was far below the standard of comparable breakfasts in other hotels - limited choice of cereals, no croissants or pastries, and the four types of bread - white, wholemeal, grains, fruit - looked quite uninspiring. I tried the fruit bread and it had a strange carboard-type flavour as though it had been stored in a cardboard container.... not nice at all.
I had a similar bad experience with the coffee - so ok I'm a coffee snob but although my latte looked really good, it tasted dreadful. I then discovered it was brewed coffee that had been sitting in a pot on the buffet, to which milk had been added. Given the overall standard of the hotel, why don't they invest in a real coffee machine???
I had been intending to try the restaurant on my second evening but after my breakfast experience I decided to give it a miss.
My overall impression is that the owners/managers thought it was worthwhile to spend the big money on the decor and fittings e.g. spa bath, but they seem to want to skimp on the food side.... can't quite see the logic in that if they want to build up a good reputation and have return customers.
That being said, the staff were all super friendly and helpful. So two of out three ain't bad?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chienvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayMonash, Manager at Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear valued guest,
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing your feedback on Trip Advisor.
At the Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel we are continually striving to improve our services for guests and any feedback from guests is much appreciated.
We were disappointed to read that after having breakfast in the restaurant you chose not to eat there again during your stay. We understand that you found the buffet unsatisfactory and assure you that this is not a frequent occurrence at our hotel. We pride ourselves on being able to offer our guests modern Australian cuisine that is tasty and diverse.
We also noticed that the coffee was below what you expect from a hotel of our stature and we can only inform you that we do in fact own a coffee machine and on this instance it wasn’t utilized. We have ensured that our staff are aware of this and intend to not repeat this mistake.
Finally, we at the Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel hope that your first impression isn’t lasting and that you stay with us again in the near future.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Warm regards,
The staff at Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a very overdue review. Work takes me often to the Monash Medical Centre (which is a bit in the middle of nowhere) and for a long time I struggled to find a comfortable, clean hotel not far from it. When I finally stayed at this warm boutique hotel I knew my search was over. I can't even remember how many times I stayed at the Gateway in the last year as every stay was uneventful - for the right reasons. Nice spacious comfortable rooms, friendly, professional service, good food and a nice warm homely feel, which, for someone who spends half of her life traveling, is a priceless asset. I wish I could find something similar in Melbourne CBD. In fact, I wish I could find the Gateway on Monash everywhere I travel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comik99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
543 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We were THRILLED with our 2 night stay over the weekend at Gateway on Monash. The two bed apartment was HUGE. See the pics. The lounge/dining room was big enough to hold a ball! The place was spotless (I mean immaculately spotless!) and everything you needed was included down to air freshener in the toilets, a whole bottle of dishwashing liquid in the kitchen, washing powder in the laundry. Superb!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
913 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

Well this was a surprise and a disappointment. First of all I booked in here because I thought it was a 4 star apartment hotel. However, when I arrived and saw that it was actually a "Motel" arrangement my heart sunk. I do have to say that the rooms were very nicely appointed and the beds "OK' though the pillows very ordinary. It was only $10 more than the cheapo 3 star place I had been in the night before but the difference was enormous. My room was huge with a large dining table as well as sofa and nice furniture too. The bathroom included a spa bath and was quite spacious and the toiletries included bath crystals . The only down side was that my room heater didnt appear to be working and I had to spend the entire night shivering and freezing whilst listening to the heating unit for the next door room kick in and out [and wishing it was mine that was making that noise]. The dining room was quite nice with really friendly staff - food was only ok though All in all it was a surprising place and "ok" for business travellers needing to be close by their site.

  • Liked — Good parking
  • Disliked — Noise from air conditioning units in neighboring rooms/noise from people passing by room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Clean and well equipped rooms with a nice personal touch and excellent service

  • Liked — The rooms and the restaurant
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank topchimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notting Hill
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Buckingham International
1.9 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Waverley International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quest Glen Waverley
Quest Glen Waverley
#1 of 6 in Glen Waverley
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clayton Monash Motor Inn & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel

Property: Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel
Address: 630 Blackburn Rd, Notting Hill, Monash, Victoria 3168, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Notting Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway's Boutique style accommodation is some of the best this side of the city & we are renown for always providing the very best in customer service. We invite you to dine in our award winning Verona Restaurant. Verona offers a welcoming yet professional venue to enjoy a quiet meal, host a business event, celebrate a special occasion (private rooms available) and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gateway on Monash Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway On Monash Boutique Hotel Notting Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing